We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful and overpriced!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hitching Post Country Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hitching Post Country Motel to your Saves list
Hitching Post Country Motel
45 Kent Road, Cornwall Bridge, CT 06754   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cornwall Bridge
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awful and overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

One of the worst motels I've stayed in. For starts, to check in, we had to press a buzzer to be allowed into the so-called office. The room had two double beds, as we requested, but the big disappointed was the bathroom. A room that appeared to be approximately 2 feet by 4 feet had a toilet and a tiny shower shoved into it. The sink was in another area sharing space with the closet. That evening when we returned to the room, we found the same guy who had checked us in, who may or may not be the proprietor, in our room hooking up a portable heater. He told us the heat wasn't working, that it might be fixed by the next day. It wasn't. Fortunately for us, we did not spend much time in this room. A problem for the traveler who wants to stay in this immediate area is that this place is the only motel. My suggestion is to find a place a bit farther away, perhaps a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I'm very thankful for this little place called Hitching Post Motel. It has allowed me to get out of manic New york City and escape to beautiful Litchfield County (while living on a tight budget).

This is a great find because we all know how expensive this area can be.

There are no perks or luxuries. The rooms are older but have all the basics: bed, bathroom, a/c, heater, tv, fridge and microwave.

If you come out to enjoy a good hike, skiing or town-hopping on a small budget give this place a try.

Tips:
- Get snacks and drinks to bring back to the room in the evenings.
- Ask for an extra blanket in cooler months
- Bring instant coffee. A great plus for the morning as there is a microwave

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is always a great place to stay with easy access to all the local areas and activities. The family that runs the motel is very nice and they go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The rooms are being renovated and include a flat screen HDTV and private bathroom. The beds are comfortable and the rooms also have refrigerators which is helpful. There is free WIFI which runs at good speeds. Basic facilities with great service and a great location make this a comfortable choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

At over $100 for the night you would expect to have a decent shower. The shower is very small and the water temp could not be regulated. The room is very small. The price mentioned at check in turned out to be higher when we checked out. Beware!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I'm generally a supporter of roadside motels, especially independent ones, finding they often offer a great value and more personality than your standard mega chain. However, I was disappointed with my stay at the Hitching Post. The room was incredibly small, the dark carpeting was old and smelled musty, and the bathroom was cramped. The place was so tight on space that the sink and mirror was in what appeared to be a former closet on the other side of the room from the bathroom.

For an outrageously expensive weekend rate of $120, it was a rip-off.

Just to be fair, I should say that the front-desk person, who may be the owner, was incredibly friendly. Too bad the property was so grim.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

There was no online booking for this hotel so I filled out the online form to find out price, availability, etc. I did not receive a call back until later the following morning and as my trip was only the next day had already booked elsewhere. The person I spoke with started asking me why I had booked elsewhere. When I tried to explain I had needed to abook a place immediately she stated 'well why did you bother sending us an email'. To which I replied 'sorry to have bothered you - it won't happen again' and then she answered 'ok'. Not only will I make sure to never bother her again with my own reservation questions - I will complete a review so others won't bother her either.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I reserved 5 rooms at this motel for family to stay in who were visiting from the UK for my wedding, and I was told the booking was fine and all confirmed. However, apparently the "reservation" was merely written down on a scrap piece of paper... lo and behold, this paper was "lost" and I received a phone call 2 WEEKS BEFORE MY WEDDING stating that there is no existing reservation and that the motel is now full. This left me with the impossible task of trying to accommodate 13 people for one night in the middle of June around Lake Waramaug (without spending $400 per night).

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hitching Post Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitching Post Country Motel

Address: 45 Kent Road, Cornwall Bridge, CT 06754
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cornwall Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cornwall Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hitching Post Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitching Post Country Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.