We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richter Park Golf Course

Richter Park Golf Course
100 Aunt Hack Road, Danbury, CT 06811
203-792-2550
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Richter Park has been lauded in many golf publications for years. I have played there on and off for almots 30 years. The conditions are still fantasic. The setting is perfect,. the greens and fairways top notch for a local muni. And where else can you go to see quick sand!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Beautiful golf course which becomes even more beautiful in fall when all the leaves are in color...prior to falling down. One of the top public courses in the country.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice View and Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'm no expert golfer, but I do enjoy when my dad and I go golfing there. The park creates the experience with its beautiful course layout. After my dad thrashes me relentlessly in golf, I enjoy going on the trail for a bit and watching others succeed where I have failed. The bugs can be kind of annoying but I greatly enjoy every chance I get to go there. I wish I was able to bring my dog, Jefferson, to the hike trail but I wouldn't want to annoy the other golfers.

It's also quite the nice spot for a date in Danbury; taking someone out on a walk there has been something I always enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“One of the Best Public Venues in the state.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Richter Park golf course is one of the finest public tracts in the state of Connecticut. It’s a course that plays decidedly different from the front nine to the back nine. The front nine plays around a large reservoir that offers a beautiful backdrop as well as a formidable obstacle on a few of the holes. The back nine plays to a more hilly and rocky layout and features some dramatic elevation changes. The course conditions are usually very good. This is a public course and serves as a great example as to how a municipality can cherish and maintain an income producing asset when they realize what they have. Unless you are a town resident tee times can be difficult to get. Put up with this minor inconvenience, it’s worth the wait.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

One of the best public golf courses in the country - beautiful. Cafe on the Green (in the club house) is an excellent restaurant with a great view of the course.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richter Park Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Richter Park Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richter Park Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.