We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   78869 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Tomball, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great deal for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This motel is nothing fancy at all but was perfect for a long weekend. The room was very clean, had a comfy bed, the location is super convenient to the downtown places and it's on the ski shuttle bus route. We were out all the time so just needed a decent place to lay my head at night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
26
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just returned from our 10th stay at the Sundowner Motel on our yearly ski trips to Winter Park. The motel has the best location, the best prices, the best aminities and very friendly and helpful owners. We enjoy the pool and hot tub after a day of skiing. Many of the best restaurants are within easy walking distance. The Lift bus stops are nearby. The Sundowner is definately the best value motel at Winter Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

On the main Highway 40, that runs from I-70 toward the Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park.Theuropean-style motel is small with two levels, exterior corridors and stairwells. The owners are very friendly people from Poland, and always polite but sometimes difficult to understand.
There's a small pool and hot tub. Amenities include TV/cable, A/C, a small fridge and microwave, also a coffee maker. The rooms are clean but not new. For a fair price, this is a great location in town, walking distance to restaurants, ski rentals and the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited with my family with my kids and my husband from California. I was looking for a small Hotel in the action with a pool and hot tub. hotel rooms were simple and clean. Owners were very nice and hard .working. great location next to the chamber and all restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Completely disappointed! The room showed signs of neither being occupied nor maintained: dead flies on the windowsill, dead gnats on the bathroom counter and in the sink, and even a dead fly between the sheets. It was also uncomfortably cold, perhaps due to the 1/2" gap between the door and the frame and a small heater on the other side of the room that couldn't accurately register the room temperature or maintain the set temperature. The mattress and pillows were lumpy, and even the TV provided no distraction--the remote didn't work, despite having a working battery. Attempts to be assigned to another room proved futile, the discussion made significantly more difficult by the hard-to-understand accent of the guy at the front desk. Best we could do was an extra foam blanket and several hand towels for me to stuff around the door. On the upside, the location is walking distance to shops and restaurants, and it's on the east side of Winter Park (closer to the ski area). But unless you can't find anything else, avoid the Sundowner.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Sundowner in several occasions in this year 2012. I got a good impression of the place since the first time. The place is well located in the main Highway 40, that run from I-70 west toward the Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park.The motel is relatively small with two levels, exterior corridors and stairwells. The parking is free and ample. The owners are very friendly people from Poland, and always polite and helpful.This is a family run business.
The building is not new but well kept, with flower pots with a European look. There's a small pool and hot tub, clean in its best.A small laundry room with iron and ironing board is available.
Close to the motel is a Seven Eleven, several Restaurants, and the Visitor Center is next door with a nice bronze moose statute on the front. A nice park is less that a block away to be enjoyed by children and adults.Rooms have a TV/cable, A/C, a small firdge and microwave,as also a coffee maker. A eating table and chairs fill the room.So far the rooms had been clean all the time when I stayed, no complaints in all. If you look for a 5 stars place, Sundowner is not the place. But if you want to pay a fair price for a convenient located and clean place, then this is the right place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight on our trip through the RMNP.
Motel is close to restaurants and there is a Seven Eleven across the road.
Our king bed room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Did not use the pool but it looked ok although a bit small.
The continental breakfast was served in the small reception area.
Overall it was a good standard of motel and adequate for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel

Address: 78869 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Sundowner Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.