We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the Manager” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Restaurant & Banquets

Lake View Restaurant & Banquets
50 Lake St, Coventry, CT 06238 (Formerly Lakeside Cafe & Lounge)
(860) 498-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Coventry
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
“Where's the Manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is the 2nd time I brought 6 friends to eat here. 2nd time I didn't get the waitress I made reservations with and 2nd time the food was cold and wrong. This is the 1st time I asked to talk to a manager. A young girl was asked to get her parents but they never came to speak to me. Waitress said they offered us a round of drinks! REALLY! 1 hour 45 minutes to get our food, burger was burnt, fish was cold - we already had enough drinks. Yes view is nice but this is a BEER AND CHICKEN WINGS ONLY kind of place. Don't plunk the bucks on the meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    9
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lost our order and management refused to take responsibility”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went for dinner on a Fri. night. Drinks were delivered promptly and our order was taken. After 1 hour and 50 minutes when our waitress repeatedly told us the kitchen was backed up, with an 8-month pregnant woman and a 5-year-old in our party of 5, we talked to the owners, who said the order had been lost. However, as we were leaving, they refused to take responsibility, saying that it was an isolated incident and that we should have spoken with them earlier. We won't be going back soon, if ever. Unfortunately, we live on the lake where the restaurant is located and looked forward to taking our boat there for dinner. They have expanded their seating but not the kitchen, so that may be the problem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joana d, Manager at Lake View Restaurant & Banquets, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Cathy.
I apologize to you and your family. I know you came to Lakeview to enjoy your evening. I remember you very well and by the time I heard the ticket was lost, do to a very busy night, it was to late to correct it. Please give us a chance to show you we can do it. If you decide to come back, your first seating will be on the house.

Thank you,
Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening, Lovely View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had the pleasure of dining at the Lake View Restaurant this evening and it was lovely. We were seated on the patio with a wonderful view of Coventry Lake and greeted by an exceptional waitress, Sabrina. Our drinks were promptly brought followed by a very fresh house salad. While we waited for our entrée we enjoyed some terrific live music from a guitar player located on the patio. Our meal, we both had the Mediterranean Swordfish, was delicious. The fish was cooked perfectly and accompanied by fresh grilled vegetables and rice. The meal was great! We can't wait for the next perfect evening to go back to this lovely spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The food is very good, prices are fair, service is attentive, and the view is stellar in the summertime. What more could you want?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Much to Loud Room - Inadequate & Unprepared”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The acoustics are terrible in the dining area. They were very unprepared for our large party, 18-20 people at 4pm, even with reservations made several days in advance. Service was slow, not enough menus, several items on menu not available after they were ordered, meals just missed and we were told the credit card machine wasn't working and they would not accept a check for payment. Eventually the credit card machine was fixed but the no check statement was very unaccommodating. We had to push tables together to make more room for our large party, they had us really jammed together at the tables that were set up for us. Only a dozen or so menus on those tables for a party of 18-20 people, we had to take menus off the empty tables around us ourselves. That nights specials were missing in all menus, discovered by one of the waitresses and hastily handed out just before ordering. When our meals finally made it to the table, it was a painfully slow wait, 3 were missing they were made quickly and apologies given for the error. There are a lot of hard surfaces in the dinning area and the noise bounces and echo's like a college cafeteria making it very had to have a conversation with someone next to you. The view of the lake is wonderful, the staff is very pleasant and friendly and my food was good. Drinks were quickly re-filled and bar orders taken in a timely manner. However this was the third time I have gone to this place with a party of more than 10 people and had similar experience regarding service. Family members have gone here with groups of 2-6 and I was told received excellent service, which is why they return, however I personally would not make this place my choice for dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake View Restaurant & Banquets also viewed

Coventry, Mystic Country
 
Coventry, Mystic Country
Coventry, Mystic Country
 

Been to Lake View Restaurant & Banquets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Restaurant & Banquets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.