We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ralph N Rich's

Ralph N Rich's
815 Main St, Fl 1, Bridgeport, CT 06604-4925
203-366-3597
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 309 Restaurants in Bridgeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went for our Grandson's communion party...the food was family style with bountiful portions..
cooked to perfection!
The wait staff was very friendly and efficient...great time had by all..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    30
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great Steak, good piano player, but forget the rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dinner as a party of 7 on a Saturday night. Starters were ok, and the two of us that ordered the steak off the specials were satisfied with the food quality. Unfortunately, the rest (including the mashed potatoes that went with the steak) were not in line with the piano player (who was excellent). The mashed potatoes were bland. Simply bland. Desserts (skyscraper chocolate cake) and timari su were just ok, nothing out of the ordinary and certainly worth the price paid for.

The same holds true for the red wine, which was simply overpriced.
Would not come here for the food, but for the atmosphere & the piano player in the bar. Next time, we'll just have oysters and steak in the bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing ambiance & great food & entertainement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the time we walk in the door and Mike, the piano player, sings & plays our favorite song, Rich greets us and Chick, our favorite bartender serves us a drink we can't go wrong. Then we get our food which is consistently great every time we visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food So-So Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I went here after reading positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We were in town for the NCAA Women's Basketball playoffs. My husband, thinking the bar/restaurant would get busy, left the game early and got a couple of seats at the bar so he could watch some of the men's basketball games on TV. He said he asked the bartender for a menu but he was told he couldn't have a menu since they were still serving off the lunch menu and dinner would be served in 1/2 hour. He asked to just look at a menu so he could order when dinner orders were being taken, but the bartender wouldn't give him one. A few minutes later, my husband saw a dinner menu on the counter and looked at it. The bartender saw this and you would have thought my husband had just put his hands on a sacred document. The bartender asked my husband in a mean tone where he got the menu. When I got there and sat down the bartender asked me "What can I get you sweetheart?" I particularly don't care to be called sweetheart by some stranger serving me, but didn't say anything. Then later on when ready to order dinner the bartender said "What do you want love?" I had to use a lot of self-control to not say anything. Because it was so busy, another bartender started working and he was much more polite and personable. The food was delicious, fresh, warm and everything the reviews said it would be. So, without the bartender that sports a shaggy ponytail and has a thin mustache, our experience would have been excellent. Too bad one employee has to be so disrespectful and use such condescending terminology to disrupt what would have been a great dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ralph and Rich's -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ralph and Rich's is an old established restaurant which could use a bit of updating. The menu is standard Italian and steaks with a few interesting appetizers. If you're just looking for a comfortable but ordinary place - this is it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph N Rich's also viewed

 

Been to Ralph N Rich's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralph N Rich's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.