We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destinations West at Beaver Village

Save Saved
You added Destinations West at Beaver Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Destinations West at Beaver Village
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50 Village Drive, P.O. Box 349, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Beaver Village Condominiums)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 50% to 1 Night Free
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This group of condominiums is well maintained and they offer better service than most direct rentals. We got an updated unit booked as a Getaway week through Interval International and we really enjoyed it. I though it was an excellent value in a great location. Yes, you can hear the train but so can the whole town of Winter Park!! We loved the indoor pool (I thought it was a nice touch that they offered pool towels and exchange, which I wasn't expecting from a condo) and my boys also loved the dvd library. They had awesome, current movies and you can check out two a day for free. I'd never been to Winter Park before and I found it prettier and way less crowded than Breckenridge and Vail with just as much to do (in fact my boys had an unforgettable time doing a countryside tour pulled by sled dogs although since it is summer they dogs were pulling a cart instead of a sled)! I wouldn't hesitate to return to Winter Park or Beaver Village Condos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Guest Relations Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay with us. This is what makes our job so much fun and rewarding! We are happy that you enjoyed the pool and movies. Hopefully your son can return when we have some of our 365 inches of snow on the ground and ride the dog sled in a different environment! Winter is when the dogs really love to run and show thier stuff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
30
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have been coming up to Winter Park for the past 15 consecutive years and we always stay at the Beaver Village Condominiums. The staff members are excellent to work with and are very eager to make your stay the best on the planet. This year was no exception! We got to do everything we wanted, but unfortunately we had to cut our stay short due to a family emergency. Beaver Village gave us a refund for the night we lost. I won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We always enjoy staying on the 3rd floor in condos 16-20. The vaulted ceilings are really nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Guest Relations Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
It was great to have you back with us this summer. As always it is a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thanks you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Beaver Village Condos with other travelers. Always remember to ask for your return guest discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at Beaver Village since 2010, and always enjoy our stay-in a one, two, or three bedroom. It is interesting to see how the owners have decorated their condos. This is a great value with a very good location. We have been there for the Jazz Festival in July and for Thanksgiving in November. There is nothing fancy about Beaver Village, but it is always clean and comfortable, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Yes, there is a train that may wake you up at 2:45 am if you have your window open, but that is a minor inconvenience for such a great place to stay at a very reasonable price. We will stay there again next year and recommend it to anyone going yto Winter Park.

Room Tip: Buildings 9, 10,11 and 12 are quieter when it comes to the train, but buiding 7 is very close to a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Guest Relations Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We loved having you back with us again this summer! Just a reminder about the train noise, when you call to book your next stay with us mention "the train noise" so we can find the best location away from the train. We will always do our best to accommodate your needs. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your Beaver Village experience! See you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good location. Outdated decor, cabinets, and bathrooms, but still comfortable. 3rd floor has vaulted ceilings and lots of living space. We went mountain biking at Winter Park for the weekend. The pull out sofa bed was not very comfortable, I can't speak for the beds. All in all it was a good place to lay our heads down for the night after a few days of adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Guest Relations Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to let us know. To book the condo that best fits your needs you can visit our web site at beavercondos.com. Here you can view pictures of the speciifc condo you have choosen. This way you will be able to chose a decor that best suits your taste! Or you can call us at 1-800-824-8438, tell us what is important to you to make your stay a pleasant one and will can suggest certain units. Remeber to mention your return guest discount when booking your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for a few days around July 4. Competitively priced, nice 1 BR 1 bath unit was good for two of us. Overall our experience was ok, we are experienced travelers and this was a "no frills" type trip for us. There are both facility and service concerns here.

If you stay near the highway/road i.e. Buildings 1 and 2 you will hear road noise, sometimes at a loud level. If you stay uphill away from the road you will hear train noise just fyi. Not a dealbreaker for us but could be for others..

