We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailhead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Trailhead Inn to your Saves list
Trailhead Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   78572 US Highway 40, PO Box 204, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Olympia Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Olympia is a family motel that features very clean rooms and inn keepers who love what they do. It is located within walking distance of restaurants and a paved walking trail beside a clear stream. We have stayed there for nearly 8 years. They remember us and welcome us warmly. It is not fancy and doesn't have a pool but its too chilly to swim in winter park anyway!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was so impressed when I stayed at this little place because even though the simplicity of it was older in its style, the welcoming hospitality, warmth and impeccably clean rooms were more like an Embassy Suites. Its a simple breakfast, but it's usually just the coffee I'm about in the morning. Cleanliness was the most important to me and I found that to be outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Owner/operators Albert and Carol are lovely people, so friendly and helpful. This accomodation was really clean and comfortable. The location in the middle of town is perfect. The free shuttle for the ski slopes stops right outside the door! The heated pool and spa is great. Breakfast is a basic continental breakfast with no hot foods but we took our own cereal so it worked for us. Our purpose for being in WP was skiing and this place perfectly met our needs. We are booking here again for next year's ski trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I normally avoid independents, but I needed a room for a ski weekend. Albert, the innkeeper, was a trove of ski information. He built the hotel and he and his family care about each guest. The rooms are simple, but very clean. I had my laptop, iPad, and host of other electronics and they were safe in the room.

The heated indoor pool and spa was a welcome sight after all day on the slopes.

Breakfast is continental and the hotel is conveniently located in the hub of downtown,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is an older motel but well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and safe. Got a quiet, good night's sleep on comfortable bedding. Great for families or couples. Breakfast was muffins, bagels, coffee and juice, it was fresh and good.

Room Tip: This place is 2 buildings, half "hotel" and half "motel" so you can choose if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co springs, co
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

94 for small, plain room was too much
in summer, snow season, $170 rate is very good.
tiny bathrooms, but clean. C breakfast very limited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This "Lodge" hotel on the main drag of Winter Park, CO (U.S. 40) provides a very hard mattress and a fairly clean room. The train passes right behind the hotel and unless you like hearing trains a lot in the night, you probably want to avoid this hotel and look for lodging on the east side of the road (this is on the west side). The breakfast is definitely not something to brag about (nothing hot unless you call making instant oatmeal with hot water "hot"). For the price, it was not a real bargain but O.K. for the budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#8 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#6 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#9 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
2.9 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#6 of 26 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Inn

Address: 78572 US Highway 40, PO Box 204, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Olympia Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailhead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Trailhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Winter Park
Olympia Motel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing