We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finally” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Pony

Painted Pony
74 Main St S, Bethlehem, CT 06751
+1 203-266-5771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“finally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been wanting to go here for years, living a mere 15 min away. We went on a Sunday afternoon, not many people there which was nice, service was very good. Its the kind of place where the local farmers will show up with coveralls and suspenders, Prime rib was very good, nice salad and soup. Was the place out of this world, no. But I wasn't looking for Las Vegas either. I guess I always ask myself, would i travel 30 miles to try it, probably not. There are a lot of places with the same food and service. But if you live nearby, sure why not?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Second Time Even Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was surprised by how many people were here at one time! This time I got the Surf & Turf and the food was to die for! It came with a lot of food and I couldn't finish the steak but I definitely finished the shrimp. Also I liked the almond joy martini i had and my husband even had some. This visit was so great I just had to write a review!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Brits on holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been several times and enjoyed our food and found the service friendly. Each time, we have been beaten by the size of the portions - lunch for the next day! My husband is gluten intolerant which limits his choice but they did have gluten-free desserts. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I like this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I have been there twice and both times we enjoyed our food, enjoyed our service and the price is right. They have food specials which are very good and drink specials frequently. The first time I had fish and chips and it was great. The second time I had a fish special - piece of broiled cod on lobster bisque with a stuffed shrimp on the top. Came with soup or salad, bread, baked potato all for $13.95. Wonderful. The owner came over to our table twice to see how everything was. They have owned it for 23 years and her husband is the had chef there and comes up with some wonderful food combinations. This is a family oriented restaurant that caters to all tastes. I would absolutely recommend to a friend and return again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We eat at The Painted Pony often & always great food !!!
The prime rib is the best & everything is very reasonably priced !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Pony also viewed

 

Been to Painted Pony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Pony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.