Our primary concern is with the staff tone/attitude toward being responsible or more accurately, NOT responsible for your experience at the property. (with one pleasant and professional exception)
They continually refer to the property/facility as "they" i.e. we're not responsible for anything, that's the owner's problem, we're just the desk staff. The lack of personal / business responsibility as facility hosts/managers approached insulting. If I were an owner of a unit being managed here I would have serious concerns.
Couple of specifics:
- We were asked upon check-in "did 'they" inform you that 'they' impose a $20 supplies fee on you?" We're familiar with "cleaning fees" but this was not disclosed in advanced...just fyi.
- The plastic deck chairs were both cracked nearly in half, unsafe and certainly uncomfortable at best. I walked to the office to politely explain the situation and request a couple unbroken chairs and was told that this was "their" (i.e. the unit owners') problem and "they" would have to take care of it. Nothing more, no offer to provide a couple substitute chairs or inform the owners etc.
When I suggested that perhaps we could borrow a couple plastic chairs stacked up by the pool or deck I was met with blank stares until a third staffer came in and politely agreed.
- The grill on the deck didn't work (ignitor switch didn't function, not that unusual) and when I approached the staff to let them know they said "Oh yeah, "they" have had a lot of trouble with that"...no offer to help or provide a lighter or match, etc. Eventually I borrowed a match from a polite and professional third staffer but the process was excruciating...
We experienced several other encounters with this tone and the excuse "we're not the owner" is simply not good service nor is it good business.
Would I stay here again - yes but with only minimal expectations.

Room Tip: Stay in the middle of the area to minimize but not eliminate road or train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Guest Relations Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us at Beaver Village Condominiums and for taking the time for writing your review. Your comments are invaluable as we are always striving to improve on our guest experience and customer service. It is our responsibility to do our absolute best to ensure that our guest receive the best experience possible when they stay with us.

We do apologize for the attitude and tone of our staff. The policy of this company is each staff member takes ownership of any concerns that our guests and homeowners encounter. Our General Manager has given authority to each of us to deal with a problems at time of ocurrance and follow through until our guest is satisfied. We are very happy that one of our staff members was pleasant and willing to look for solutions.

Although our offices are located in the clubhouse we do not control the property. If an issue with the building and facilities pertaining to it, such as the grill on the deck, are need of attention it is our responsibility to contact the property management company so they can resolve the problem. We did follow through with this and the ignitors have been replaced. We do have control of each of the privately owned condos that we manage. We should have understood that the cracked chairs were a problem and tried to accommodate you as best we could. Thees homeowners have been notified and they will be replaced.

Our online booking partners do not include the $20.00 linen and supply fee in thier rate. This fee is stated in the property description only. It is oour repondsibility to inform guests of this charge upon check in. We will work with these partners concerning this fee so it is not som confusing to our guests. When a guest calls us to book directly we always inform them of the linen fee and sure to include the charge on each reservation confirmation.

Again we thank you for letting us know of our short comings. We will strive to improve our guest service experience and do hope you will stay with us again. Check out our Featured condo Page, then give us a call directly so we can help you choose the best condo to fit your needs.

Your opinions are important to us, so again thank you!

Jeanne Mace
Guest Relations Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beaver Village Condos are located off of Highway 40 at the edge of Winter Park. Because the Village is on the edge of town, cars drove by noisily at high speeds. The accelerating cars were the worst. Some buildings are further from the road, but the train tracks border the other side of the village. You can't escape the noise. We were there in the summer for three nights in Building 1 (unit 0131). We opened the windows at night to cool the room, but we didn't sleep well because of the noise from the highway and the train.

We also had a problem with our reservation upon check in. We had booked Unit 1612R specifically because it was an updated unit. When we arrived, the person at check in said that 1612R was no longer available. She explained that the day before, the owners of 1612R decided they wanted to use their condo. Our reservation was bumped and we were randomly assigned to another 1-bedroom unit. The other 1-bedroom unit was not updated, and the check in person offered us a 3-bedroom unit that was more updated. While we appreciated the check in person's efforts, it was disturbing that our reservation for a specific unit could be changed on the whim of the owner and at the very last minute. The owners of unit 1612R were inconsiderate and we caution others who are thinking of booking that unit.

