We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy, great location, good price, friendly owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Lodge to your Saves list
Viking Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   78966 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cozy, great location, good price, friendly owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The atmosphere was super nice, the folks were friendly, the price was very reasonable, we enjoyed the fireplace in the lobby and appreciated the microwave, toaster, coffee, and hot cocoa machines. It was nice that they had a computer with a printer that you could use to print ski passes, etc. We didn't have time to take advantage of the rec room and sauna downstairs, but maybe we would have during a longer stay. Location was perfect. Unfortunately, the hot tub was broken while we were there, and the bed could have been more comfortable for two people. Overall, this place has a lot of potential to be a really, really great hotel. I would definitely recommend the place, especially for families, and definitely if you don't want to drop crazy money at the resort hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    11
    9
    11
See reviews for
21
18
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been going to the Viking Lodge going back to 1999. It is a great location with both shops and food within a minute of walking. If you take the train into Fraser they provide transportation for a small fee (used to be free with stay, but times change.) It is a older lodge that has a lot of character so it is not naturally as clean as a newer lodge. I started coming here as a young adult and now bring my kids and they love it! The lodge has a ski shop attached so it is convenient for travel.

I have stayed at the mountainside resort and while it has the convenience of a nice location and newer facility, the price is double.

The Viking Lodge is the best value for the dollar in Winter Park!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is an awesome, cozy, old style, wooden, Alpen ski cabin like place in the center of Winter Park. Scott and Shannon are genuine friendly people who treat u like an old friend from the beginning u walk in. Breakfast places, restaurants, bars and shopping are all in walking distance. Free parking, Wi-Fi, free bus to the ski resort (5 minute ride) stops right outside. Inexpensive ski rental on side. Simply a great place for a relaxing and worry free ski trip. I will be back in a few weeks!! Sven

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rustic, simple and affordable. Always my first choice in Winter Park. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Cozy central room with fireplace, hot chocolate and a PC for those who don't drag their laptops everywhere. Great whether you are up skiing in the winter or mountain biking in the summer. Walking distance to great food and drinks!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Location, location, location! Right in the heart of town with plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Viking lodge was perfect for my last minute skiing plans. Nothing fancy, very cozy, and priced right for my budget trip with clean rooms and friendly service. Will bring my family of four next time for spring break if rooms available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Viking Lodge is a great place to stay in Winter Park town for those who are looking for a low cost hotel and aren't concerned with staying in the lap of luxury. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel has free wifi and a communal PC for guest use. There is an outdoor hot tub for soaking away those skiing aches and pains as well as a sauna. There are two communal areas with sofas. The upstairs area has a free hot chocolate machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The downstairs area has a table tennis and pool table, which to be fair, have defintiely seen better days but can provide some amusement. The hotel staff and owners are helpful and friendly. We stayed for 3.5 weeks and the staff let us use the hotel's laundry facilities to wash our kit half way through our stay to save us dragging it down to the town laundromat. The hotel's locations is excellent, right next door to the Cooper Creek, which contains several restaurants and shops and the Cristy Sports rental centre (the Viking Lodge also has it's own rental centre although we have our own equipment so have not used it). It is also right on almost all the Winter Park resort bus shuttle routes which makes getting to and from the mountain as easy as possible from WP town. I will definitely stay here again when I next return to WP.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I found myself in a tight spot having to travel to winter park at the last minute for a business trip.
Where was I going to find a centrally located hotel, for a multinight stay, that was dog cool, and wasn't going to tap out my per diem in the middle of ski season? The helpful staff and owners at the Viking Lodge to the rescue! I booked one of the nordic rooms that served my needs perfectly! The cozy, clean, rustic, room had access to a sauna, hot tub, kitchen space (with free hot chocolate), and a work space with computer set up to get evening paperwork filed. The owners were around the property throughout the week asking me often if I was comfortable and had everything I needed. Bravo Viking Lodge...I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Lodge

Address: 78966 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Lodge And Management Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.