We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty to Eat - Plan to share” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Bear Restaurant

Hungry Bear Restaurant
111 E Midland Ave, Woodland Park, CO 80863
(719) 687-5912
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Plenty to Eat - Plan to share”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food here was excellent - but plan to share your meal because the portions are simply too much! The price for four of use to get our own meal was over $30, not too bad, but not great when we left so much sitting on the table. Our fail - we didn't realize how much food we were actually going to be receiving. The atmosphere leaves a bit to be desired, but the service is excellent. The wait staff was very helpful in moving along quickly for us to make it to an appointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    58
    9
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Mountain Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast on our way to pick up the kids from camp and had one of the best breakfasts and quite possibly the most friendly waitress we've had anywhere. The food was delicious and the atmosphere very mountain, fun, and 'local'. We loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MOLDY FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My order came out with mold! After bringing it to the waitress's attention first she said it was sour cream, then she said the cooks had raw egg on their gloves while handling my steak then egg was cooked with the meat. Sorry neither sour cream or egg are fuzzy!!! They did comp my meal, but I advise you to steer clear of the hungry bear unless you want moldy food!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In like a hungry bear-out full as a tic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we arrived, the parking lot was so full, they had to direct us To our parking spot. We were told to sign ourselves in & wait to be seated. We could tell the wait would be lengthy so, we took the lasts 2 seats at the counter!! They were quite organized & it was interesting to see the operation in action. The service was prompt, friendly & the food outstanding!!! It was well worth the crowd& the wait.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Recently on our trip to Colorado we went into the Hungry Bear to eat. This was by far one of the best breakfast I have had on the road. We were so impressed we returned again during our trip. The Hungry Bear is very clean and has friendly staff and the prices are very fare given the amount of food you receive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Bear Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hungry Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Bear Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.