We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay, needs a little help, watch out for fees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums to your Saves list
Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   50 Village Drive, P.O. Box 349, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Beaver Village Condominiums)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
1 Free Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“OK place to stay, needs a little help, watch out for fees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for a few days around July 4. Competitively priced, nice 1 BR 1 bath unit was good for two of us. Overall our experience was ok, we are experienced travelers and this was a "no frills" type trip for us. There are both facility and service concerns here.

If you stay near the highway/road i.e. Buildings 1 and 2 you will hear road noise, sometimes at a loud level. If you stay uphill away from the road you will hear train noise just fyi. Not a dealbreaker for us but could be for others..

Our primary concern is with the staff tone/attitude toward being responsible or more accurately, NOT responsible for your experience at the property. (with one pleasant and professional exception)
They continually refer to the property/facility as "they" i.e. we're not responsible for anything, that's the owner's problem, we're just the desk staff. The lack of personal / business responsibility as facility hosts/managers approached insulting. If I were an owner of a unit being managed here I would have serious concerns.
Couple of specifics:
- We were asked upon check-in "did 'they" inform you that 'they' impose a $20 supplies fee on you?" We're familiar with "cleaning fees" but this was not disclosed in advanced...just fyi.
- The plastic deck chairs were both cracked nearly in half, unsafe and certainly uncomfortable at best. I walked to the office to politely explain the situation and request a couple unbroken chairs and was told that this was "their" (i.e. the unit owners') problem and "they" would have to take care of it. Nothing more, no offer to provide a couple substitute chairs or inform the owners etc.
When I suggested that perhaps we could borrow a couple plastic chairs stacked up by the pool or deck I was met with blank stares until a third staffer came in and politely agreed.
- The grill on the deck didn't work (ignitor switch didn't function, not that unusual) and when I approached the staff to let them know they said "Oh yeah, "they" have had a lot of trouble with that"...no offer to help or provide a lighter or match, etc. Eventually I borrowed a match from a polite and professional third staffer but the process was excruciating...
We experienced several other encounters with this tone and the excuse "we're not the owner" is simply not good service nor is it good business.
Would I stay here again - yes but with only minimal expectations.

Room Tip: Stay in the middle of the area to minimize but not eliminate road or train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Guest Relations Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us at Beaver Village Condominiums and for taking the time for writing your review. Your comments are invaluable as we are always striving to improve on our guest experience and customer service. It is our responsibility to do our absolute best to ensure that our guest receive the best experience possible when they stay with us.

We do apologize for the attitude and tone of our staff. The policy of this company is each staff member takes ownership of any concerns that our guests and homeowners encounter. Our General Manager has given authority to each of us to deal with a problems at time of ocurrance and follow through until our guest is satisfied. We are very happy that one of our staff members was pleasant and willing to look for solutions.

Although our offices are located in the clubhouse we do not control the property. If an issue with the building and facilities pertaining to it, such as the grill on the deck, are need of attention it is our responsibility to contact the property management company so they can resolve the problem. We did follow through with this and the ignitors have been replaced. We do have control of each of the privately owned condos that we manage. We should have understood that the cracked chairs were a problem and tried to accommodate you as best we could. Thees homeowners have been notified and they will be replaced.

Our online booking partners do not include the $20.00 linen and supply fee in thier rate. This fee is stated in the property description only. It is oour repondsibility to inform guests of this charge upon check in. We will work with these partners concerning this fee so it is not som confusing to our guests. When a guest calls us to book directly we always inform them of the linen fee and sure to include the charge on each reservation confirmation.

Again we thank you for letting us know of our short comings. We will strive to improve our guest service experience and do hope you will stay with us again. Check out our Featured condo Page, then give us a call directly so we can help you choose the best condo to fit your needs.

Your opinions are important to us, so again thank you!

