We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a gritty downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bridgeport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Bridgeport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1070 Main St, Bridgeport, CT 06604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bridgeport
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a gritty downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a nicely maintained hotel that has the ambiance of an upscale establishment. Our 8th floor room was huge, with a king size bed, 37 inch flat-panel TV and refrigerator. We found our room to be clean and well-maintained.

In general, we had a pleasant one night stay. One issue with the room was poor soundproofing. Sound leaked through the window frame and we could hear our neighbor's voice as he spoke on the phone. I am certain that he didn't realize that we could hear his phone conversation. Fortunately we didn't hear our neighbor's TV. The management should improve the soundproofing.

There are two computers in the lobby in a glass-walled room for guest use. I was able to access my airline boarding pass. However there was a problem with the printer connected to the computers. One of the desk clerks was kind and helped me print our boarding passes using the front desk printer.

The hotel is located in a gritty area where you would not want to walk about at night. There is a McDonald's, a Dunkin Donuts and a Chinese restaurant across from the hotel. We did not eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
34
25
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. As a woman travelling alone, I do not venture out to explore the area around the hotel - it does not look too safe.
The rooms are very nice. Comfortable beds, big-screen tvs, nice bathroom area.
I eat dinner and breakfast in the hotel - they are usually ok.
This time - not so great. For dinner, I ordered the special - broiled scrod. It was tasteless. as was the rice and vegetables that came with it. Maybe if there was a slice of lemon to put on the fish it might have been a bit better. Waitress was very friendly though - great service.
For breakfast - they seemed to assume everyone wanted the buffet. I was not offered a menu and had to inquire about other options. Not given silverware either - I took some from another table. The coffee was horrible - tasted like they made it the night before. They used to leave a coffee pot on the table but this time they served individual cups.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I will be sure to pass this information along so that others are not disappointed in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

While I am not a big fan of Holiday Inn, I was pleased with the accommodations provided at this hotel. We traveled to NY for a family event and could not find a hotel anywhere near our destination. Hurricane Sandy left NY in bad shape.
We stayed in Bridgeport because it was the only place we could find. While the area around the hotel wasn’t perfect, the hotel met our needs. The room was clean and bigger than we expected. If you are in the area and need a place to stay this may meet your needs.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room on a Saturday night and didn't hear a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
So glad you were pleasantly surprised! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Comfy king bed & pillows.
Bountiful breakfast buffet. Hot & fresh.
Convenient location near 8/25 connector and I-95.
Near hospitals and Trumbull Mall. AA baseball (bluefish), hockey (sound tigers) and concerts @ the Webster Bank Arena right down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Ms. Val was great to my family and me. I really want to give ms. Grace a great big thanks for all she done for me, holiday inn she's great and please make sure that she knows. It. Ms. Barbette thames family.



  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about our staff. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here on business (why else would you go to bridgeport!) for three nights then two nights the week after. Not a very nice town or neighborhood but thats beside the point.
hotel was good. With a holiday inn you know to expect a decent standard. Decent enough restaurant and bar and good breakfast selection in the mornings.
Room is a good size as well as bathroom, very clean and nice TV with a selection of channels. Room was fairly quiet, but aircon a bit noisey and controls didnt seem to work very well. but I turned it off at night in the cupboard for a bit of peace, and to help to bad throat at the time. There is an ice machine by the lifts on each floor which is VERY noisey, but I was far enough down the corridor not to hear it!
Staff were helpful enough. There is also a small swimming pool but did not use it.
I may be returning here again for another business trip and wont have a problem with staying here again!

Room Tip: Get a room down the corridor away from the lift lobby and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Hopefully we can exceed your expectations on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a very large, nicely furnished room (#812). It was clean and well-maintained. The linen was superior quality. Bed was comfortable. The pillows had removable bands indicating whether they were soft or firm. While the air conditioning/heating unit was a little noisy, our sleep was not disturbed.

The sink was in a separate alcove outside of the shower/toilet area. Lighting was excellent in the bathroom. There was no clothes drying cord but the information folder in the room indicated a coin operated laundry on the second floor.

High speed ethernet is provided and there is free WiFi.

The following brought my overall rating down from 5 to 4: (1) problematic downtown location (key card needed for elevator access), (2) lighting was a little dim in the bedroom, and (3) the walls were thin (We could hear our neighbors talking on the phone.) If one does not have a car, the eateries close by are limited: McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, and a Chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our front desk has a list of other restaurants in the downtown area which are walking distance such as Ralph and Rich's, Metric Bar & Grill, and Two Boots. I'm sorry you were not made aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Bridgeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bridgeport

Address: 1070 Main St, Bridgeport, CT 06604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bridgeport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport is an elegant high rise in the heart of downtown on Fairfield County's gold coast. Bridgeport, Connecticut borders Fairfield, Trumbull, Shelton and Stratford. Bridgeport is home to many corporations, General Electric, Aquarion, Health Net of the Northeast, Sikorsky Aircraft, Connecticut Post, Unilever, R.C. Bigelow to name just a few. Whether here for an overnight stay, a conference or that all important social event, the Bridgeport Holiday Inn will help plan it all. The beautifully appointed ballroom makes this hotel the perfect venue for your wedding ceremony, reception or family reunion. Our upscale guest rooms offer comfort and amenities one would only expect from a full service hotel that includes complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. The Bridgeport Holiday Inn is easily accessible from major highways that include I-95, Wilbur Cross Parkway, Route 8/25 and within walking distance of the train and bus stations. Enjoy fine dining within Park City Grill, our restaurant serving the finest Continental cuisine or room service if you prefer fine dining within your room. Other amenities include our lovely lobby lounge, the Blue Martini, business center, new expanded fitness center with the latest equipment, guest laundry & enclosed swimming pool. An award winning staff eagerly awaits your arrival. The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport loves motor coaches and tour groups. The hotel's 209 rooms are all interior corridor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bridgeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bridgeport Hotel Bridgeport
Bridgeport Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bridgeport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.