We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If stayed in better for cheaper.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Federal Road, Danbury, CT 06810   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Danbury
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
191 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“If stayed in better for cheaper.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here June 14 with 2 friends and 2 teens. Even though the room had 2 beds and a sleeper sofa I had to pay $10 extra for the 5th person. This hotel was nice enough, but I thought the price was too high for a week night. The TV was the nicest feature of the room. The bath was a little outdated. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast of ok, but only 1 toaster and the counter space was so small only one person could be getting their stuff and at a time. There were only a few tables. I would stay here again, but I was not happy with the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    26
    14
    21
See reviews for
32
27
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

By this time almost a week into our trip I've adapted to prices in the densely populated Northeast, so $90 with tax for a basic Quality Inn didn't faze me. However I was put off immediately upon check-in to see a pool party getting started. That's the equivalent of not having a pool available on a weeknight when I expect to share the pool with at most some business travelers and a family or two.

The room was incredibly hot when we arrived, and it took hours for the air conditioner to catch up. There was no lock on the window, no light over one of the two beds (not a burned out bulb, but no fixture at all), and a safe taking up space in the room and taking up my time in the morning waiting for the charge to be removed before I could get my receipt.

While the room was cooling we made a trip to the very odd Stew Leonard's grocery store. I can't say the selection or quality makes a visit worthwhile, but the experience probably does.

Breakfast featured a waffle machine which is normally a plus, but the batter was made so poorly that the resulting waffle was too rubbery to be cut with the plastic knife and fork (which actually folded in half). I threw it away and made a decent breakfast sandwich from the egg and sausage patties

The review asks about room service, but I don't recall a restaurant other than the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is very close to 84 as the crow flies, but really a couple of miles out of the way when driving. I booked it online and got a senior discount (maybe $15) and then saw it was available for another $15 less. It was annoying but the discount books say "not good with prior reservations" and choice was giving $50 cards with two stays so I think it was Ok to stay with it. One of the staff (owner?) had a large array of jewelry that she was making and selling in the lobby. We were given a large room on the 3rd floor, lots of space but not much furniture in the room, but the bed was fine. The hot breakfast was OK also. The Bennigans next door was boarded up but there was a smaller Applebees across the intersection so we didn't have to go far to eat. Our room was the busy road side (motorcycles) but I slept well. Easy to get back on 84 going west. The indoor pool looked OK but very full of kids.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for room in the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time at this hotel and not use again unless absolutely necessary. Called the hotel early in May to make the reservation and requested two beds and told them we were bringing our dog. I was told there was a $20 per night charge for the dog which I agreed to but did not agree with because it seems a bit extreme. We tried to check in at noon but was told we would have to pay a $20 fee for checking in before their 2:00 check in time. I declined. When we did checked in at around 7:00 pm we were told our room had a single queen size bed on the second floor. There were no available two bed rooms left. Our room had two beds in it at one time because there was a space where a bed had been. Room was noisy, shower was terrible and breakfast cereal milk was soured. Overall not a great experience and will look elsewhere for another hotel that accommodates pets.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
428 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

When I checked in and at the hotel entrance sign in bold letter : freshly renovated... Well I don't know what was freshly renovated to be honest !!!

I'm a Diamond member with Choice and I was upgraded to one of their best room... Well I'm happy I was not in their ordinary room!!!


The carpet in the room was old and dirty, the bed was all but comfortable; feels like an over-used mattress from a cheap motel...

I guess what they meant by freshly renovated was the new nice Phillips Flat Screen TV - very nice :-)

Other then that the bathroom needed some repair and refresh ; the shower was weird and didn't work properly (making a total mess...)

The fridge and microwave were a nice touch; maybe another refreshing items ;-)

The fitness center is ok... Not great either...

Breakfast ??? No comments... Mostly all Quality Inn are offering same kind of very simple basic breakfast... May as well go eat anywhere else around ;-)

Not very far from I-84 but you need to drive a mile east then a mile west to reach the hotel (should I say Motel) visible from the highway...

If you're desperate or only want to appreciate your next hotel, it's an option but I will recommend trying Hotwire or Priceline for this very area hoping to get something else at cheaper price !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington VT
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I don't have any superlatives for this place. It is adequate. Just off I84, relatively quiet, relatively clean. I echo others that it is difficult to flush the toilets. What were they thinking? The staff is slow, the wifi sporadic. The breakfast was just okay, but there. There was a nice big flat screen tv, fridge, coffee maker, etc. As others say, it is okay for the price. I wouldn't recommend it very highly, but you could do worse.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Room was clean, with flat-screen TV, but was fraying a bit at the edges (shower head pipe cover off, chips in furnishings). Toilet took multiple flushes to flush. Several other pluses: Indoor pool was clean and warm, though it was without towels when I visited. Breakfast buffet started early (5:30) and had waffle making, pastries, premade egg patties, sausage and bagles (though area to eat is small). Free wifi was solid. I am guessing would be a bit hard to find without directions or a GPS. Staff friendly. I would stay again at the right price (which for this stay was almost the best I could find in the area).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Danbury-Bethel At I-84
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 14 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
3.9 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 14 in Danbury
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 78 Federal Road, Danbury, CT 06810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free WiFi , All Rooms with Microwave and Refrigerator, Indoor Heated Pool , Spacious Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Danbury
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Danbury
Danbury Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.