We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome respite from the large chain hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cos Cob Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cos Cob
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cos Cob Inn
50 River Road, Cos Cob, CT 06807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cos Cob B&B and Inns
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A welcome respite from the large chain hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I love the large chain hotels when I'm traveling on business. Still, the Cos Cob Inn was a great way to get a break in a week of business hotels. Good internet service, lots of plugs to recharge my gear, excellent Continental breakfast (that category name doesn't do it justice). Only problem was that I hadn't been there before and I arrived late so I was kind of on my own looking for a dinner restaurant. But in Cos Cob, the choices all seemed good, so this was a minor inconvenience. No need to rent a car--it's a mile from the Cos Cob train station, and taxis are available if you have luggage. The other reviews mention the highway noise from the Interstate and the lovely room in the back. I had that room in the back, too, and didn't hear the highway noise at all, except when I was going in and out the front.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a strange place this is. Lovely to look at, but if you arrive and/or leave, as I did, outside of their hours (8AM to 5PM) there is no sign of innkeeper life here. And during daylight, you have to march across the street 100 yards to a marina office to see a person at "reception". That's the only office. My small room had almost no heat on a very cold night (except in the bathroom) and when I called the night manager (at some remote location) to ask for help with heat, he had very little sympathy, and did nothing. There was no information in the room to help me understand the TV or the phone system. It was just one of those stays where very little seemed to go right, and no one was there to help. The best benefit for guests is free access to a marvelous, top-shelf fitness center also across the street.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have heat and are quieter, I'd guess/hope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Otherwise the location really close to the freeway exit is convenient (we flew to Newark, from where it was less than an hours drive), but unfortunately the noice of the freeway was really loud at all times. At least our room on the first floor (the honeymoon suite) was not the quietest. Otherwise the inn was most pleasant place to stay: clean and very nicely decorated. Breakfast was good and was served in a cosy little breakfast room just outside our room. I would give this place four stars hands down, but both the noice and view of the freeway strips one star off.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed at the Cos Cob for our Anniversary August 19th. We arrived the night before, found the "front desk" across the street got our keys and entered our room. And what a room, it was on the first floor, all by itself near the back of the house - we were able to go through the back door so it was very helpful for unloading the car. Great bed, and shower and little touches like biscotti for tea and coffee. The Grenwich water club across the street had a huge pool, fitness room and a restaurant overlooking the marina. We took advantage of everything and had a great day. Also the next day we did the train into NYC and like other reviewers, couldn't believe the ease of our trip - walked to the station, and got into GCS in just over 30 minutes, then an easy subway ride to see Lady Liberty. Loved the breakfast, we never eat more than what was offered on any other day so it was perfect for us. And we got to meet a few other guests which is always fun. It is also close to the only public golf course in the area which was a big plus for us. AND the TV had the golf channel - which is rare in a non chain hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor room was quiet and good for unloading car without going up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had a lovely huge room with a massive spa bath! located just opposite the Greenwich marina it was a lovley location, near some shops and restaurants. Breakfast was lovely and it was only 10 min walk to the train station which then got us into NYC within 40 mins! The only thing is, we didnt know that we had to collect our room key from the Marina office opposite the inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harford County MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This stay marks the third time we have stopped at the Cos Cob Inn for the night while traveling from Maryland to New England. After leaving MD after work, around 4:30 pm, and driving through some heavy rains, arriving at the Cos Cob around 9:30 pm was like heaven! Conveniently located off I-95 on a peaceful street in a quiet neighborhood by the Mianus River, the Inn is a beautiful and charming white mansion and has plenty of free parking. We stayed in the lovely "First Matey's" room, which was exquisitely decorated and spotlessly clean. After a peaceful sleep in the comfortable bed and freshening-up in the private bath, we enjoyed a delicious warm croissant with coffee before continuing on to New England the next morning. If you are looking for a lovely place to stay to break up a long I-95 road trip, I could not recommend the Cos Cob Inn more highly! What an exquisite retreat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We can echo the previous reviewer of the Cos Cob Inn not being what we expected--not bad, just different. The Inn is in a large house, but has a distinct hotel feel to it. I don't think it should be classified as a Bed & Breakfast by any means, since breakfast is just a continental selection and not a meal served from the host. You park at the inn, walk across the street to an office and get your keys from a receptionist. Like the other reviewer, we didn't see another soul the entire time.

We stayed in the Venice room on the third floor, a quaint room with a decent sized bathroom and a very tall and comfortable queen bed. The room is stocked like a hotel--TV and mini-fridge in the hutch, mints and chocolate treats on the table, iron and ironing board in the corner. The rooms are done by numbers and not by name when you get in, which adds to the hotel feel. Aside from some leftover wrappers from previous patrons, the room was very clean and had everything we needed. The only complaint would be the window overlooking the front of the house and the "water." You actually have a pretty good view of I-95 and the thin glass/poorly sealed window leaked a lot of noise. Climate control was a bit lacking as well.

We chose Cos Cob Inn to help split up a long trip from Maine, and the lack of a full breakfast meant we didn't feel bad getting up early and leaving before food was put out in the common room. Our checkout was as simple as leaving the keys in the room, so we didn't have any trouble on our way out.

All-in-all it was like a nice, small, quiet hotel with perfect amenities and nice rooms. It's no B&B though, so if that's what you're looking for, look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Outstanding amenities and very pretty interior.
  • Disliked — Very impersonal and nothing within walking distance.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cos Cob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cos Cob Inn

Also Known As:
Cos Cob Hotel Cos Cob
Cos Cob Hotel
Address: 50 River Road, Cos Cob, CT 06807
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cos Cob
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cos Cob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cos Cob Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cos Cob Inn to your Saves list