We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try the brisket salad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke House BBQ

Smoke House BBQ
78656 US Hwy. 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
970.722.0227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 56 restaurants in Winter Park
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Stephenville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“try the brisket salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ate here with family and it was great. The food was good and the service was friendly and helpful, will go again, we enjoyed it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    25
    14
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fraser, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better off skipping this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Everything is made the day before and reheated. Pork shoulder was incredibly greasy, I felt covered in it and gross, and that was after eating it with a fork. The brisket was incredibly dry! My daughter looooooves meat and would eat hers due to it being so dry. The sauces are bland and all taste the same. Sides are incredibly small and nothing special, most of ours went uneaten as beans had a weird taste and potato salad was nothing but potatoes and mayo. After taking our order, bringing drinks and food, we never saw our waitress tableside again she just hang hung out behind the counter with the other employees. And we were the only table in the entire place. This was our second attempt at this place and we won't be back.

Despite the surprisingly pleasant reviews below, this place is always empty. There are more reviews like this one on other rating sites, I'm not just being negative.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

All meats smoked to perfection on site. The food does not come pre-sauced, which I appreciate. The table has 5 homemade sauces to choose from. I like to mix and match.
One of my first choices when we head that way for food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Great food, friendly and efficient service, and very clean. I have a soy allergy and had lots of menu choices. The meat was tender and the BBQ sauces were excellent ... we are from the south so we know good BBQ;)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent pork shoulder and burnt ends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went here our first day in Winter Park after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor. Agree with those who said the meats were good. The burnt end appetizer was particularly yummy and the pork shoulder main was really delicious. The brisket was way too dry. Sides were not inspiring. I liked the beans, my S.O. didn't. Daughter liked her potato salad, I didn't particularly care for my mac and cheese and S.O. didn't like the slaw specifically stating that the pieces were too large. We tried all the sauces and ended up preferring the hickory.

Would definitely have the pork shoulder and burnt ends again but not sure I'd get any sides.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke House BBQ also viewed

Winter Park, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 

Been to Smoke House BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke House BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.