We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chandi Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added The Chandi Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chandi Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Batu Layar-Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Batu Layar
Ulm, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

there aren`t enough words to describe this magnificant paradise. from the beginning i felt like a princess. we were picked up at the airport with a wonderfull warm welcome. from the moment we passed the entrance i felt like every single wish was coming true. the chandi boutique resort filled my heart with pleasure. the staff is extemly friendly, the food was marvelous, our suite made me feel like i´m in heaven...although the island is beautiful and i really wanted to get to know the surrounding, we decided to spent most of the time in this very private place. sometimes we didn´t even recognize the other guests. all our expectations, and there were plenty, became true.

Room Tip: it doesn´t matter, because all of them are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    43
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
100
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Attentive staff, a beautiful beach view and ideally located for popping into Senggigi or the day trips to the North Eastern Gilis. Even better for a couple of lazy days to bookend your holiday.

Opt for Ocean View if you can to minimise noise from the road. Music at the bar could be annoying if played late and loud but didn't experience any issues.

Only downside to have a beach wide pool and lounge area is occassional snaggle-toothed beach hawker - although in the long run it's not a big problem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Senggigi, Lombok. Low season. That is....if there is any high season these days.

Nevertheless - even if,or maybe because of, the hotel was not very busy during our stay in March 2013 we had an exellent stay at this seaside boutique resort just south of Senggigi town. (10 min by taxi, a few dollars)

The room was very comfortable indeed - bright, modern, airconditioned and with all the amenities any 4-5 star hotel should have. Just perfect. Secluded private outside bathroom. Great!

Direct view from our room and veranda to the sea. A few steps to the pool, five more to the sea.

Exellent seaside restaurant. Huge breakfast with loads of choices. Never had mahi mahi for breakfast before :). Dinner options in the evening equally plentiful. Everything top quality.

Staff was very efficient and friendly. Both in reception and restaurant.

We have not got anything bad to say about The Chandi. A delight it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this beachside hotel from the 19th May - 22nd May 2013. The service was great at this fairly new hotel and the food at the restaurant was excellent. We had a room closest to the pool and beach on the bar side, which was lucky as it's furthest away from a busy road. This is a great hotel to relax and chill without the crowds. However at night the bar could do with a few more people as it has a great ambience and deserves a bit of a crowd, maybe they could try giving free drink vouchers to guests, we never tried the bar snacks but they looked like good value.
We ate at the restaurant every night as the food was fantastic, we didn't want to risk eating anywhere else.
Loved the outdoor bathroom, but maybe check if the coconut tree trimmer isn't high above first, I forgot he was there. If you want to go into Sengiggi, it only costs around 10000 in a bluebird and the front desk can book it for you.
We love our stay overall and felt we totally unwinded in this hotel which is set up to do just that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Leaving here today after staying for 3 nights and have loved every minute of our stay here. The resort is a few minutes taxi ride (10000rp) from the main centre of town, it's actually nice staying a little bit away from town (no hawkers on the beach and nice and peaceful). The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The beach, as other reviewers have said, isn't the best beach in Lombok, but is still perfectly swimmable. There also is some traffic noise but we were in a villa closest to the beach and couldn't really hear it. The villas are absolutely lovely. All are very good quality and the beds are some of the best I have slept on while I've been on holiday, very comfortable. The pool is lovely and close to the beach. However, even though all these things are great the best thing about this place is the staff. All the staff, every single person we met, are excellent at their jobs and very friendly. They all seem to really enjoy their jobs. The check in staff, the manager, the bar staff, restaurant staff, security, housekeeping and groundspeople are the best team. I don't want to mention anyone by name as every single person is good. Also, the chef in the restaurant has excellent skills. The food is the best I've had in a resort! We ate here every night. The breakfast is also amazing food, you pick off a menu and they make it up for you. When I come back to Lombok, will definately come back here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently stayed at The Chandi for 2 nights. All I can saw was it was an excellent experience. Following were the pros of the place:
- Spacious rooms
- 17 chalets made it exclusive however at an affordable price
- Lovely pool and deck area
- Excellent breakfast. Arguable the best I've ever had at a hotel
- Massage by the pool nice though a little pricy
- Outdoor shower was a nice touch
- Staff was ever so helpful and polite

Cons:
- Took the garden view chalet and was close to the main road and was abit noisy, especially at night
- The walls are relatively thin as I took the connecting garden villa, while the TV was on, it was clearly a bother to our neigbours as they highlighted it to us
- Abit further from the main Senggigi area. Having said that, a taxi which the hotel will happily call for you will take you to the main area in less than 5 minutes at a cost of RPH10,000

Overall, an excellent short get away. Relaxing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: - Choose the ocean view rooms as it is further away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is a paradise. Service is the best and you really cant get better breakfust anywhere! The saturday night BBQ is a must! The rooms are big and really nice! The location is a little bit off, but a taxi to the nearest village cost´s about 2euro

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chandi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandi Boutique Resort

Address: Batu Layar-Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chandi Boutique Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Situated in a beautiful coconut grove on the west coast of Lombok Island, Indonesia and with an engaging beach The Chandi Boutique resort & spa fulfils all your needs for perfect holidays and offers you an exceptional level of comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Chandi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chandi Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.