We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Run at Winter Park

Timber Run at Winter Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winter Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Run at Winter Park
Save
You added Timber Run at Winter Park to your Saves list
762 Forest Trail, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Phillipsburg, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from a week's stay at Timber Run. We were in the Aspen building in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom condo. The outside of the building is nothing to write home about, so we were a little leery about going inside. However, we were pleasantly surprised! Some updating had been done and everything was tastefully decorated. Furniture was new and appliances look new(ish) as well. There was new carpet and the bathroom showers had been re-done. It was not fancy, but certainly met our needs! The unit was over 1400 square feet, so we had plenty of space. The kitchen was fully stocked. There was also a bar area across from a sitting/fireplace area. We found lots of board games and decks of cards in the cabinets. It did get quite chilly at night, so it was fun to turn the gas fireplace on and play games with our kids. The condo offered great views of the mountains. We had read about nearby railroad tracks and the trains being loud that went through. We did hear them, but they didn't blow their whistles and it didn't disturb our sleep. My only complaint about the condo is the beds! There is a queen bed in the master bedroom and the mattress is horrible! The bedding wouldn't stay on the mattress, so we'd wake up everyday with a backache and sheets tangled up. The pillows were very flat. The mattresses in the other bedrooms were just as bad (full size in one bedroom and 2 twins in the other). We felt very centrally located to enjoy Winter Park and surrounding areas. The condo was out of the hustle and bustle of downtown, but close enough to enjoy the action. Even though this was not the nicest or fanciest place we've stayed in, we'd go back in a heartbeat. It was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the living space we had. We also had a garage. Outside parking was limited, so it was nice to be able to pull in! This would be particularly nice in the winter! Though we didn't have our own washer/dryer, there was one on the bottom floor by the garage entrances. It was never busy, so I was able to run a few loads of laundry without any trouble. We enjoyed our week at Timber Run!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

First off, this review is based off a unit that was rented through Vacations, Inc. From what I have seen there are multiple management companies who rent units in Timber Run, and standards may vary between companies.

The unit that I stayed in for 3 nights was located in the Vista building, a studio unit with a sleeping loft. The price was very reasonable, and the unit was very clean and well stocked on arrival. The appliances in the unit were old but worked. No need to pay extra for newer appliances here. The location was convenient to downtown Winter Park, and is located on the bus route (which we did not take advantage of). We also saw people using the outdoor hot tub, however we did not use this either. Wireless internet is available for a fee as well.

The beds and furnshings in the unit were comfortable, and the unit worked very well for us. If you have a 2 wheel drive vehicle, make sure to have chains available in the vehicle. There was a small amount of fresh snow on the ground when we arrived, and we needed the chains to get up to the unit.

Overall a great place to stay in Winter Park!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is by far the worst condo we have stayed in with the RCI Exchange.
These condos were built in 1980 and has not had much updating, the kitchen and bathrooms are not good, the furnishings are worn out and broken down along with the beds that are awfull. amenities are few if working or clean. Overall it does not seem to be well cared for. I am one of those persons who usually do not write a review either way, but I feel strongly that you can find a better place, I wish we had.

Room Tip: Find a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This was our second stay at the Timber Run property as a timeshare exchange. This time we stayed in the Dogwood building, and this unit was better than our previous one in Aspen building. We had a two bedroom with loft, top floor unit. The unit came with a garage (which we did not use). The outdoor hot tub was a few steps from the back entrance. The unit was very clean with new carpet. The furniture was dated but in excellent shape, and the kitchen had everything we needed. The loft was a huge master bedroom suite, complete with a sink and mini fridge. Wi-fi was available for a fee. We enjoyed the lovely gas fireplace, steam shower in one of the three baths, in-unit washer and dryer, two balconies and incredible
view. The shuttle stops right out front, and we did not rent a car for this trip. We used the public transportation for trips to Fraser for groceries, other activities, and to get to the mountain to ski. (We did rent a locker at Winter Park for the week to store our gear.) We barely heard the train a couple of times but it did not disturb our sleep. The other feature we appreciated here is the humidifier in the unit. We kept it running at full speed day and night - filling it twice daily. It sure helped us deal with the dry air.
This is not a trendy upscale place, but if you are looking for a comfortable, spacious convenient place to stay in WP you may be happy at Timber Run.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We had a three bedroom in the Aspen building and found it very comfortable. The bus to Winter Park stops right out in front and runs every 30 minutes. One can walk to restaurants a mile or just ride the bus. Bus only runs until 5 p.m. Watch out for the moose that hangs around the neighborhood. The place is not fancy but everything worked. 20.00 a week for internet and you can use computers on each 20.00 connection.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed in the Aspen building at Timber Run. Timber Run was an older condo development with a convenient location close to downtown. The area was very scenic. Liked: Roomy 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo; nice location; fully equiped kitchen; free front load washer/dryer in basement; garage available for winter. Disliked: Outdated kitchen & bathrooms; lacked amenities (tennis courts closed, indoor hot tub in old basement) but did have outdoor hot tub in the other section of condos; fee for internet; thin walls, floors & ceilings; loud train went through in the middle of the night & again early morning. Overall, the condo was fine and worked well for us. Our section of condos - White Pine, Cedar, Aspen, Spruce, Birch - weren't as nice as the Dogwood, Evergreen & Vista condos on the other side of Timber Run.

Winter Park was a great place to visit. We were there in the summer and had a great time. We bought a 1/2 day pass for the Alpine Slide & other activities at the Winter Park Resort - FUN! We went to Rocky Mountain National Park, to the local aquatic center between Winter Park & Fraser, rented bikes (there are many bike trails in Winter Park), & hiked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed in the Vista at Timber Run Building. It is one of the newer ones within Timber Run. It has great access to the lift bus and the bus to Winter Parks o we didn't jhave to drive to the ski resort. the unit was quite spacious and well kept. the fireplace in the unit was a really nice amenity which we used a lot. It's a comfy, cozy place that I'd go back to again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Run at Winter Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Run at Winter Park

Address: 762 Forest Trail, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Run is conveniently located just 1 mile from downtown Winter Park in a secluded mountain setting with views of the continental divide. Timber Run offers a choice of studios to 3-bedroom condos, all with private balconies. On the free shuttle route, just 2 miles from the Winter Park Resort, amenities include outdoor and indoor hot-tubs, laundry facilities, tennis courts and covered parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Run At Winter Park Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Run at Winter Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.