We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G-Zen

G-Zen
2 East Main Street, Branford, CT
203-208-0443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 130 Restaurants in Branford
Cuisines: Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I love a good burger or steak, but I also love G-Zen. The first time we visited I order enchilada's. They were delicious, and I was full for the rest of the night. We ate at G-Zen this past Tuesday night and I had a spicy bean burrito with sweet potato fries. I could eat this meal everyday!! It was the best!! so, if you want to try something different, this is the place. Staff is nice and friendly, and attentive. I also ordered a pale ale ($5.00). I'm not a beer expert, but this was cold and tasty!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The G-spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I'm easily annoyed with gimmicky names for food, so dishes named G-fries, "jewels" (instead of sides), or Rock the Casbah kind of push my buttons. However, getting past that, this place has an enthusiastic staff and decent food. My friend had the aforementioned Rock the Casbah which was very good; but this being almost a week ago and New York City having intervened between then and this review, and I, myself suffering jet lag, I honestly can't remember what I ate. Whatever it was was decent. I do remember thinking I'd return (I am a vegan-leaning vegetarian) if I lived in the area. I found prices a little high, but I do realize vegetarian and vegan cooking is often more labor-intensive than most other cooking, and, to jack prices up every further, everything served here is organically grown which I consider a big plus and which I'm willing to pay for..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nope.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Overpriced, under seasoned food. The vegetables are cooked to death, the tofu is chewy and bitter and the wait staff are slow to the point of ridiculousness. Take out isn't even worth the effort. Everything congeals into a bland, sticky, flaccid mess. You're also sitting almost butt-on-butt with your neighbors. FAIL.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you like expensive vegetables you are in luck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This place is cool, and different... however the food just doesn't warrant the prices. I went there with 3 other people and our bill was $100 for an appetizer and some meals. To get cheese on anything was a couple extra bucks. I just don't understand... I would rather have lobster and filet mignon for $100.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hard to believe it's Vegan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Food here is great! Bring your friends who are doubters as to the delicious nature of vegan food. Try the nachos, the portobello napoleon, everything we've had here is great. and don't foget the sweet potatoes. The desserts are fabulous and you won't be disappointed by the wine either. The ambiance is very soothing and the staff is friendly. Enjoy it! They do take-out as well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G-Zen also viewed

 

Been to G-Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G-Zen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.