We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subtracting a star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Subtracting a star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I reviewed this property in December 2012, and returned last night.

The good news is that the mattress was comfortable, and the bathroom fixtures were tight. The breakfast was good. The staff remains friendly and helpful.

The bad news: The mattress had the kind of hot, crinkly, uncomfortable mattress pad on it that one puts on the mattress of a kid with a bedwetting problem or a crib. The pillows seemed to be filled with tennis balls. The air-conditioner was running full blast with the temperature set at 61F when we checked in.

This morning, there were people milling around looking for seats in the breakfast room, and the people who kindly vacated their table for us said that they had checked a few times starting at 7am before finding an empty table and getting their breakfast at 8:30. It would be easy to fit another 4 or 5 tables into the room without crowding.

We think we'll try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear PHLRick,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and our breakfast area was less than satisfactory. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Rest assured, we have taken note of your comments and will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    22
    10
    15
See reviews for
48
21
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My stay was for business in the area. This hotel as you can tell what an older one that has been upgraded. It is clean and neat. Walls are paper thin. I had a female in the next room who spent the night talking to everyone on her phone and if I put my ear to the wall, I was able to hear every word of her conversation. That was annoying when it was 11 pm and you want to sleep. The breakfast was what you expected from this hotel chain. The only other issue is there is one elevator and it is very slow. This hotel only has 3 floors, but that makes a difference when you have to lug your luggage. On my last day of my 2 night stay, the elevator stopped working..so yep, I had to carry my suitcase down 3 flights. Thank God I only had a carry-on size to carry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Cabrill,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am happy that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience about the noise by some of the staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family of 4 had a recent one-night stay at this hotel when we were visiting Branford for the annual Branford Festival. Being past residents of the town, we were familiar with the area. The hotel has been well-kept and the rooms were spacious with attractive decor. The front desk staff was very helpful, providing service with a smile. They were very accommodating and flexible with our need for a late check-out as we were participating in the late-morning Branford Road Race, and suggested we keep the room until we could shower and clean up after the race, before traveling back home. We would stay there again, and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for a friend's wedding. Location and parking were very convenient. Room and bathroom were clean although lacking some toiletries. There was a continental breakfast but it was quite bad. Good value for the price- you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear RGrindrod,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am happy that you found our location convenient. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were highly impressed with the hotel staff. The front desk clerk, Heidi Meagher was especially helpful in helping us get a crib for our son and helping us find other things we needed. The breakfast was nice and the serving staff was helpful in answering questions about ingredients for our dietary needs.

The pool was nice and clean and the exercise room had nice, new equipment. We also liked the Nautica theme around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently when visiting relatives in the area. One of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Clean and well kept. Do not hesitate to stay here when you are in Branford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's odd - all of the surrounding towns seem to have a much better selection of hotels, but when I visit Branford for work, all I want to do at the end of the day is get to the hotel. Which is why I've been exploring the hotels of Branford.

The Holiday Inn is hands down the best. If you need a hotel in Branford, this is the only place to stay. Trust me - the other options are worse than dismal.

I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel, other than the fact that they seem to be quite overpriced based on their competitors. They seem to always have similar rates as the 4 star Omni Hotel in New Haven, even though this is definitely not a 4 star property.

Everything was clean, recently updated, staff was polite, check in was easy. The room I was in was quite large - I think it was a King Executive. It was a corner room with tons of light from windows on 2 walls, spacious enough to comfortably have a king bed, gigantic TV cabinet, queen sleeper sofa, coffee table, desk, and mini fridge. The bathroom was clean and recently updated.

Decor was interesting - all the furnishings were newer, but the motif was like something out of a Spanish hacienda boudoir.

USA Today was delivered in the mornings.

Breakfast was expanded from the usual continental: pancakes, scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausage gravy, bacon in addition to the usual.

The pool area was clean. The fitness room was lacking, but clean and the equipment was new.

But - it's a Holiday Inn Express. A 3 star hotel at best. That overcharges. I can't give it a rating better than "Average" for those reasons.

Room Tip: get a corner room. bigger, more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear dansoleau,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and comfort at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Branford.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Address: 309 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT. This beautiful, newly built hotel is conveniently located off I-95 at Exit 55, just 1 mile from Downtown Branford. Situated 10 miles from downtown New Haven, 35 miles from the Hartford Convention Center & 45 minutes from Bradley International Airport, this property features 96 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms. The hotel features a Complimentary Express Start Breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, On-site Laundry Facility, Fitness Center, Business Center and Free High Speed Internet Access. Ideal for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT hotel is only minutes from local businesses and attractions. Free WiFi & Ethernet High Speed Internet throughout the hotel!Visiting on Business:The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from: Harley Davidson, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowe's, HondaVisiting Area Attractions:Be close to all that this area has to offer, including the Branford Festival, Branford Town Center, Thimble Islands, Yale University, Lighthouse Point, Ocean Beach State Park, Trolley/Peabody Museums.'STAY SMART' at the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT and Experience this new hotel with outstanding services and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven Hotel Branford
Holiday Inn Branford
Branford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.