We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Phantoms of the Manor"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornwall Inn

The Cornwall Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cornwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cornwall Inn
Save
You added The Cornwall Inn to your Saves list
270 Kent Road, Cornwall, CT 06754   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cornwall B&B and Inns
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Phantoms of the Manor"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Several weeks ago my husband and I stayed at the Inn. We had a wonderful experience, almost as idyllic as an English B&B. However, the hosts just happened to be away that weekend so we were alone ( the only guests) at the Inn. But, the hospitality shown through even so. The wonderful caretaker or manager, Diane, provided a lovely breakfast and chatted with us during it. The pool is lovely and the hot tub, just a great added perk. I can't wait to go back. Oh, and by the way, the way we came across the inn was through Groupon, otherwise I might not have found this gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. Sorry we did not meet, as it was one of those rare occasions when our family got offsite for an overnight. I am glad Diane was helpful---she is a true gem. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to meeting you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
31
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Branford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to the Cornwall Inn. Our hosts, Mark and Stacey were gracious and welcoming. The homey, country atmosphere made us feel comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing getaway. After our breakfast which included homemade granola and fresh fruit, we explored the area, did some fly fishing and reading by the river, and then we returned to enjoy a swim in the pool. We enjoyed a good night’s sleep in the comfy bed. The gathering room was also an inviting place to sit and relax. Thanks Mark & Stacey!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the lovely area. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at the Cornwall Inn for the Le Mans NE Grand Prix @ Lime Rock park. We stayed 3 nights at the Cornwall Inn. Mark and Stacey are great Inn Hosts and we loved our stay. I will be back and have nothing but 5 stars ***** to give this outstanding inn..

Alan & Vered

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Amazing 5 day stay. Great family running the place. Good food, rooms, pool and location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to share your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

when my son graduated high school (2009) and my daughter this past weekend (June 2012). Stacey worked with me each time as I juggled which family group would sleep where and graciously accommodated all my changes. On the Saturday evening before each graduation, we had a delicious (and well-priced) dinner. Food was fresh and creative but not fussy, good for a party that included ages 8 - 85. Breakfasts are good, too. Rooms were clean and comfortable and it was a perfect setting for an informal yet not sloppy family get-together. Thank you, Stacey and Mark.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Guests like you and your family, make our job a piece of cake! Regards, Stacey and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Inn was everything my girlfriend and I wanted and more. We stayed in the lodge and it was very relaxing and great. Breakfast was very nice and Stacey couldn't have been more helpful with everything. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was great, no complaints at all. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed several times during summer of 2011, with our two large, well-traveled dogs. Over the course of our stays, we stayed in two different rooms in the lodge building (pet friendly). Both rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. The wireless worked great. The only minor downside was the sitting areas in each of the rooms we stayed in(blue jay, starling's nest) are very small and not set up to work comfortably for long hours of computer work, for example, or having friends in for drinks. But, it didn't matter as the main lodge has very comfortable seating and several different areas set up for either working at your computer or chatting with a few friends.

We had dinner there on weekends. Both the food and service were outstanding. Mark and Stacy are the ultimate innkeepers. Their hospitality is unparalleled. The main Inn is both inviting and comfortable. The grounds are very pleasant and accomodate dogs, with several areas in which to walk them. There are also several nice parks near by, other nice restaurants, and the town of Kent is also very special. Th Inn is only about 20-25 minutes away from Lime Rock track, a very pleasant drive. We have stayed closer to the track, and paid a lot more for our rooms, but our overall experience at the Cornwall was the best . We are planning on staying at the Cornwall Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallInn, Owner at The Cornwall Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your favorable review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cornwall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Inn

Address: 270 Kent Road, Cornwall, CT 06754
Location: United States > Connecticut > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country inn and restaurant on three lush acres, including an outdoor pool, hot tub and rambling stream, echoes the spirit of old New England. The thirteen nicely appointed guest rooms all have private bath, cable tv, a/c, telephone and free wireless access. The inn's restaurant offers classic country cuisine and the friendly tavern is a popular place for local folks to gather. A warm welcome always awaits you at the Cornwall Inn & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornwall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.