We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than great pub food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Engine Pizza Co

Fire Engine Pizza Co
2914 Fairfield Avenue, Bridgeport, CT 06605
+1 203-333-3473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 337 Restaurants in Bridgeport
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Situated in the center of historic Black Rock, Connecticut, Fire Engine Pizza Co. Is a collaboration of owners, Martin McCarthy and Phil Segneri, who have refined their skills within the restaurant industry for over 20 years. Widely known for specialty pizzas served from the 1985 International Fire Engine that was stationed on Fairfield Avenue, Fire Engine Pizza Co. Was reinvented to bring together classic combinations with a modern twist. The menu offers gluten free options, a homemade mozzarella wedge that's unlike any others around - oozing with fresh mozzarella cheese, roasted red peppers, basil, garlic, and spinach as well as entrees that have quickly become the talk of the town including Carmine's Eggplant, Rigatoni Tuscana, and Sunday at Carmela's just to name a few. With reclaimed barn-wood, hickory floors, and endless artifacts donated from local Fire Departments, Fire Engine Pizza Co. Exudes an early American ambiance with intricate detail from top to bottom. The rectangular bar is situated in the center of one half of the establishment, creating an inviting social environment that serves all the classics - plus seasonal cocktail specials throughout the year. The remaining half emanates a family- friendly atmosphere with a brick oven backdrop, creating a dining experience that is unmatched.
Seymour CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“More than great pub food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a quick lunch, this restaurant had a great atmosphere. Bar area has table seating and bar counter is roomy. The lunch special is excellent; obviously pizza however menu has sandwiches, soups, salads, and appetizers. Drink specials are plenty, your choices of IPA, stouts and new summer ales. The mixed drinks range between $6-9.00, with gimmicky mixes such as ginger flavored mixes with muddled mint toppings. Ordered the prime rib sandwich; a fancier steak and cheese (which no complaints here because I love steak and cheese!!) Had the banana bread for dessert, just right. Soft, sweet, and seemed
freshly baked.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best food ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have been here many times. Tried everything on the menu except the seafood dishes ( I'm allergic). Its all cooked and prepared wonderfully. My favorite is the new York strip. Omg! Its amazing! Well worth every penny. Can't wait for my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My "go-to" spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is more than a pizza joint, it's a cross between "Cheers" and "Al's" from Happy Days…if "Al's" was sexy and served the best eggplant parm you've ever tasted. I've been here over 10 times and just decided to write a review because whenever I walk in, I feel welcome, and the food is great. I like that the other folks hanging out are older than me and younger than me, and that expands to include families, groups of girl friends, groups of guys, couples, etc. The menu hits all the right notes (healthy, seasonal, comfort, indulgent, kids), and the price v portion is totally reasonable. They also play good music (I KNOW this is totally subjective, but they will change the channel if you want something else…you gotta love that). Without thinking about it, this place has become by go-to spot. In fact, I am changing the title of my review from "good choice for date night or friend night" to 'my "go-to" spot', as that more accurately reflects my review. Rock!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Pizza In Bridgeport/Fairfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What a great addition to the neighborhood. Extremely friendly staff. Great bar scene and crispy pizzas. Strongly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“FEPCO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love FEPCO! We love the pizza and the chicken rollatini. I always get a black cherry side car martini. YoBrian makes them the best. Delicious eggplant and Sunday dinner too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Engine Pizza Co also viewed

 

Been to Fire Engine Pizza Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Engine Pizza Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.