We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base during ski trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   78665 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Base during ski trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were slight alarmed to be beside the elevator and drinks dispenser but manager advise they were full and we could not be moved. In Honesty the snow plough's made more noise so turned out not be to a problem at all. Clean and recently renovated.
Location was about 5 miles from Winter Park and Mary Jane but as we had a car this was not a problem at all.

Happy to recommend this or stay again if in the area. Booking on line also offered discounts due to length of stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    115
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
88
95
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I must admit the pictures do not make the hotel seem very pleasant. But in reality it is EXTREMELY clean the beds were very comfortable and it looked as though the rooms had been recently updated. Some of the decor in the rooms is not 5 star but it was new, CLEAN and the best price in town with breakfast. I always travel with my own pillow and found that I did not need it at this hotel. The hot tub is in a separate building directly behind the back stairs in a nice little hut. It is so close to the hotel that we did not get cold before we got in. Defiantly recommend for anyone wanting affordable clean, comfy accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recently stayed here twice. First time room was your typical BW hotel room, nothing special but clean and not too small. Second time stayed in room 105 which is very spacious, 2 Murphy beds, sofa, kitchenette. Would be great for a family or two couples. The breakfast is always awesome! Staff keeps it stocked and hot! Very accommodating and friendly, will stay here whenever in WP.

Room Tip: Room 105 is spacious and close to ice machine and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Glad you liked your visit. The suite is indeed a favorite with families and we like to think nobody starts their active day hungry after our extensive breakfast. We offer more than "required" by our brand for breakfast, including protein items like hot eggs and sausage. In addition to saving a few bucks, it's much quicker than having to go out to breakfast - - - letting get to the slopes or wherever you might be headed that much quicker. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for our annual ski trip to Winter Park. It was busier due to Spring Break but very peaceful for sleeping at night. The room was immaculate, the breakfast varied with many options but really liked the scrambled eggs. Also served were waffles, assorted rolls, yogurt, cold cereal, hot cereal, sausage, juices, hot chocolate. Staff is always friendly and available to meet your needs. Bus stops across the street for a ride to the mountains. Restaurants are close and walkable. Wouldn't think of stayng anywhere else. Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for this and other favorable reviews you've given our property. I can't tell you how much we value returning guests like yourself and very much look forward to seeing you again soon! I'm hoping you're racking up some Best Western Rewards points as a result of your loyalty. If not, be sure to ask at the front desk how to sign up on your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I haven't even stayed at this hotel and it is driving me crazy! I booked a room several months ago and wasn't able to stay at the hotel so several weeks before the booked date, I gave my reservation to another girl. After MANY phone calls to transfer my credit card to the new girls, my deposit was finally refunded. Several weeks later after the booked date, to my dismay, my card was charged $250 even though I didn't stay at the hotel! My card shouldn't have even been on file. I then had to make SEVERAL phone calls over several days with the only response being "I'll write that down and have someone call you back" and DAYS will go by without anyone calling me. I've probably made over 15 calls to this place and they have never called me back. I finally got ahold of the GM to ask about my card getting refunded, she said she had it fixed and it would be back in my bank account within 7-8 days. It has now been 11 days and it still isn't in my account. I called today to check the status and the guy on the phone treated me like I was lying to him, and then when I told him no one was calling me back he said he couldn't do anything about it and that the GM would call me when she wanted to. WOW.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I would like to first and foremost apologize for the lack of communication regarding the charges made to your card. I would also like to point out that transferring the reservation in the first place was a significant accommodation to you, as we would have been within our previously communicated cancellation policy to simply void the reservation and resell the room for the very popular weekend in question (keeping the agreed advance deposit). However, as is typical for our hotel, we went to great lengths to provide excellent customer service - - transfer the reservation to your friend - - and refund your card in full. Of course none of this could be done until we received your friend's charge information, which further delayed the process. The 7 to 8 days referred to is the number of business days it can take for your credit card company to process the refund and post it to your account. It might be a few days additional before you would actually see the refund - - - all of this being out of our control. Could we have provided better communication during the process - - - yes, and I promise we'll work on that, but we do occasionally make mistakes. Please know we collectively work very hard to please all guests - - - even those like yourself that don't even stay a night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge

Address: 78665 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpenglo Hotel Winter Park
Best Western Winter Park
Winter Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.