We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service - relaxed and friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JK's

JK's
126 South St., Danbury, CT
203-743-4004
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 229 Restaurants in Danbury
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great food and service - relaxed and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Having taken a day off from work, my wife and I had the luxury of going out for breakfast. We had not been to JKs in years but remembered it fondly. We were greeted with friendly good mornings and seated at a roomy booth and brought cups of very good coffee right away. I ordered eggs over easy, home fries and toast and my wife ordered french toast and bacon. Both dishes were served in short order and were excellent traditional breakfasts. The servers were all vibrant, efficient and friendly. You could tell that many of the other patrons were regulars and all treated like one big extended family. We enjoyed our visit and definitely recommend JKs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I Would Drive For Days...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

...to have one of their hot dogs. Honestly the best Texas Hots I've ever had and I've traveled all over. The only problem is that this is one of those "cash only" joints, which I somehow forget a lot. With that said, JK's makes up for it by always being clean and the staff is always very friendly. Family owned and operated, so you see some familiar faces every time you go back. I don't think I've ever waited more than 10-15 minutes to get my meal...a delicious meal at that.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old style service and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

we go here alot. we love it and feel so comfortable here, as does most of Danbury.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Why did they change the Texas Hot Weiners?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I visited my home town last week and made my regular stop at JK's for "Original Texas Hot Weiners". We've been going there since the 50's (and even before that) for weiners. In all those years, the weiners tasted EXACTLY the same...until now. They still taste good, and if you are going for the first time, I still recommend them, BUT gone are the soft squishy rolls. The meat doesn't seem to have as much flavor and the texture seems softer, and the sauce seems to be subtly blander. The onions taste the same though. I asked other locals and they all said they weren't the same, yet the menu says they are still run by the same family. I know the economy has forced a lot of companies out of business. Maybe the original sources of their bread and meat have gone under. I'd hate to think someone changed the recipe on purpose. The locals I talked to say they just don't go there anymore because it's not the same. JK: Please Bring Back the Original THW!! And let us know when you do! I'll pay double for my old favorite!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best hot dogs you'll ever have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This place is family run and it's incredible. It's the first hot dog I ever ate that didn't keep repeating on me. The bun is not your typical bun and it's very fresh. Make sure to have the onion rings with it as they are not oily and have a nice crispy batter.

Their breakfast menu is also top notch and the staff is very nice and definitely caters to their customers.

If I had to give you a negative, it would be at they are closed on Sunday.

Make sure to leave your credit card home as they don't accept them here. They have this bizarre debit card system however. You run your card through this thingamabob and enter the amount you want. It then prints a receipt that you bring to the register.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JK's also viewed

 

Been to JK's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JK's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.