Unit 0131 was furnished nicely and had everything we needed for the stay. But we wouldn't stay at the village again due to the noise problem. Some units may be better than others, but we're not willing to risk it. Even if we were to book a unit in a quieter building away from the highway and train tracks, there's a chance that we'd get bumped to another unit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, General Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so sorry about the frustrations you experienced staying with us. All of our condominiums are individually owned and many of them are updated and can be viewed on our featured condos page. While we encourage guests to pick a condo that they are most interested in, we do let them know we cannot guarantee the exact condo number until check in due to unforeseen emergencies (if something breaks in the condo) or if the homeowner requests their unit. Because we manage the condos for the homeowners, we are at times obligated to honor their request to stay in their condo, even if it means moving a reservation out of their unit. When this situation arises, which is not often, we try to move our guests to a like or similar unit or even upgrade them to a larger unit (that at times can be nicer than the original unit reserved). We do our best to keep our guests happy and also our homeowners.

Regarding the noise, our condos are situated in a campus style setting with some of the units near the main road and around the clubhouse and three other sections farther up the drive. There is a train that runs through our town which can be heard throughout Winter Park. Fortunately the town decided to make the train crossing closest to us a "no blow zone" so the train whistle is not audible from this crossing. Many of our guests who really want a quiet area prefer a condo the 5 - 9 building section.

I do hope that you may consider trying us again and thank you for the heads up on your situation. Your comments only help us improve our service and how we handle situations that arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely well-maintained and well-furnished units, wood paneling, stone hearth, etc. Great views of the forest and mountains. No air conditioning but none needed in such a nice high-elevation forested location if you open your windows in the evening. Movie rentals and hot tubs available at the clubhouse were an extra bonus when we had a day when we got back early. This was a comfortable and affordable home base for us to explore Rocky Mountain Park, Georgetown, and Central City.

If you are a rail buff, ask for building 19 or 20, and see the tracks from your balcony and your bedroom window. If you want peace and quiet, ask for one of the middle-numbered buildings (15-20 are near the tracks, 1-2 are near the highway.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Director of Sales at Destinations West at Beaver Village, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your review, you really do know our property well:). To add to your comments - another good section if you want to be in a quiet area but still close to the clubhouse would be to be in cul de sac 5 - 9. There is even a path behind building 7 that will take you to town - the trail is not an official one (or maintained) but kind of fun for a quick hike in the summer time. I would not recommend this in the winter. In the summer we have hiking trails that go throughout our complex, you will find them by the lights on the trails.

We do hope to see you again soon and again really appreciate your kinds words. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Destinations West at Beaver Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destinations West at Beaver Village

Address: 50 Village Drive, P.O. Box 349, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Beaver Village Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destinations West at Beaver Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Park Colorado lodging options vary in price and location with condos, homes and town homes available in the town of Winter Park or at the base of Winter Park Resort. If you are looking for a condo in the town of Winter Park that is affordable and conveniently located, we think that Beaver Village Condominiums is the best lodging choice for your next ski trip or summer vacation.Beaver Village Condominiums, in the lodging and vacation rental business since 1989, knows what it takes to offer the perfect lodging choice in Winter Park for our guests. We start with well maintained and updated condos, affordable lodging rates, great lodging deals plus a friendly staff! Our property management company, Teverbaugh Heaton Management, is located on-site in the condo complex, making our staff easily accessible our guests. Our dedicated team of lodging experts can guide you through our many lodging options. We offer 1, 2, 3, and 4 bedroom condos at our Beaver Village Condominiums complex and additional lodging options in the Winter Park area. From your initial point of contact with us, booking your reservation and finally staying with us, we think that you will be glad that you booked your vacation rental with us. We also think you will love working with our team! We have some of the best staff in the lodging business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Destinations West at Beaver Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaver Village Condominiums Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destinations West at Beaver Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.