We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   78869 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

This was my first stay in WP and the Sundowner was perfect. The price was great, the owners were very friendly the rooms were spacious, very clean and had modern amenities and the location was close to everything. Food, shopping, etc were all just walking distance away. Getting to and from the ski area was a breeze, the shuttle picked up and dropped of just up the street.

The owners are a nice Polish family and it was a pleasure getting to know them and chat with them through out the week. They really added a personal touch to the stay. Thanks for your great hospitality!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
26
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

Every year I go to Winter Park I find a unique type of people that the rest of America may be lacking; that is to say a very respectful and welcoming group of locals. However, there is always an exception to a generalization. In this case the exception is the staff at the Sundowner Hotel in Winter Park. The price of the rooms reflect the attitude of the hotel staff. If you plan a spring skiing trip be ready to be subjected to an array of verbal assualt from hotel cleaning staff stemming from inherent consequences of warming temperatures. That is to say if you have the slightest amount of dirt or mud on your boots after walking through the muddy parking lots at winter park after snow mets, then be ready to be harrassed in your room by hotel staff. I had a member of hotel staff knock on my door and subject me to a 5 min. degrading verbal assualt about how she ASSUMED that I inconvienced her by tracking mud on the outside stairs of this complex. In her exact words, "You have caused me to take longer than five min. per room and stairs to clean." If you are prepared to take heated lashings from disrespectful staff members then this is a great hotel. The rest of my stay was acceptable, except the internet service. This "high speed" service costs 14.95 for a weeks use. Be prepared for the internet service to not work for several days; as it did on my trip. Then once it does work, do not expect high speeds.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel Staff Attitude
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

Your typical 2 star motel. For $77 night high season, you really won't be dissapointed.
The motel is family owned, and they keep their rooms very clean (no tub mildew, no stains on linens or carpet).

The location is right in the middle of town, within walking distance to many restaurants.

The only downside to staying here for me was the rooms were a little drafty, but the heater was quite capable, and our room was by the stairs on 2nd floor, so we could hear everyone come clomping up the stairs every night.

Bottom line: If you don't want to spend a fortune, stay here, and ask for a room away from the stairs.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

The motel remains one of the best values in Winter Park. We strolled in one evening, off season at the end of September and had no trouble landing a room for a real bargain rate. The grandfatherly owner hardly flinched when 2 guys showed up asking for a room with one bed.
This place is absolutely spotless, vintage 70's all the way, so if you are adverse to the aesthetic, I'd recommend looking elsewhere. Baths are tiny, with tub/showers that have been retrofitted to give a slightly updated look. The smallish indoor pool and hot tub are clean and adequate- we had the place to ourselves.
This is a no frills place and the bargain price required a flight of stairs, which was no problem for us. The only downside was the very hard bed in our room. Notice that I didn’t say FIRM, I said HARD, which until this trip is how I would have described my mattress preference- not after one not-so-good night of sleep. If this isn’t something you can tolerate, I’d ask if there were other mattress options on the property since I would hate to dissuade anyone from staying here. Train noise is also an issue in Winter Park in general. I assumed the tracks were right behind the hotel due to the horns and only discovered the next morning that the track are actually behind the properties ACROSS the street- glad we didn’t grab one of them.
Breakfast not being available at the property didn’t prove to be a hardship as there are a few very good breakfast places within walking distance. Dinner options abound, but from our experience, the restaurant food quality and variety in town didn’t really cut it, although the very friendly staff at the Italian restaurant we visited work hard to overcome their deficiencies with genuine hospitality. Overall a cute town in a lovely setting and highly recommended for the budget traveler.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Location
  • Disliked — hardness of Mattress
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del rey, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

I've stayed at the Sundowner a couple times – since before they built their new wing and pool – and it's only gotten better. The family that runs it is very nice. You can walk to all the restaurants in town and stumble home from the bars. I've stayed at the Iron Horse, but would rather save the money to gorge on gumbo at Fontenot's. You could actually get by without a car here and just take Home James from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

The Sundowner Motel was GREAT! Can't beat the price. Don't expect the same amenities that you get at the Ritz, but for less than $100 a night, it's well worth it! Right across the street from the free winter shuttle...and only 5-10 minutes from the slopes, you can't beat the location either. Clean, nice rooms...nice indoor pool and hot tub, too. Highly recommended...we'll definitely come here again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2004

This is an older (1970s?) classic-style roadside motel right in the middle of the business strip in Winter Park. Despite it's age, the property is very well cared for and preserved. Our room was clean and well maintained. Furniture and fixtures were 70s-80s, not fashionable but all very functional. Heck, this place will be 'retro' in a few more years!
Right next to a park and less than a block from several good restaurants. They have a nice newer indoor pool which was inviting.
We paid $59 for our queen room, 2 people in August (off season).
Great value in this friendly, "owner proud" motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Address: 78869 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Sundowner Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.