We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground for families who want a lot of conveniences.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Odetah Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozrah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Odetah Camping Resort
Save Saved
You added Odetah Camping Resort to your Saves list
38 Bozrah St Ext, Bozrah, CT 06334   |  
Hotel amenities
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great campground for families who want a lot of conveniences.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I won't bother repeating all of the aspects already written about by past reviewers, but I will say that this campground is great for families like ours, who have small children and want lots of ways to keep them busy! Unfortunately our stay was cut short due to rain (getting into our tent!), so we weren't able to do the Halloween mini-golf, and other things. But, our boys loved the playgrounds, inflatable slide, fishing, and heated pool (yes even in early October, the pool was very comfortable).

We had a chance to take a peek in one of the Yurts after asking the front desk for the key, and those seem nice. No bathroom is the only drawback. Speaking of bathrooms, they keep them very clean, can't be said for a lot of other campgrounds that's for sure.

Check-in and check-out were very smooth, no issues there. Food was great - and even though we didn't use the service, how cool is it that you can order food and have it delivered to your campsite? That's one drawback - if you're looking for a "true" camping experience out in the wild, this isn't your place. But for a nice leisure way to get outdoors and smell some campfires and have a hundred different things to do in a weekend, look no further!

The only disappointment we had was with the campground's policies regarding dogs. They don't want you to walk your dog unless it's at the "dog park" which is really just a small fenced in area about the size of a basketball court, waaay out by the dumping grounds. So you have to drive your dog there and back. There should be a trail or something that dog owners can use, to get there and back. It also would be nice if there was a spot in the pond where you could let your dogs swim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall an enjoyable stay. There are tent sites and RV sites. Many of the RV sites are permanently occupied. The folks that rent the permanent sites live there, at least during the warmer months. They grow some nice gardens and plants and the ones we met are friendly. The lake is nice to gaze at and to go for a swim. There is a big inflated trampoline just out beyond the roped swimming area. It was a lot of fun. There are some mossy weed plants that grow from the bottom of the lake up towards the surface in many areas. It can be hard to avoid swimming through those. There is also a swimming pool (I heard it is heated) and a jacuzzi.
Multiple playgrounds for the kids to play on. Horseshoe pits and shuffleboard for the adults. The bathrooms were clean. You can hear the nearby highway sometimes, which is a slight drawback. The staff was generally friendly and helpful, and seemed readily available.
The only real dissapointment was when we tried to rent a boat/canoe to go out on the lake at 1:20 PM on a Sunday. They are supposed to be open until 2:00 PM but they were closing up the ice cream shop and the boat rentals as we got there and they wouldn't rent us the boat. Not sure why they'd close at 2 PM on Sundays in September anyway. A sunny Sunday afternoon is prime boating time in my book.
We had a nice time and we'd go back. 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights midweek in the summer. We picked a site(167) far away from the highway so we had peace & quiet. Site was clean, trash is picked up daily. Lake with a trampoline in it is nice. Lots of stuff to keep families busy.
Free wi-fi is a plus but it is very unreliable so don't plan on using it much. Verizon signal is poor, AT&T decent.
I wouldn't say it's very resort-like but more like a nice campground. We would return although it's not one of the best values we've seen.

Room Tip: Pick a site away from the highway. The noise can be deafening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to Odetah Camping Resort every year with a large group for the past six years. We love it! It has everything you can ever want from a camping resort. Clean restrooms, great activities for the kids, and friendly staff. We have tried other camping resorts but they never compare to Odetah so we always wind up going back. Just had another fun weekend at Odetah (minus the rain. But weather can't be controlled). Will be going back like always next year. We love Odetah!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Odetah looked like a beautiful resort from the pictures we saw online. What they didn't show was the proximity to a busy highway and the lack of peace and quiet. We definitely weren't prepared for the smell. The staff seemed friendly enough at times, but the management seemed almost annoyed to be bothered. It was a dissapointing experience we don't wish to repeat. I can't recommend spending your time or money here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bozrah hotels

Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

the staff is wonderful and helpful and the kids working there are all super nice. It is a beautiful location and the bathrooms are very clean compared to other campgrounds I have stayed at. There is quite a bit of noise from the highway but nothing can be done about that. the mini-golf is really cute and the kids loved playing there. I would stay again

Room Tip: the safari area is nice. look at the campground map very closely to understand how far you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We rented the "Skunk" log cabin. There were two adults and four children. It was PERFECT. We brought a small fan to keep any highway noise away while we slept and this was perfect. The kids were busy and happy the entire trip. From the huge water trampoline, to the big bonfire on the beach on Friday night, they were in heaven.
The deluxe log cabins are wonderful. Clean, quiet, and no bugs :)
One little tip: we brought several comforters to sleep on (on top of the beds) because the waterproof mattresses make a crunching sound when sleeping on them.

Room Tip: Ask for Skunk or Turtle cabins. They are perfectly located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Odetah Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odetah Camping Resort

Address: 38 Bozrah St Ext, Bozrah, CT 06334
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Bozrah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bozrah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Odetah enjoys the beauty and serenity of the Connecticut woods, offering you, your family and friends the best in camping and spectacular nearby attractions and excitement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Odetah Camping Hotel Bozrah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odetah Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.