We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch is Better Than Breakfast!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Funky Monkey Cafe

The Funky Monkey Cafe
130 Elm Street, Cheshire, CT
203-439-9161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 44 Restaurants in Cheshire
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Café, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Cheshire, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch is Better Than Breakfast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have had so many great lunches at Funky Monkey. But, breakfast today was a disaster. An egg and cheese panini took so long my coffee got cold waiting for it. the cheese was not melted, the bread was way over done. I'm sticking with lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for locals to gather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Funky Monkey has been a local favorite to Cheshire residents for years. I enjoy going with my family or my friends to enjoy salads, soups and sandwiches. The owner uses the finest ingredients with many of her dishes being organic, vegan and/or all natural. The food is fresh and really, really good. The atmosphere is casual and quiet. Customers come to read, work on their laptops (FREE WiFi) and just take in the beautiful artwork that adorns the walls. I love this place and I keep going back. It's been a great addition to our community and it's no surprise why not only our locals but people from surrounding towns keep returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to The Funky Monkey since it opened. The food and coffee is great. Food is made fresh and to order so sometimes it can take a while to come, but its worth the wait. Call ahead if you are in a hurry, that has worked for me in the past.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location - nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have not been here in a while. We used to stop by after finner have a coffee and share a dessert. Lats few times the coffee tasted old, service inconsistent and the dessert selection was limited. Good news - coffee was fresh, service was good and the desserts choices plentiful - including our favorite lemon cake!

it looks like the menu board was freshened up - looks good.

What we like the most is the artwork exhibits which change regularly. We need to come back more - I hope they add more artwork and move out some of the items and use more wall space for the art. Looking forward to the nice weather and enjoying the outside eating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great coffee shop that boasts comedy nights, artwork and fun. Coffee is a little pricey but good nonetheless. Tracy the owner is so friendly! Great person and staff there!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Funky Monkey Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Funky Monkey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Funky Monkey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.