We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun day with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beardsley Zoo

Beardsley Zoo
1875 Noble Avenue, Bridgeport, CT 06610
203-394-6565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Bridgeport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fun day with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wow, it sounds great. What did you like about it this, the only zoo in the state of Conn. is prefect for the family, just big enough with plenty to do, try to get here at least 2-3 times a year

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    78
    33
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to bring your family to see the animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice variety of animals for children to see them up close. The park outside the zoo is a great place to visit and have a picnic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went for my nephew's birthday party last year and had just as much fun as the kids! It was very clean and very well layed out so you didn't miss any of the animals or attractions. It's small but they manage to fit tons of animals into the area and it doesn't feel cramped. Animals seem healthy and well taken care of with plenty of room to roam. Great for a day trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Small Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Saw the Beardsley Zoo with my 7 year old son and had a very enjoyable afternoon. Too often a small zoo ends up being a depressing collection of dazed animals in little boxes, Beardsley is not one of those. The zoo's size is good for a day trip. One nice thing is that they have a small flock of male peacocks that roam free anywhere they like. We got to see a full display of plumage 2 feet away with nothing in between us and the bird. The animals all looked good and in clean enclosures. We visited during our school spring break, but Bridgeport's schools were still in session and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Being so early in spring most of the landscaping was still protected by straw and nothing had greened up yet, but it looks like it would be very nice in full bloom. As with any good zoo things appear to be in a constant state of improvement. Some of the viewing areas have been recently upgraded to give you a view without a wire fence in the way. We ate lunch in the cafe, $25 for the 3 of us and the food was above average for this type of place. My son loved playing in the prarie dog exhibit, popping up in the plexi tubes scattered throughout the prarie dog town and he also liked the playground. One thing I found pretty amazing was that they let you exit the park without going through the gift shop.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Ghetto Zoo with a few cool animals, fun for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My title says it all. This zoo is is completely quaint, small, dumpy and strange. But they try really hard, the animals are treated well and they have TIGERS! So bring your kids, ride the carousel, marvel at the scene, and make some memories. It's cheap and easy. DON'T MISS THE PRARIE DOGS!!! And if you have small kids, like me, then be sure to rent a push-kart for the kids. It will make the adventure run even smoother.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beardsley Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Beardsley Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beardsley Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.