We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Fish & Chips

Royal Fish & Chips
75 Stony Hill Road, Bethel, CT 06801
203 297 6065
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Bethel
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Delivery
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The owners of this place are very friendly and the food is delicious. They not only offer fish and chips but fried chicken, onion rings and shish kebobs. Great!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food to Die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been to Royal Fish and chips in Bethel CT couple of times as it is my and my families favoriate place to eat. They started the Kabob Menu also which has some real delicious food. They have the Lamb, Chicken, Beef kabob which are perfectly marinated and with every bite you want more. it is a very good portions with your choice of meat with rice, bread, Salad and the Yummy white sauce with Chutney. The Gyros and Falafel are New York Sytle which CT doesnt really have.The Service is something else and I have not seen that in a long time. These people are very focused on food and their customers....The Seafood menu and the Fried Chicken, Wings they speak for themselves. They have everything right with combination of food, service and location. If you have not tried this place then you are missing something special in your life...>Like their Logo Try it and you will love it....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Each your lunch here on the way to Target”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I went back for the Kabobs, chicken and beef. Very good but chicken was better. My wife got the 2 pc fish n chip, cod. It was very good but we both like the haddock better. It is slightly expensive for a 2 pc at 8.99, but it is cooked to order and it is done right so I do not mind paying for something I enjoy.
The place has a local following and does a great business. It's just not somewhere most would stop for a hot lunch from the curb appeal. On your next Big Y or Target run, pop in and try it. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The BEST Fish n Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Went in for fish n chips and was extremely satisfied! The menu has much more that I'm anxious to go back and try. Fried oysters, kabobs, gyros, hot wings, and on and on....
Very clean and courteous. Takes a few minutes to prepare because they make it to order, worth your time. Like a lot of places, don't let the outside fool you.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Deep-fried, unremarkable food in a very plain atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We tried the falafel, the fish and chips, and the chicken tenders here. They all looked and tasted pretty much the same -- just one step up from fast food. The portions are not generous. The beverage selection is pretty good with a lot of Stewart's sodas available. The cook/cashier/waiter was friendly but it took forever to get our food. There were only two other customers in the place. There's no ambiance. It's all very plain and, honestly, not that clean.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Royal Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.