Jeanne Mace
Guest Relations Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
30
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beaver Village Condos are located off of Highway 40 at the edge of Winter Park. Because the Village is on the edge of town, cars drove by noisily at high speeds. The accelerating cars were the worst. Some buildings are further from the road, but the train tracks border the other side of the village. You can't escape the noise. We were there in the summer for three nights in Building 1 (unit 0131). We opened the windows at night to cool the room, but we didn't sleep well because of the noise from the highway and the train.

We also had a problem with our reservation upon check in. We had booked Unit 1612R specifically because it was an updated unit. When we arrived, the person at check in said that 1612R was no longer available. She explained that the day before, the owners of 1612R decided they wanted to use their condo. Our reservation was bumped and we were randomly assigned to another 1-bedroom unit. The other 1-bedroom unit was not updated, and the check in person offered us a 3-bedroom unit that was more updated. While we appreciated the check in person's efforts, it was disturbing that our reservation for a specific unit could be changed on the whim of the owner and at the very last minute. The owners of unit 1612R were inconsiderate and we caution others who are thinking of booking that unit.

Unit 0131 was furnished nicely and had everything we needed for the stay. But we wouldn't stay at the village again due to the noise problem. Some units may be better than others, but we're not willing to risk it. Even if we were to book a unit in a quieter building away from the highway and train tracks, there's a chance that we'd get bumped to another unit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, General Manager at Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so sorry about the frustrations you experienced staying with us. All of our condominiums are individually owned and many of them are updated and can be viewed on our featured condos page. While we encourage guests to pick a condo that they are most interested in, we do let them know we cannot guarantee the exact condo number until check in due to unforeseen emergencies (if something breaks in the condo) or if the homeowner requests their unit. Because we manage the condos for the homeowners, we are at times obligated to honor their request to stay in their condo, even if it means moving a reservation out of their unit. When this situation arises, which is not often, we try to move our guests to a like or similar unit or even upgrade them to a larger unit (that at times can be nicer than the original unit reserved). We do our best to keep our guests happy and also our homeowners.

Regarding the noise, our condos are situated in a campus style setting with some of the units near the main road and around the clubhouse and three other sections farther up the drive. There is a train that runs through our town which can be heard throughout Winter Park. Fortunately the town decided to make the train crossing closest to us a "no blow zone" so the train whistle is not audible from this crossing. Many of our guests who really want a quiet area prefer a condo the 5 - 9 building section.

I do hope that you may consider trying us again and thank you for the heads up on your situation. Your comments only help us improve our service and how we handle situations that arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely well-maintained and well-furnished units, wood paneling, stone hearth, etc. Great views of the forest and mountains. No air conditioning but none needed in such a nice high-elevation forested location if you open your windows in the evening. Movie rentals and hot tubs available at the clubhouse were an extra bonus when we had a day when we got back early. This was a comfortable and affordable home base for us to explore Rocky Mountain Park, Georgetown, and Central City.

If you are a rail buff, ask for building 19 or 20, and see the tracks from your balcony and your bedroom window. If you want peace and quiet, ask for one of the middle-numbered buildings (15-20 are near the tracks, 1-2 are near the highway.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Director of Sales at Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your review, you really do know our property well:). To add to your comments - another good section if you want to be in a quiet area but still close to the clubhouse would be to be in cul de sac 5 - 9. There is even a path behind building 7 that will take you to town - the trail is not an official one (or maintained) but kind of fun for a quick hike in the summer time. I would not recommend this in the winter. In the summer we have hiking trails that go throughout our complex, you will find them by the lights on the trails.

We do hope to see you again soon and again really appreciate your kinds words. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Beaver Creek Condos for many years, about 20 years now. We have never been disappointed, ever! Great place to bring the kids!!! The units are very clean. Everything is furnished for you in the kitchen. Quiet and relaxing always. The staff is always so helpful in every way! Good pool and 3 jacuzzi's!!! Just a very wonderful place and even near wildlife too. They are very environmentally conscientious at all times!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Director of Sales at Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for returning to us each year - you could be our spokesperson (big grin) - we love having guests come back each year as we feel like they are family!

