We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A getaway weekend that was a disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Inn

Newbury Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newbury Inn to your Saves list
Newbury Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 Federal Road, Brookfield, CT 06804 (Formerly Twin Tree Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brookfield
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A getaway weekend that was a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We recently stayed at the Newbury Inn to visit some friends nearby.
I reserved an upgraded spa room with a whirlpool.
Check in was fine and the room was adequate if a bit small. The tub was in an alcove next to a regular bathroom with tub, toilet and vanity sink.
The first night was fine and we enjoyed the spa tub.
However we came back after a full day with friends to discover the room had not been cleaned and our key card was not working. Card was fixed OK. The next evening we returned after midnight and the card was not working. We had to rouse the manager. She claimed it was the fault of our American Express card. No note had been left for us of any problem either day. She ran the card and it worked perfectly. We were furious. (Our out of state car was parked right in front of the unit so we obviously hadn't left. She muttered something about the maid saying our stuff was gone. HA!)
The next morning I took a shower and discovered 2 spiders and spiderwebs (one in the bath tub) in the bathroom.
The Continental breakfast was OK. That and the tub were the high points of the stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
6
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Newbury Inn during a 7 week assignment in Ct. Anna, the manager, was the reason we chose the inn. She made us comfortable from day one. Anna, Susan and support staff made us feel as though we were at home. I travel 80% of the year and have not experienced a more professional and personal manager as Anna. Thank you and your staff for making our stay so pleasant. I would recommend Newbury Inn to anyone.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Chose this to be near medical app'ts. Wireless did not work for me which was an inconvenience. The room was a bit shabby for the price and the area outside the door had
other guests litter strewn about and not picked up from day to day. It was all right, but am sure there are other better choices in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

stayed at the newbury inn and received bug bites all over my body

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brookfield hotels

MrsBGray
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed at the Twin trees hotel at Foxwoods for a weekend and it is off the Foxwoods main grounds, it's just across the way. We never had a problem with the shuttle bus, even late at night. Twin trees has a B&B atmosphere, it's cute. For the price it was fine, it served its purpose. The rooms could use up dating but nothing was broken, everything worked just fine. It's self parking with several entry ways for easy access/exiting to the lots. We used the pool and jacuzzi, it was clean and they always had clean, big towels for use.

Overall I would stay again.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — the pillows
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Inn

Address: 1030 Federal Road, Brookfield, CT 06804 (Formerly Twin Tree Inn)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Brookfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brookfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newbury Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.