We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Came Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chandi Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chandi Boutique Resort to your Saves list
The Chandi Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Batu Layar-Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
DIRECT BOOKING 777777
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Batu Layar
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We Came Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our second visit to Chandi in 4 months - we loved it then, we love it now! This time we stayed in one of the newly completed Garden View rooms, which are bigger with a separate seating area and deck, but are located up behind the Ocean View rooms. They are a bit closer to the road so not as quiet, particularly during the Idul Fitri weekend, but we were equally happy there as we had been in an Ocean View room previously. There are 10 Ocean View rooms and 6 Garden View rooms - perfectly sized resort! The staff were wonderful and we'll surely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    57
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
131
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nature-inspired, minimalist modern twist -- lots of stone elements. Not the traditional Indonesian/Balinese style with wood decor/furniture.

Pros:
- Right by the beach. Or perhaps ON the beach is more accurate?
- Not many units, therefore very attentive, friendly staffs
- Nice little swimming pool by the beach
- Open air bathroom is very nice

Cons:
- Breakfast menu selection is quite limited. Not a big deal, really.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

After spending time in Singapore and Bali, we got the ferry to Lomok and our grown up children went to the Gilis. We got a cab to the hotel and it was like stepping into tranquility. The challets were new, clean and well furnished. The serice was excellent and the pool and facilities were 1st class. We only had breakfast and lunch on site which were top class and a fair price. In the evening we would get a cab to Senggigi which cost 15K ruppia (nothing) and took 10 minutes. There we found some good eating places and the Happy Cafe had some great bands who played requests.
I do not reccomend this resort for children, it is really an adult quality chill out spot with 5* service.

I loved it.

Room Tip: All Challets were well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

if you need a resort style break and want a great base to explore Lombok this is it! Beautiful gardens - luscious fresh water pool-minimalist decor with references to traditional architecture of the archipelago. Amazing service - if you need and staff have an excellent network of people and services which is trustworthy and good value. Great place to chill and watch the morning flotilla of fishing boats from the villages scattered along the coast.

To be honest the restaurant was a bit out of our price range so we tended to eat locally at smaller establishments including some really good street side vendors where dinner is about $1USD pp. But that's no problem staff listen to what you want and tune in on your style - perfect holiday destination !!

Room Tip: garden rooms are cheaper and bigger - good to be out of the dress circle too. It's not a party p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Beautiful, well planned and well kept, intimate and friendly. We felt like everyone was there just for us. Top notch service, excellent restaurant. Alex rated their Nasi Goreng as the best in all of Asia - and he's tried a lot of it! Right on the water under a canopy of palm trees. Pretty much nirvana. A perfect 'relax' destination after our adventure to the surfing venues on the south tip of the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

An amazing getaway resort, extremely friendly staff and excellent service. It has a cozy feel and the best, I really mean it, the best nasi goreng in Lombok. The other choices are great as well, however. I can't say enough good things about the staff, helpful, eager, and very kind. The taxi service is very good, I never had to wait a second. The outdoor bathrooms are a nice touch, and the shower is very interesting and well done. All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Chandi is a beautiful boutique hotel featuring only 15 rooms. The project was completed in December 2011 and therefore all furniture provided are brand new. We enjoyed the peace and quiet perfect to rest after months of hectic work and 3 days of trekking in Rinjani.

The only drawbacks are the absence of a real beach, the distance from Senggigi, and the limited menu offered by the restaurant.

Beside these, the Chandi is a perfect getaway for couples seeking time alone and privacy

Room Tip: Choose ocean view, with room 105 to 110 toward the bar (further away from the hotel entrance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chandi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandi Boutique Resort

Address: Batu Layar-Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chandi Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life … Situated in a beautiful coconut grove on the west coast of Lombok Island, The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa offers it´s guests an exceptional level of comfort and tranquility. Guest satisfaction and unforgettable holidays are our vision; personalized service and privacy for our guests is our mission. Our hotel is only a 5 minutes’ drive from Senggigi, Lombok’s tourist and shopping area, 20 minutes’ drive to Mataram (capital of Lombok) and 40 minutes’ drive to Lombok´s international Airport (Bandara International Lombok). The Chandi Boutique Resort and Spa offers: 15 Generous Villas All villas are furnished with exclusive interior in a modern minimalist style and feature a furnished outdoor veranda, king-size bed, spacious bathroom with open garden shower, dressing area, flat screen TV, DVD- player, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, minibar and air-conditioning. The hotel provides complimentary amenities, such as daily bottled mineral water, tea & coffee facilities, thoughtful toiletries, bathrobe & slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chandi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chandi Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.