We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean and pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   461 N Main Street, Danbury, CT 06811   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Danbury
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean and pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I second the "surprisingly decent" review. This was by far the cheapest room I could get in the area and I was expecting a total dump. I was very pleased to find the cleanest hotel room I'd ever been in - everything had been recently and carefully painted and was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable, the room was absolutely silent, there was no weird mold smell and the owner was very pleasant and friendly.

And, If you have someone at the Danbury Hospital, this is the only hotel within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Our room was marginally clean. "White" towels were literally gray. The owner, who does the laundry himself, was very begrudging and defensive when we requested clean washcloths. Rooms are cramped and dated. Driveway is super-steep, so impossible in winter travel. They also price-gouged us during a power outage- charged $135/ night for a room that is supposedly $60! The room also reeked of smoke, despite being "non-smoking". They will never see us again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Surprisingly decent.. Obviously recently remodeled. Clean and comfortable, no unpleasant surprises, no funky smells. Firm bed, 30" TV, Microwave oven, small fridge, recent vintage powerful air conditioner, convenient location and yet perched so as to be away from local "chaos", best price (what's not to like). Nice people (amateur gardeners too).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I stopped in Danbury for the night during our drive to Pittsburgh, PA. This inn is located right next to the highway so if you're looking for a quick fix, this tops all. However, if you don't enjoy a little car noise then find something deeper in town. I thought the rooms did a pretty good job of blocking the noise pollution.
Check-in was a little weird... Not a lot of talking. Just a short "Hello, may I see your driver's license." We had requested a non-smoking room on our reservation. But the woman said they only had smoking rooms available. Ok, no problem I guess. But when it was time to give us the key she said, "Here, no smoking room..." Oh great! No idea what the confusion was before. So we went to our room and that was it... We never saw any sort of staff again. Come check out, you drop your key in a metal box and away you drive )))
Anyways, room was nice and clean. A little dim lit but you get use to it after a while.

Room Tip: Of course, a second floor room is going to be your quietest option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This inn was very clean and modern. Do not let the driveway scare it is steep but worth the effort to get to the top. Although the motel was on a busy street with the new windows no noise was heard. They have remodeled this hotel and it is lovely and very clean. We will definetely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2003

A great place to stay for a great price!! I've stayed at large, francised property in my business travel days, & I can say this place is a clean, comfortable, well-run, well-managed outfit. The rooms are clean, very comparable to other brand-names in the area, the best place to stay at a bargain. I would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury

Address: 461 N Main Street, Danbury, CT 06811
Location: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Danbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.