We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go with Kids” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bankok Thai

Bankok Thai
72 Newtown Rd, Danbury, CT 06810
(203) 791-0640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 250 Restaurants in Danbury
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go with Kids”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife visited this restaurant with our two daughters.3 and 1 years old at the time. First they couldn't accommodate her because they didn't have "two high chairs ", then after 20 min of waiting the waiter asked for drinks. My wife asked why the slow service and the server said they were too busy. It was dinner time on a weekday, there was nobody at t he place. What else can I say?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodruff, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The food is fresh and very good. The service and atmosphere is also very good. I have been for lunch and dinner. At dinner, they serve a thai dish similar to salsa that is very good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Thai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Seafood was way overpriced and did not even deserve to be classed as Thai food.
I would not recommend this place for exotic food dinner or lunch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Thai Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I love Thai food and have been trying every Thai place I can find in the state of Connecticut. I prefer smaller family run Thai restaurants and this place does not disappoint. While being my 2nd favorite Thai restaurant (my favorite is in New London), this restaurant makes great authentic food. I love pad woon sen (rice noodles) and their version is excellent. Let me point out some pros and cons of this restaurant:

Pros: consistent food, fresh flavorful food, clean, good service
Cons: pricier than some Thai restaurants, could be spicier, and they should have chopsticks.

That being said, if you want Thai food in the Danbury area, this is the place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our food and the atmosphere were very pleasant. However, the help was almost rude. I have not been to a restaurant where the customer was treated so disdainfully.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bankok Thai also viewed

 

Been to Bankok Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bankok Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.