You may have noticed that many of our homeowners have upgraded their condos each year and hopefully enjoyed the changes. Not sure if you knew but you can now view all of our condos on the website, in fact we would encourage you to take some time to look at our featured condos page that showcases all of the condos that have been remodeled. When making a reservation you may choose a condo that you like, just be sure to let the front desk know which unit you are interested in.

We do look forward to your next visit and don't forget to ask about your return guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The condo felt like home all amenities are there great location and office staff.
Would return anytime. Close to all activities and a real nice stay.
Made snowman right outside condo and had a great time..

Room Tip: ask for condo close to office as you can get lost in woods further away lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Director of Sales at Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate it. I am so glad you enjoy staying with us. Our condos truly are like home. Each of our condos are individually owned and come complete with full kitchen (eating utensils, dishes, glassware, cook ware, toaster, coffee maker, stove, oven) are all included...Our condos are pretty spacious as well, with our two bedroom condos ranging from 845 to 900 square feet. When making reservations be sure to take a look at our Featured Condos page that showcases all of our updated condos - we have quite a few!

Our condos are clustered in a campus style setting with different cul de sacs scattered throughout the complex. If you want views I would suggest checking out cul de sac 15 - 20. If you want to be close to the clubhouse I would recommend cul de sac 5 - 9 or better yet 1 - 2 or 3 - 4. The buildings in cul de sac 1 -2 and 3 -4 are right next door to the clubhouse that featured our indoor heated pool and hot tubs.

Thanks again for your review and we do look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location in Winter Park is great: you are a short bus ride to the slopes and a quick walk into town where there is plenty to do and see. Our condo had a beautifully updated "mountain" decor, was comfortable and well-maintained - the perfect place to relax after a great day of skiing. The staff at Beaver Village are second-to-none in friendly, helpful service and the amenities (pool, spa, hot tub, club house) are just what we would want to have for an extended stay. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Director of Sales at Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for your kind words - we wish you could have stayed longer too! We hope to see you again soon and be sure to ask about our return guest discount. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Beaver Village. The condo was comfortably furnished and it is very close to the downtown Winter Park area. The couch-bed in our condo needed to be replaced, but the fireplace was wonderful to sit by in the evening. We would highly recommend Beaver Village Condominiums and will likely stay there again on our next trip to Winter Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaverVillageRes, Director of Sales at Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I also appreciate the update on the sofa sleeper - we will be sure to report this to the homeowner.

We also think the location is ideal - close enough to walk to town to restaurants and shopping plus really close to the biking and hiking trails. In the winter our free shuttle runs to Winter Park Resort so our guests do not have to drive but just relax on the bus as they get ready for a full day of play.

Again thank you for your updates. We do hope to see you again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums

Address: 50 Village Drive, P.O. Box 349, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Beaver Village Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Park Colorado lodging options vary in price and location with condos, homes and town homes available in the town of Winter Park or at the base of Winter Park Resort. If you are looking for a condo in the town of Winter Park that is affordable and conveniently located, we think that Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums is the best lodging choice for your next ski trip or summer vacation. In the lodging and vacation rental business since 1989, we know what it takes to offer the perfect lodging choice in Winter Park for our guests. We start with well maintained and updated condos, affordable lodging rates, great lodging deals plus a friendly staff! Our property management company, Destinations West, is located on-site at the Beaver Village condos complex, making our staff easily accessible our guests. Our dedicated team of lodging experts can guide you through our many lodging options. We offer 1, 2, 3, and 4 bedroom condos at our Beaver Village Condominiums complex and additional lodging options in the Winter Park area. From your initial point of contact with us, booking your reservation and finally staying with us, we think that you will be glad that you booked your vacation rental with us. We also think you will love working with our team! We have some of the best staff in the lodging business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaver Village Condominiums Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destinations West at Beaver Village Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.