We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING: DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IT IS A TOTAL RACKET” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Snowblaze Athletic Club

Save Saved
You added Snowblaze Athletic Club to your Saves list
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snowblaze Athletic Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79114 Us Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Winter Park
Denver, Colorado
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WARNING: DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IT IS A TOTAL RACKET”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My family and I planned to stay at Winter Park during the fourth of July weekend. I booked a room on Expedia that was suppose to have 2 queen size beds available. We drove 2 hours and arrived after 6pm. There was no front desk. We tried to contact the office and were given directions to a place 1 mile away and had to get our key out of a box.
When we finally arrived at the hotel and fiqured out where the room was, we found that the 2nd queen size bed, which was a couch bed was broken. All of the springs were off that normally hold it up. My sons had to sleep on the carpet. The next day I went to the office a mile away and explained what happened. They said they would fix it.We were also told we had pool access but when we tried to use it it said members only which required a card that was not provided to us. I asked for a refund and they told me to call Expedia. I have been on the phone with Expedia for 18 days and still cannot get a refund. Apparently, the guy who runs the office at the hotel will not respond to their requests. I am now forced to go thru my credit card service for a full refund. Please do not have this happen to you. It is a total racket. Go thru well known hotels for your stay. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Snowblaze is compact and furnishings aren't new but very acceptable & kitchen is complete. The pictures on the web site are accurate and the unit is clean and the location is great - close to town and a bus stop in the parking lot. Great restaurants within a short walk. Have to walk outside to get to heated pool & two hot tubs in another building. This was our second stay in this unit and we would recommend it - each time we have rented through Becky Shaw at www.skiwinterparkrentals.com and we were very satisfied each time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I would never, ever recommend this property to anyone! The decor is "70's beat-up"....sleeping bags preferable over the horrible beds, barely enough hot water for two showers in the morning, stove only worked on 400 or above, sinks backed up, timer didn't work on microwave, never could get thermostat adjusted so half the time we were freezing, no firewood...we were told we could purchase but they could not tell us when it would be delivered......NEVER got maid service, never got our trash picked up........no staff onsite to help with anything.......HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! Winter Park is a wonderful Ski Resort but B22 in Snowblaze is a dump........The only thing I can say is it in a good location....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

The stairs are a killer! Once you climb 6 flites of stairs (48 steps) with two two year olds and luggage. Your vacation is over. We were there in the summer with a teenage boy and girl plus two two year old boys. Baths were a must. The condo furnished 8 sets of towels for three day stay and wanted to charge a 1.00 a set to give fresh clean ones. Plus you had to take out your own trash. We were miss lead when booking our stay. It said 3 bedroom and 3 bath--It was 2 bedroom and a loft. It was 2 3/4 bath. The teen age son choose the loft cause it had a TV. We had a problem with the TV's hearing them over each other. The condo had valted ceilings that need to be cleaned of cobwebs. Then also we were told that we would recieve two comedy show tickets. Our check out time was 10:00 a.m. on Friday. The comedy show was at 8:00 p.m on friday ONLY. We would have been better off at a hotel.

  • Liked — I was like an apartment.
  • Disliked — The stairs!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

We just returned from Winter Park and stayed at Snowblaze once again after a multi-year absence. The place is much the same as I found it before. We rented a small studio and found it fine for three people. The covered parking came in very handy with the huge snow dump we received the last couple of days there.

The plusses for me were:

1. convenient location one block from downtown, and right on the shuttle route

2. Athletic club with swimming pool and two hot tubs, plus a modest weight room.

3. Good access for wheelchair users.

The minuses were:

1. check in and staff are two blocks away, so you have to go there to check in and out.

2. We had trouble managing the air temperature.


On the whole, I found it great for the convience and price during spring break week.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

10 minutes from the slopes via efficient and frequent shuttle bus service. no onsite checkin or management, that is all a few blocks away. the athletic club is VERY modest, free weights and indoor racquetball plus pool and 2 hot tubs. simple locker rooms, sauna and steam out of service when I was there. large rooms but decor varies widely from bleak to posh. shop ctr with several restaurants is 2 blocks away. no problem staying here and skiing without renting a car. basic but clean condo accomodations here.

  • Liked — budget price, kitchen
  • Disliked — no services onsite and no real lobby
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

Went as a group package among close friends. Stayed in C bldg 2nd floor. Needless to say the lobby and single rooms bldg had an elevator, guests staying in the condos had to lug all their heavy luggage up 3 flights of stairs without assistance from staff or a lift. Also, the room's decor was straight out of the 70's and extremely dated. Not conducive of the money charged when the other condo the group rented was extremely nice. The condos are a hit and miss but should be priced accordingly. Also, no care was taken to salt or sand the ice for walking paths to the hilltop condos. Hot tub and pool facilities needed care and front desk staff highly unhelpful and distant. Suggest having pics sent of exact room prior to booking and management train staff on providing services.

  • Liked — On the main line route for shuttle to town and ski resorts
  • Disliked — Price of dated room
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Snowblaze Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowblaze Athletic Club

Address: 79114 Us Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snowblaze Athletic Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Snowblaze Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowblaze Athletic Club Hotel Winter Park
Snowblaze Athletic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowblaze Athletic Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.