We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mis-represented On-line Info” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2253 Berlin Turnpike, Berlin, CT 06037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berlin
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mis-represented On-line Info”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

It's not that this is a bad hotel. The issue is that their on-line description of their amenities are very mis-represented. I booked a one-bedroom suite because we were traveling with a teenager, and separate sleeping rooms were very important. I even called the hotel directly to make sure that this is what I booked. Never the less, when we arrived, we were shown to a single room with 2 queen beds. When we protested, they apologized for any misunderstanding and moved us to a "business suite" which was a slightly larger room with a living room set in one corner and a single king bed. Upon further protest, we were told that they only have 2 true one bedroom suites, only one of which was non-smoking, which was currently occupied. We were also misled about the complimentary breakfast. We were expecting a breakfast buffet typically found at places such as the Marriott Residence. What we found was a continental breakfast. Nowhere on the Best Western website was there the word "continental". So again, there is really not much wrong about this hotel, it's just not what we expected.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
53
26
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Outstanding customer service, friendly staff, great/clean rooms and a good breakfast! The staff was very welcoming and definitely accommodated every request, including an easy check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

I stayed with a group of ladies at this Best Western for a seminar. The hotel was very comfortable with basic accommodations. The rooms were very clean. We also liked that the rooms came with a small sleeper sofa, so four ladies fit very easily in the two beds and one sofa bed. I really liked the microwave and refrigerator that were provided. There was a coffeemaker, and the bathroom had a built-in hairdryer that worked well. The beds were comfortable. The buffet breakfast looked plentiful, although I only had time for the coffee. But other ladies from my party said it was good, especially the waffles. The front desk attendant was extremely helpfully, even supplying jumper cables when one of our vans wouldn't start. Overall a good basic hotel that is clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — price and room layout
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

Everything looked clean and fine on the surface. There was a slight odor- as mentioned in other reviews - but it wasn't offensive. I was in bed watching TV and enjoying what I thought was a great deal when I noticed I had 5 or 6 bites on the back of my thighs. Had a cordial conversation with the man at the front desk who very nicely offered to put me in another room. I didn't stay. I got a refund. Might have been a fluke but I certainly wouldn't go back to find out!

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

I found this hotel to be the "bare minimum" to keep a Best Western membership, despite the plaques in the lobby touting their high Best Western inspection scores.

Examples:

* Very slow WiFi access.
* Never more than 2 towels in the bathroom.
* Cheap breakfast with tons of bread, very little fruit or yogurt.
* Cheap bedding.

My guess is that this hotel was constructed at the least cost possible, and over time it will show its age sooner than most hotels. There was little competition in this area of the Berlin Turnpike at the time this hotel was built, but that is changing very fast.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

I enjoyed this hotel thoroughly! We actually decided on this hotel while visiting some colleges with my daughter.. it was very convenient for us to get to the highways from here to see Wesleyan, Quinnipiac and Yale.. lots of restaurants within a short drive and quiet and clean area without any signs of danger anywhere nearby.. this was important especially with our daughter with us.

Breakfast was good enough, internet was a nice feature and rooms were very clean and comfortable

we would stay again and reccommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Liked — quality of rooms and service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beantown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We found this hotel during our business trip to Central CT (We operate an Engineering Firm designing 2 new Retail facilities in the area!) The hotel looked and felt brand new, but apparently it is a couple years old but meticulously maintained! Our room was called a "Business Suite" and had a king bed, couch, comfy chair, microwave and fridge and a VERY ergonomic chair!

The room was huge and I would compare it to a Springhill Suites room. Lots of space for us to relax and really spread our maps and reports out. Decor was really nice and upscale and we really had to compliment the staff and GM for taking such care of the hotel. There was wireless internet and a nice indoor pool that we even used! Breakfast was adequate and I would say comparable to a Holiday Inn Express breakfast.

We stayed for 4 nights and the stay was terrific all around. There were lots of restaurants a few miles up and all the stores we needed (Man is Walmart the best!). We had some jobs in Newington, West Hartford, Berlin and Meriden and the hotel was literally right in the middle.. the GM told us that Berlin is the geographic center of the state and it really felt like it because every highway was right there. If we get any more jobs in CT we will defiinitey be back to this Best Western and recommend it to all! Thanks Best Western Berlin.

After watching the recent Office episode I had to write about this stay =)

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites

Address: 2253 Berlin Turnpike, Berlin, CT 06037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New England Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus New England Hotel Berlin
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.