We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track-worth going” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on the Green Restaurant

Cafe on the Green Restaurant
100 Aunt Hack Rd., Danbury, CT 06811-2722
+1 203-791-0369
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe on the Green Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 250 Restaurants in Danbury
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mill Plain Road
Description: An easy to reach hidden treasure. The upscale decor and table settings along with attentive and gracious service are enhanced by the sweeping views provided by huge active windows that encompass three sides of the restaurant. All of this is surpassed by Authentic Italian Cuisine delicately prepared with the freshest local ingredients. Zagat Rated Excellent 2014, Zagat's top 1000 Italian restaurants in US. Wine Spectators Award of Excellence 2014. We promise dining out will be unforgettable.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track-worth going”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a restaurant in the clubhouse of a public golf course but is not your typical 19th hole beer bar. The food is sophisticated, the restaurant décor is well done and the service is excellent. The restaurant looks out over a large meadow like space with mature trees lining the area.

Very much worth driving up a hill, though a residential neighborhood for a great meal in a relaxing environment.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford CT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Elegant, pricey, but overall a lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is not your average golf course restaurant. Any first time visitor following the winding road up the mountain toward a golf course (with a name like "Aunt Hack Rd) might wonder what they were getting into. That suspicion heightens as one opens the door to the "restaurant" and finds a dingy hall smelling of golf sox etc. But at the end, there really is a nice place through the next door. They had it tastefully decorated for Christmas, and with crisp white table cloths, table lights and a spacious dining room, well, it does look inviting, even elegant.

Service is prompt and courteous. The menu is good; we like the fact that the choices are a little out of the ordinary (on the good side) but not exotic or weird. Nice wine, reasonably priced; very nice lobster bisque - a special for the evening; good salad. Bread is fair. A little sherbet for the palate; then the dinner.

Couple notes on the dinner. Everyone in our party of 5 felt the meals were excellent. Filet was on the small side but tender with great flavor. By desert, we were satisfied but ready for more. You probably won't bring a doggy bag home; not a criticism, but people often expect that today.
One other note; don't order any entree because you see "with lobster." Yes, there are a few small pieces sprinkled around, (all claw meat; nothing from the tail - which is OK), but I'd suggest ordering by your choice of the main item, not because it says "with lobster." I had red snapper "with lobster." The red snapper was excellent and I enjoyed it. There were a few bits of lobster, but not enough to make much difference.

Desserts are very nice. Those who know the place order their signature "bananas foster" (everyone around us did) and it is outstanding. Prepared table side; flames and all. . .
One suggestion I would offer: this restaurant would be helped by a good espresso machine; some high quality espresso; and someone trained in how to make it. A cup of rather warm dark coffee in a small cup with zero crema is not espresso.

Overall, a nice evening. Would we go back? You bet. This was our 3rd visit in the past 10 years and will likely not be our last. By the way, I tend to be a bit hard on some details, not to discourage the reader - you will probably come away from this place with a sense of satisfaction from a very nice evening, but because those are the sort of reviews that have helped us make good decisions; too many reviews make every place they try "paradise."

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I haved dined at Cafe on the Green with friends on several occasions. The food is good and reasonably priced and atmostphere is very nice. The service is attentive and everyone is friendly. I would recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have been there several times and each time did not disappoint. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is great and the wait service is always so pleasant. One of our favorite places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafegreen, Owner at Cafe on the Green Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Were glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you for the kind words.

Tracey Kydes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This review is long over due! We lived in the Danbury area many years before we had to move, and dined at Cafe on the Green at least six times. We loved everything about it & miss this special place! Get a table by the window if you can before sunset - the golfers are wrapping up and the sun on the hills is beautiful. The food, service & ambiance are all outstanding. Buon appetito!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Green Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cafe on the Green Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on the Green Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.