We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi Country Haus Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Hi Country Haus Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   78415 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Winter Park
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was the first time we rented a condo instead of getting a hotel. LOVED having three bedrooms and four bathrooms with five people! Plenty of room to stretch out and relax! Would caution you to bring your own pillow. Ours were all so flat it was like no pillow at all. But the beds were comfy! Loved that there were games and puzzles in our condo. :) Convenient to all the wonderful summer activities Winter Park has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    4
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Dated units. Open air stairways. Washboard rough roads thru property. Hot tubs and pool closed. The state of the property is simply depressing....reminds me of what a recession might have looked like in 1970.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the condo's at the Hi Country Haus for a 3 night ski trip in unit 1515. We were extrremely disappointed in the accommodations, especially for the price we paid. First, we had to lug all of our food, ski equipment and luggage up 3 flights of stairs. We were exhausted by the time we were done. We had rented a 2-bedroom, 1 bath unit for 4 adults. Talk about tight quarters! To start, the unit was old and outdated. There was no dining table so we had to eat at the coffee table or the countertop. The bathroom was ridiculous. It held a toilet and a shower. I am 5'3" and 120 lbs. and could barely fit in the room. It was difficult to even get in the shower or use the toilet because it was so tiny. There was a sink in the hallway for the 2nd bedroom and a sink in the master bedroom. In addition, the kitchen sink drained slow, the swimming pool was under construction and the hottub was only open on the weekends so we could not use it when we arrived Thursday. We were told we could use the Fraisier Rec Center at a cost. Personally, I thought they should have provided vouchers for the rec center since we paid (OVER PAID) for these facilities. The rec center itself is quite nice, however, at $10 per day. I will say the front desk staff were very friendly. Just wish the accommodations would have been worth the money. Not even close!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground level. These units are individually owned and are all different. Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in building 24, unit #3. This is on the first level, so fewest stairs. Very clean. One bedroom with 1 queen bed and a pullout couch, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen. Bed was very firm, though that is better than the soft, overly bouncy beds I've slept in in nearby hotels. Decor was a bit dated, but overall adequate. No wifi - that is pretty standard in other places in Winter Park. We didn't go to the hot tubs and the pool was closed so we can't comment on that. I was awoken by the trains the first night, but didn't notice them the 2nd. This was the least expensive option, comparing this the other properties in Winter Park and the cost, this is a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights in unit 509 last weekend. When I read the room was 500 sq ft I guess I didn't realize how small that is for a one bedroom condo. The bedroom had a comfortable king bed and a dresser, with a small TV on the wall. No room for a suitcase except in the closet. The living room was comfortable also with a sofa bed and a fireplace. The kitchen was really a one person room... fully equipped except it had a mini-fridge. The room descriptor said it had a full fridge, thus we brought too much food and had to keep most of it in an ice chest. The mini fridge couldn't cool the food properly, food on the door was warm, and it couldn't freeze a tray of ice in 3 days. The resort had no ice maker, so we had to hit the gas station each day for a bag or two. The complex pool/jacuzzi was independently owned and charges for towels, plus they keep their own hours, so don't count on a soak after dinner! Finally, even though we were on the side of town away from the train tracks, we were awakened several times a night by the whistle... not as romantic as it sounds!! The room was a 15-20 minute walk to the center of town.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms where you can't hear the train all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

THIS WAS THE WORST PLACE WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN!!! We paid $273 for 2 nights in a one bedroom one bath. Nothing in the place was newer than the 70's. The bed was very worn out to where it was like sleeping on the bed frame, (no box spring). The couch had little to no cushion making it quite uncomfortable to watch the 13" tube tv. The shower head came up to my chest (i'm 5'8") so I had to squat to wash my hair. The walls were paper thin, you could hear people talking in a normal voice in other units and anytime someone ran water in another unit there was a loud knocking in the walls which woke my wife and I up from a dead sleep both nights, multiple times a night. The bus schedule in the brochure in the room was so outdated that we took the wrong bus back from the mountain and had to wait an hour for the correct bus to pick us up. They could have refurnished this place with only free craigslist items and it would have been a major upgrade. The very definition of someone cheaping on the furnishings and charging a large rate. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Please be aware that these units are owned and managed by many different people, leaving a wide variety of conditions in the units. You will notice some Trip Advisor reviews are excellent and others are absolutely terrible, leaving you to wonder how Hi Country Haus can have such opposite reviews. Well, after staying there for one very long night, I now understand. We reserved Unit 1217 for 2 nights (+cleaning fee) through a local property manager. To say the unit was disgusting is an understatement. I told my husband it reminded me of a frat house that couldn't afford a cleaning lady. The dirty mismatched thrift store furniture was dilapidated and the whole unit was in disrepair. On top of the general shabbiness, it was also obvious the unit had not been cleaned. Further, the thermostat was set at 50 degrees. We cranked it up the moment we arrived but could not get the temperature in the unit above 60 degrees, even after letting the furnace run all night AND building a fire. We arrived too late to find somewhere else to stay that first night, but we were out of there first thing the next morning (after writing an email to the property manager which included photos of the filth). To her credit, the property manager only charged us for the night we stayed and refunded the second night's price as well as the cleaning fee. However, the ordeal of moving a family of five while also trying to get in full days of skiing was a serious pain. I would highly recommend thoroughly investigating each Hi Country Haus unit individually before renting and DO NOT rely on vrbo photos. Our unit had been staged and photos carefully taken to hide most of the problems. Before you rent ask when the unit has last been remodeled, what type of heating is used, and try to find reviews of the specific unit NOT of the complex. Some Hi Country Haus units have been fully remodeled and redone. Others, such as unit 1217, have been left to rot and are still being rented.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi Country Haus Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Country Haus Condominiums

Address: 78415 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hi Country Haus Condominiums 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hi Country Haus Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Country Haus Condominiums Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi Country Haus Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.