We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Berlin Road, Cromwell, CT 06416   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Concord, NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am often surprised of the poor quality of the hotels in CT. I chose this Crowne Plaza because I have always been pleased with them. I paid for an executive king room and was offered something less than desirable. It is not only the furnishings, for most Crowne Plazas also provide little extras for the executive rooms, and something as simple as the curtain clasp is also missing. I am a platinum member and have spent many nights in the ICH group and I must admit I am disappointed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very excited that IHG is currently "Refreshing" the Crowne Plaza Brand. The sleep ammenities program is being upgradeded and all new ammenities should be in the rooms very soon! Unfortunately the drape clip is not part of the package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    37
    26
    8
See reviews for
29
26
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Want to recommend this place to everyone staff is amazing place is spotless great fitness room restaurant is really good.....Wanted specially recommend Rosie one of the staff in this place she was respectful she was always willing to far and beyond to represent the company with extraordinary customer service and because of that service it I could recommend Crowne plaza hotel in Cromwell Thanks Rosie keep up the good work.....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel and especially Rosie! I will be sure to pass them along to her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a nice enough property, but far from the Crown Plaza name of years past. It is a solid three star, nothing more! No complimentary breakfast, no complimentary coffee in the morning, and no complimentary newspapers anywhere in the building.

The staff was nice, the room was clean, and in general the hotel seemed to be clean. It is not a new property, and the carpets show their age. Much of the building had the smell of too much chlorine and/or too much deodorizer. Our room was large, however the bathroom was TINY, I mean really tiny. I had to squeeze between the vanity and toilet to allow enough room for the door to swing closed.

In the past year I've been to three other Crown Plaza's. To some extent, all have had the same run down appearance , and appear to be surviving on the past reputation of the old Crown Plaza name.

Although the building is large, with a huge conference capability, I would consider this more like a Best Western or Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor, ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and pointing out that the staff was nice, the room was clean, and in general the hotel seemed to be clean. Crowne Plaza as a brand is in the first phase of a 3 phase "refresh" project and I expect you'll see alot of new upgrades and renovations in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This Crowne Plaza was probably built sometime in the late-80s, and sadly, it appears it hasn't been renovated much since. The property is old, tired, dated, and in the case of the pool, dirty. Our room had been recently "refreshed" with a new TV, beds, and some fixtures, but much of the furniture was still in poor shape.

Now keep in mind that this isn't some scuzzy motel. You're not going to hate staying here, by any means.The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the service is excellent. It's just that for a hotel of this type, I would expect much better.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor, this way you wont look out onto the rooftop, or an exterior stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven G, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your response and pointing out that the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the service is excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was very worried after we were assigned this hotel based on the recent reviews and the fact that Crowne Plazas are typically luxury hotels from the 80's, meaning old and lots of fees. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

We were originally set to come for a two-night stay that ended up being only one due to airline issues. We arrived at 2:30a from the Red Sox game and were checked in easily. While the hallways definitely reflected an older property, the only thing that did so in the room was the air unit, although that wasn't an issue. The bed was freshly appointed, the room clean and equipped with a flat screen TV, and the bathroom modern (painted in light pink).

We were never able to figure out how to use the Internet and didn't have a lot of time to follow up since we came in so late, but there was nothing in the room that provided directions about accessing it and when my girlfriend tried to sign on, it prompted her for a password.

I'm a runner and I found this property a difficult one to run outside of, as it is immediately off a fairly busy highway that immediately intersects with I-91- I was able to find a workable trail by going east on the highway to the second light, which took me onto a hilly two-lane road that had a sidewalk in some places but was relatively lightly-traveled. I was still able to get a 5-mile run in. I did note they had a fitness room but I didn't see it. There was an indoor pool I accidentally stumbled upon that looked pretty nice.

Overall a decent place to stay and I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your "Surprisingly Decent" comments! We have had many runners stay with us and have printed directions available at the front desk. They can also assist with the password for our complimentary wireless internet access. Thanks again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant. The only downfall was the Sunday brunch, the food was really cold. Nothing worse than cold scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback! We will address the issue regarding the buffet.
Thank you - Steve Gardiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Moldy, smoky, tired, and wornout.... Not me, but the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cromwell, CT. Although if I'd stayed a few more days, I would have likely acquired this traits as well.

This is a HUGE business hotel located on the main drag (route 372) in Cromwell. Very convenient if you have business in the area, which I often do. I have stayed at six different hotels in the area over the past couple of years, and this was not one of the best.

PROS:
• Convenient location, right off the interstate
• Front desk staff was efficient and courteous. Checked me in quickly and adroitly handled my request to leave a second key for a friend who would identify themselves in a specific way.
• Ample free parking

CONS:
• On first entering, I had to walk through a mob of people smoking right outside the door. It was raining and it was break time from some kind of huge conference that had lots of smokers. I get that they feel they must smoke SOMEWHERE, but wading through this mob did not create a good first impression.
• My room was on the ground floor. Literally even with the ground. This was a humid day and the room smelled of mold and, get this, the carpet was wet. A colleague was staying in another room on the same hall and his carpet was also wet. The carpets did not dry out during our stay which leads me to believe that the moisture was seeping in from the ground.
• Room had a charming view ... of a wall. (see attached photos)
• The AC/heater was a rattly old unit installed below the windows. It was very loud AND because the curtains on the windows weren't full length, the AC blew the curtains open. Fortunately, the hotel staff realized this. Unfortunately, their solution was a cheap plastic clip (advertising a local business) that held the curtains closed like a close-pin,
• Terrible television, limited channels, poor reception.
• OK breakfast in the hotel restaurant, but not cheap. Also, this was during the melon scare of 2011 when many melons were being recalled due to contamination, including in this area. We received fruit cups with cantaloupe and honey dew melons. My guest was surprised to see melons served since most restaurants in the are had pulled theirs and remarked about this gently to the waiter. The waiter's response was a non-verbal shrug. Even if my guest was over-reacting, a spoken response would have been appreciated.
• Overall the rugs, furniture, and walls throughout the hotel were old and worn. Not only was the decor circa 1972 but the condition of the property was terrible.

Room Tip: Upper level floors may not have wet floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartfordRoadwarrior, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for recognizing our great location and efficient and courteous staff. We have made many upgrade to the hotel since your visit in September of 2011. Our recent guest are thrilled with our Lobby renovations and our ne HDTV"S with HD programming! We hope you will give the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cromwell hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell

Address: 100 Berlin Road, Cromwell, CT 06416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located off I-91 and Route 9, the Crowne Plaza Cromwell is close to both Middletown and Hartford, CT. Just 12 miles South of Hartford, and 6 miles North of Middletown, the Crowne Plaza Cromwell: Indoor Pool & Solarium, Full Service Restaurant & Lounge, CT "Green Lodging" Certified" hotels. Room service Fitness Center. The friendly and knowledgeable staff of the Crowne Plaza Cromwell Hotel near Hartford, CT will go out of their way to make sure that your trip to the Hartford area is successful. Our convenient location to Brownstone Exploration & Discovery Park, Lyman Orchards, Connecticut Science Center and Rentschler Field. The Crowne Plaza Cromwell Hotel invites you to experience full-service hospitality at its best in the Hartford area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cromwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Hartford - Cromwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.