We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Winter Park Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
ENGLAND
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

As always we booked our trip with Expedia, and this time chose the Vintage Resort. Before we've stayed at Hi Country (excellent) and Winter Park Mountain Lodge (good) but fancied something a little closer but with self catering facilities. We booked a Deluxe Studio with Fireplace which was very nice. The kitchen had a 4 hob cooker, Oven, Microwave and Dishwasher. The room was basic but spacious, comfortable and had a lovely view over the continental divide.

This place is close enough to the slopes that you could walk it in about 5-10 minutes or get the free shuttle. We were exceptionally lazy and took the car each day to the underground parking - $20 but so much easier than waiting around at the end of a long day.

We only had breakfast there a couple of times as we either ate in our room or went for bagels at the base station. It was fairly basic but the hash browns were excellent.

The restaurant serves good quality food in reasonable portion sizes i.e. large enough to leave you full but not so large as to be scary. The pizzas are easily as good as Hernados - and without the wait.

  • Liked — Clean spacious room with everything we needed.
  • Disliked — It wasn't ski in ski out - buth then we knew that before booking.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    74
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
57
40
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We got a terrific deal on a room at the Vintage Resort. It was about half the cost of anything else we could find in the area. The Resort was a real gem. A lovely hotel, well kept up, comfortable. The room was a decent size with nice furniture. The only drawback to the hotel is that there is no place to eat at the hotel in the summer. But it was only a few minutes down the road to the town, where there was a good assortment of restaurants and fast food places. We were only there for one night, but it was wonderful. We would gladly stay there again if we were in the vicinity. The pool and hot tub areas looked inviting, but we just didn't have time to use them. This hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — lack of onsite restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Great price for Holiday weekend. Great Location, right next to ski area and Bus Pick-up. Staff was nice and friendly, Rooms were clean, Beds a little worn and probably needs replacing soon. Housekeeping maid-up room daily. Outdoor pool & Hot tub was great.
Looked Pet Friendly.

Only problem was "Lazy Teens" slowing down the elevators by going up & down 1 floor at a time back and forth. Not hotels fault, but very annoying.
Great Value for the money.

  • Liked — Location to ski area
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

This hotel was a nice surprise. Every single employee we encountered (about a half dozen) were all just great. Very helpful and friendly.

They had a private mini-shuttle bus we didn't know about ahead of time and it was a great service! It was like having a personal driver. He drove us 10 minutes to the tube hill in Fraser and back and to dinner. We didn't have to worry about driving in the snow!

We got appetizers and drinks in the restaurant and had breakfast there the next morning. The staff was very attentive and the food was very good. Wish we had eaten dinner there too.

We got a 2-story loft bedroom that slept 4 people. We had a fireplace with wood provided, a little kitchen, and a beautiful view of the Mary Jane slopes and the pool area. We got to watch the crazy people in the hot tub with temperatures in the teens. My only complaint is that the beds were not comfortable at all. We expected the futon couch to be uncomfortable but I don't think the bed was much better.

For the price you can not beat the amenities, service, and convenience of this hotel. They also had a ski shop and pool table room that we did not use and they are pet friendly. We were pleasantly surprised!

  • Liked — Services offered, location, restaurant, view, friendly staff
  • Disliked — beds totally sucked
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

We had a great stay at the Vintage in early January 08. We chose the hotel because it was "pet friendly" and we wanted to bring our dog. We booked a loft suite with a wood burning fireplace (free wood provided) and kitchette. Overall, we were very happy with the room. Only complaints would be - the bathroom was tiny, the room was saturated with a smokey smell from the fireplace and we had wait until 4pm for check in (started asking before noon). The hotel reluctantly allowed us a one hour late check out.

The fitness room is pretty anemic but the outside jacuzzi and pool were very nice. If you must have internet access it could be costly - it didn't appear there was any connectivity in the room and the in-room info made it appear you would have to pay for business center use.

We would stay there again if we return to Winter Park (not my favorite snow boarding hill)...

If you do go to Winter Park, check out the Fraser Tubing Hill. A little expensive ($17 per hour for adults), ain't fancy, but sure was fun.

  • Liked — Attitude about pets
  • Disliked — Late check-in time (4pm)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

I have been staying at The Vintage Hotel for almost a decade now. It's really sad to say I've seen the deterioraration (sp?) first hand. A boyfriend of mine, 10 years ago booked us a last minute room at The Vintage, having found not so many nice places to stay in the Winter Park area at this time, I was really impressed when we arrived. The hotel does sit in an unpaved parking lot and is at the bottom of ski slopes. The rooms use to top notch and so was the service. My first experience here, we ordered room service from a 4 star restaurant in the hotel's lobby which has now been turned into a second-rate burger and wings joint that has very, very inconvienent hours of operation.

A couple years ago we went back and were the only ones staying in the hotel, our bathtub wouldn't drain so when they came to fix it they uprooted all kinds of black stuff and hair and they didn't bother to clean the tub afterwards. Some rooms have gas burning fire places, others have log burning fire places.

The last time we stayed here a staff member mentioned that they would soon be turning The Vintage Hotel into employee housing once the resort across the street began to break ground and such so no one was going to put the effort needed back into this hotel.

As far as our room, the fan is connected to a light that is in the vaulted part of the ceiling so we had only light and NO FAN in an UN-AIRCONDITIONED hotel room because there was no way to reach the string attached to the lamp/fan 30 feet up. There are black patches of smoke damage all over the rooms - we went with a large group of people and in our friends room (who had the same room as us) there was a big empty spot over their fireplace and NO picture and their room was baren. The walls were white where the pictures use to be and black around where the pictures use to hang on the walls.

On the plus side, this is an extremely pet-friendly hotel and the staff being so young and ski bums themselves are pretty laid back. The pool and hot tub are great, clean, and beautifully manicured. We had teenagers with us this last time we stayed and they loved being able to hike and explore the wooded area's surrounding the hotel, we sent them off for a couple of hours with walkie-talkies. The hotel is also located next to the amusement park with the alpine slide and such.

Any shopping or eatting is definitly a car ride away, not far but also not within walking distance. I'd either stay at The Zephyr next door or The Inn at Silver Creek (Sol Vista ski area now).

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Don't trust what you read in Frommers. There was no mention that this was a "dog friendly" hotel. It is great for those traveling with their dogs, but we left ours at home. There was a small lobby with zero atmosphere and was one of only a few places to access the internet . The hotel sits on a huge unpaved parking lot. It certainly does not give you a welcoming feeling if that is what you are looking for in a "hotel". We checked out the next day and found another place to stay.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 100 Winter Park Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vintage Resort Hotel Winter Park
The Vintage Resort Hotel And Conference Center
Vintage Hotel Winter Park
The Vintage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.