We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, relaxed, clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast

Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   131 East Canaan Rd, PO Box 664, Canaan, CT 06018   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Canaan B&B and Inns
Bethel, Connecticut, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good value, relaxed, clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just what we were looking for in a B&B. Not interested in paying high prices for lace and Victorian primness.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

The Locust Tree was great. My family and I stayed here for the weekend. I have two small children that the inn keepers treated like there grand kids I could not have asked to have a better stay the food was just like my mom made right there cooked in a spotless kitchen we ate in there perfectly simply dining room. Watched tv in the guest living room on a big screen or in our rooms the rooms which were very comfotable I slept great I really liked the mattress and every thing reminded me of my home growing up in new england. My children had a very large yard to run and play in safely.

Room Tip: 4 is a half bath & is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor CT.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We had a room with a private bath. Very clean and comfortable. B+B is located very close
to restaurants and a short drive to Norfolk Ct where there are cultural events. John and
Heidi are local people and know the area. The breakfest is made to order , whatever a guest would enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We were struggling to find somewhere to stay near the Litchfield Loop for a Sat/Sun night stay, so we were relieved to find this place.

It was not as nice as most of the B&Bs we have stayed in in the States but it was good value. The B&B is on the main road into Canaan but is set back a long way with a very large garden front and back. There is a verandah running all the way round the property which was nice to sit out on. We had a queen bedded room with TV and free WiFi and the bedroom and bathroom were spotless.

Heidi the owner was friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions but was not always there and coffee etc was not always available. Breakfast was ok but not great. It was fine as a place to sleep and we loved the town of Canaan - like stepping back in time - with some great places to eat. It was also really handy for doing the Litchfield Loop and seeng the 'Fall Color'.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast

Address: 131 East Canaan Rd, PO Box 664, Canaan, CT 06018
Location: United States > Connecticut > Canaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Canaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.