We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chandi Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chandi Boutique Resort to your Saves list
The Chandi Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Batu Layar-Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book on Weekend: 40% OFF
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Batu Layar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at The Chandi Villa Resort for 12 nights and enjoyed every moment. It is of course the rainy season but this did nothing to spoil our time at this exceptional resort. The rooms are large and very well appointed. You can make coffee or tea if you wish, but why bother when you can get hot (and cold) freshly made beverages within minutes from either the gorgeous restaurant or bar - each sitting right on the beach. I love an outdoor bathroom and was not disappointed with this one. Everything was spotlessly clean, or high quality and well thought out. The staff are an absolute delight from the excellent chefs to the waitstaff, reception staff, gardeners and housekeeping staff. The beach (it's like having your own private beach!) is beautiful and the sunsets are completely mesmerizing. The purpose built Spa is not long away from completion and I hear it is going to be pretty special - waterfalls and fish to gaze at while you are being pampered. Chandi is a small resort and this is just what we like! You feel totally spoiled owing to the high number of staff to guest ratio. Staff remember your name and what your preferences are for breakfast - which it generous and truly mouth watering - cocktails - best mojitos I have had in my life! - while remaining professional and friendly. You never have to vie for a sun lounge or use of the gorgeous fresh water infinity pool right on the beach. While each of us has our own preferences for what constitutes bliss I challenge you to find much better than this - especially for the price. Well done Chandi. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden villas for the first two nights and then in the ocean view room. Both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    68
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
158
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night recently in between trips to Kuta (Lombok) and the Gilis. The resort itself is clean and well-maintained. The beach front has black sand, and while not spectacular, seemed to be carefully maintained by the staff. The resort's pool was in good shape, although there is an awkward massage tent right at the pool's end - can't imagine that it feels very private. The staff were generally friendly, although a bit awkward. When the water system was shut off for repairs, the receptionist suggested we wash our hands in the pond next to the reception area (which was in the process of being treated with chlorine). Also, the resort is right on the main road. It's down a hill, so the traffic noise isn't too loud, but not sure what one would actually do at this resort if you were there for several days. Sengiggi isn't exactly a "walking" town. We went to a good Italian place for dinner - Alberto's. They'll pick you up from the hotel for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I loved that place at first sight, small resort with Great style, just beautiful design, beautiful garden, lovely sea front bar and very, very good restaurant, sea view of course. Breakfast Ala carte, fresh juice ,fruits just whatever you want.We spent New Years Eve here enjoying great live cooking buffet ,live traditional gamelan music and great dance show.I find the staff exceptionally kind and helpful and caring. I wish I were longer.5 stars are not enough ,fantastic place!!

Room Tip: All bungalows are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although we are not staying here I wish we had and will for sure next time, we have been coming in to enjoy the pool and restaurant. The food is very good, the service is excellent, the beach is cleaned each day, and nice to swim. I had a beautiful pool/Ocean side massage which was pure bliss and will be back for another one. The fresh baby coconuts are refreshing. I am in Love with this place. Well Done. I will be recommending it to all of my friends for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean view would be my pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week, the rooms are very clean and modern.located in a quiet spot in Senggigi. Very easy to get to town with a short taxi ride. The meals are very nice and reasonably priced. The staff are very helpful and friendly in accomodating to our needs and going the extra step to help
us. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent a week here in late December, staying in an ocean view room, and found the hotel to be a delight. Each room is a separate bungalow, with plenty of glass. (The down side is that the room gets light with the sunrise - no sleeping in here!) The rooms are large and well equipped and the bathroom, set in a private courtyard with an outdoor shower, was a highlight. All the plumbing worked well, with plentiful hot water. The room is stocked daily with a small provision of complimentary water - you will probably need to buy additional water.There is a good sized television with a range of channels (though no Australian channels), but a tv guide would be a useful tool. We found the food throughout Lombok to be standardised to Western tastes (read bland, with little spice), and this was the case at the hotel as well. However, the breakfast choices were extensive, and the fruit, pastries and eggs were all tasty. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and well maintained.

This is a small hotel, located a few (hilly) kilometres away from the central tourist area, so you can't take a stroll down the beach to a nearby warung or bar. You either eat at the hotel or you take a taxi somewhere - only a little inconvenient, as reception will call a taxi and they arrive very quickly. There is a bit of noise at night, from the road and a nightclub somewhere. There can also be some construction noise during the day, as they are currently building a new spa in one corner of the resort.

This hotel is a lovely choice if you are looking for comfort, quiet and an opportunity to chill out for a while.

Room Tip: We had room 107, and I think that, of the ocean view rooms, this would be the most private, being l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is really awesome place to stay. The ambience of the hotel was excellent, the staffs were really helpful and the best part of this hotel is, the restaurant. Although most of the menu are western, but they can provide me the delicious Ayam Taliwang dishes with very spicy sambal on the table. Feels like home....I think I have found my home in Lombok already....:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chandi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandi Boutique Resort

Address: Batu Layar-Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chandi Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life … Situated in a beautiful coconut grove on the west coast of Lombok Island, The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa offers it´s guests an exceptional level of comfort and tranquility. Guest satisfaction and unforgettable holidays are our vision; personalized service and privacy for our guests is our mission. Our hotel is only a 5 minutes’ drive from Senggigi, Lombok’s tourist and shopping area, 20 minutes’ drive to Mataram (capital of Lombok) and 40 minutes’ drive to Lombok´s international Airport (Bandara International Lombok). The Chandi Boutique Resort and Spa offers: 15 Generous Villas All villas are furnished with exclusive interior in a modern minimalist style and feature a furnished outdoor veranda, king-size bed, spacious bathroom with open garden shower, dressing area, flat screen TV, DVD- player, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, minibar and air-conditioning. The hotel provides complimentary amenities, such as daily bottled mineral water, tea & coffee facilities, thoughtful toiletries, bathrobe & slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chandi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chandi Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.