We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hope you can find it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goulash Place

Goulash Place
42 Highland Ave, Danbury, CT 06810-5445
203-744-1971
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 229 Restaurants in Danbury
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Hungarian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Naples, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hope you can find it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I used to live on the same street. This is a small residential houses. All older houses and up the street was The Ghoulash Place it is part of their home! It is well worth it. What it lacks in ambience or atmosphere it makes up for it ten fold!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    0
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you're not in a rush, and enjoy homey decor, this is a great restaurant with very delicious Hungarian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went to the military museum in Danbury (excellent!) and found this restaurant highly rated on Tripadvisor. At first we were hesitant since he restaurant seemed to be located in a residential area, but thoroughly enjoyed this little restaurant once we got inside! It was run entirely by the owner who has been in business at this location for 37 years. He was cook, waiter and dishwasher, which might explain why everything was at a more leisurely pace. We ate Hungarian Goulash (beef), Transylvanian Goulash (pork) and Stuffed Cabbage, and all three were different and all were wonderful! Prices were reasonable for the amount of food served. Casual dining and unpretentious. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

While in Danbury..we searched for a quiet little place for dinner...we are happy to have found The Goulash Place. The owner is such a delightful man...a native Hungarian gentleman..who does the cooking and service..and the reward is the most delicious Hungarian cuisine imaginable! We had the chicken paprikash and the goulash...Amazing!!! He is a wonderful cook..and is just a delight. Wonderful old world atmosphere.. a small and charming place .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Hungry for Hungarian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just got back from this place last night and couldn't wait to give it a 5 star review! I live literally only a mile or so down the road and have driven past here thousands of times, and I now very much regret never checking it out sooner. It is so cute inside, and there are actually a decent amount of tables. Nothing fancy, but its not shabby or dumpy at all. Very clean with Hungarian nick-nacks decorating the walls - again it looks cute, not tacky.

Our server was so friendly, and at the end of the night the owner/cook came out and was talking, he also is so friendly. We tried two European beers I've never had before and both were very good. The very inexpensive entree options come with salad bar and bread.

It did seem like the food took a little while to come out, but it makes sense. It's one guy making these home cooked meals. I was happy to wait. Once the food arrived we were blown away. I had beef goulash and my girlfriend pork and both were one of my favorite things I've ever eaten. Believe me it is amazing.

For dessert we shared an apricot crepe which was another new thing for me to try and this was also incredibly delicious.

I can't wait to go back and couldn't recommend this place any higher.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Don't come here if you're looking for fancy ambiance, but if you want great, authentic Hungarian food, this is your place. Reasonably-priced, hearty goulash will warm you to your core on a rainy day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goulash Place also viewed

 

Been to Goulash Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulash Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.