We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellen lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home Restaurant

Home Restaurant
1114 Main Street, Branford, CT 06405
1(203) 483-5896
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Branford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellen lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Met my best friend for lunch here. We had a burger and the seared Tuna...excellent. We couldn't decide what to order, everything including the salads looked delicious. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend for lunch, dinner and/or drinks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    22
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Not a good experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Service was good. Beer list was great. Really wanted to like this place because they use local ingredients like Whole G bread.
My husband and I shared the mussels appetizer. Both got sick.
My "griddled Italian" sandwich was supposed to have "balsamic pulled pork" - had big square chunks of overcooked, chewy pork with no seasoning. I also did not get the "griddled" part. It was a wrap.
Not sure what happened here since so many others like the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home_CT, General Manager at Home Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Ali K.,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. I'm very sorry that we did not reply sooner, with the holiday busyness, we were unaware of your review.
We are very sorry to hear how you got sick, please either e-mail or call us with information regarding your time here because we would like to follow up with our seafood vendor. We have never had a complaint like this before and are quite alarmed to hear about this. Our mussels are one of our top appetizers, and we receive them fresh 1-2 times daily.
In regards to the burrito, I'm sorry it wasn't to your liking. It's our 5th top selling sandwich and it's our version of a "burrito". We use pork shoulder, the same cut as pulled pork, but only partially pull it. The balsamic marinade is light as to not overpower the rest of the flavors. Yes, it is in a flour wrap, which is then supposed to be griddled on the grill until the sides are crispy. The owner and executive chef have been checking for consistency with this burrito to ensure it is being properly put together.
We never want anyone to leave unhappy and dissatisfied. In fact, the owner or his fiancee always check on the tables, as does the staff. We encourage feedback and we wish you would've spoken up so we could've addressed the burrito issue there on the spot, while checking for kitchen consistency.
We are sorry that you did not have the experience you were hoping for, but we hope you give us another chance and try us out. Feel free to introduce yourself while you are here, the owner (Jared) loves getting to know his customers and wants to make sure they are happy with their time here.
Please call or e-mail us regarding the date and time you were here so we can address the mussels. HomeBranford@gmail.com / 203-483-5896
Thank you again for your review, hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Flawless service, exquisite atmosphere and the food is absolutely phenomenal. You cannot go wrong with the smoked Gouda spring rolls. All that mixed with great people is what you'll find at Home. Oh, and they have an insane local beer selection as well. 5/5.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious blend of simple and sophisticated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spectacular meals for all six of us on a family reunion in the Branford area. Those of us still in town a few days later returned to Home. We had the same sweet waiter and felt like our family photos should now include him. Two of us ordered the very same thing we’d had before—these dishes were so savory. The meal I ordered twice in the same weekend was pan-seared arctic char on a bed of watercress, jicama, and blueberries tossed with lemon-yogurt vinaigrette, and potato gaufrette on the side. (I describe this dish only so that you can imagine the creative combinations of interesting tastes. Home’s menu changes every four months, and it was due to change the next day.) Instead of typical bread before the meal, Home restaurant serves hummus and pita bread. They have a genuine and generous gluten-free menu, and when the hummus and pitas come out for everyone else, they bring hummus and gluten-free dipping bread for the gluten-free person. Bravo. Wish I lived here; I’d eat here often. The ambiance is also simple, yet sophisticated ~ very comfortable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very good food, but limited wine selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The food at HOME is indeed very good. We were told that the menu was new so there were no specials the night we came to the restaurant. That was just fine. I had the red wine braised pork shank with boursin polenta and roasted onions and mushrooms. This is one of my favorite dishes in Italy and whilst Home's interpretation of pork shank is different from its Italian version ( stinco di maiale), it was nonetheless delicious. My wife had the spicy chicken and dumpling with harissa gravy, which she enjoyed very much, although she commented that the harissa gravy could have been a bit more interesting. One of our friends had the seared sesame encrusted tuna and enjoyed it very much. The wine list of wines by the glass is quite limited, offering only a single example of standard varietals, although the quality and value of the wines on offer were quite good. The ambiance of the front of the restaurant is unique, resembling a home-like atmosphere with small table and comfortable chairs and interesting artwork on display. It is juxtaposed to the bar area which is rather like a sports bar. As a result this part of the restaurant is quite noisy. The large dining area in the rear is much quieter and suitable for conversation, but lacks the charm of the front part of the restaurant. The service is quite good and overall we had a very pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Home Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.