We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nellie Green's

Nellie Green's
50 Maple street, Branford, CT
203-483-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 130 Restaurants in Branford
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: It's located in a marina and has views of the water and boats with an outside patio. It can be hard to find with all the large boats in the yard.
new haven, ct
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Last Saturday, we were looking for a place to have lunch and I said that I had been wanting to try our Nellie Green's. It turned out to be a little gem tucked in the back of a marina with a great outdoor patio which we thoroughly enjoyed -- watching the boats pass us by and enjoy the sea air. The food was surprisingly great and not run of the mill. I look forward to another afternoon by the water with good food, great atmosphere and friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant-Killer Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place is a bit off the beaten path, but worth the schlep. It's located in a marina so it sits on the Branford River so there is outdoor seating and lovely views of the water and boats. It's a low key kind of place with delicious inventive dining choices and a wonderful, cozy small bar. These bartenders are professionals and great at their jobs. The restaurant offers Happy Hour drink pricing beginning at 4PM during the week and some lovely HH items including a small but yummy Cheese Steak for $5. The ambiance, location and quality of food set this restaurant apart. I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nellie Green's continues to be such a wonderful dining experience. Location is terrific and the food is consistently good. Not to mention that both Jerry and Len are the best bartenders. Can't wait for the nice weather to kick in so we can enjoy the deck for drinks and dinner. This restaurant is a must do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GREAT NEW MENU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nellie Greens was always good - middle of the road- Great location. They have stepped it up a notch with a revamped menu. Lobster & 3 Chesse sandwich was awsome. Sandwichs come with a nice salad. Like a lot of resturants today, to many verbs on the menu. "Fresh Stonington Day Cought Extra Jumbo Sea Scallops with a Special Reduction Sauce" To bad they were not cought at night, I would have ordered that !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,Ct. USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First visit to this restaurant. Had some reservations but once there all changed to the positive. The best New England clam chowder ever tasted. Very nice selections on the menu. Be aware there are 2 sections for entrees: small plates and I forget what the other was labeled. Salads are not incl in entrée. They are a somewhat small portion. For me the soup plus a small plate selection & a glass of wine would be more than enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nellie Green's also viewed

 

Been to Nellie Green's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nellie Green's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.