We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezon Tapas Bar and Grill

Mezon Tapas Bar and Grill
56 Mill Plain Road, Danbury, CT 06811-5140
(203) 748-0875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 250 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opened only 2 weeks ago
Tucson
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

They have a big and interesting variety of tapas, little portions, and wonderful white wine sangria. The music is a little loud for easy conversation, but we were taken to a quieter area when we mentioned this.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worth it! Definitely give a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch, they have a 2 for 10 and the selection is pretty good. The service was good, a little over the top but better more than less! I will come back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Professional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've enjoyed several dining experiences here, with friends, and with my husband. We've always eaten at the bar. The bar staff are very professional, quick to serve, and absolutely are there for YOU. The tapas and other small dishes are absolutely FRESH and DELICIOUS! A sample of what I've eaten-- all of which are highly recommended: "Remolacha del Sol" Salad with caramelized beets, mixed greens, goat cheese, avocado, walnuts, citrus honey dressing. YUM! "Coxinha Brazileira" which are 3 edible balls of JOY-- fritters with shredded chicken, roasted corn, cheese, with three different sauces. The "Short Rib Arepas" are equally FUN and YUM to eat! At Mezon, they have a different "take" on guacamole called "Pico-Guac" which is a great change from the tired Mexican version; at Mezon they use Yuca chips...another winner! The duck quesadilla, the olives, the cheeses; everything is great!
Nice wine selection, very good red sangria.
For my money, there are mediocre to good restaurants in Danbury. Mezon, however, is excellent!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Creative menu options, reasonable prices and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Mezon Tapas is a regular favorite of ours. Quality food, great presentation, good drinks... great Sangria!. Small facility and sometimes hard to get a table but eating at the bar is our favorite choice anyway.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“innovative menu in a comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've been to this restaurant a few times over the past year and always find it better than I expected. The smallish dining room provides for attentive service... the atmosphere is comfortable and even romantic... the tapas menu offers interesting options that tantalize my pallet..I haven't beed disappointed... it's a little pricey as I've twice spent over $100 with just two cocktails with dinner.
I definitely recommend this restaurant if you're looking for something a little different (there just so many ways to served italian, mexican, and irish).
Oh, did I mention the small bar is ideal for a cocktail and a few tapas after work :-)
enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezon Tapas Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mezon Tapas Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezon Tapas Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.