We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think your opinion really depends on what you spend...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Park Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Winter Park Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   81699 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Winter Park
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I think your opinion really depends on what you spend...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We got this as part of a package deal with Crystal Ski that was pretty cheap. We go to ski resorts to go boarding, not to sit about in the hotel all day, and as long as it's clean and people are polite, I'm quite happy with budget accommodation, which is what this is. If you've paid top dollar and are expecting the Ritz this isn't it. It's at the top end of budget accommodation, that said: the staff are really nice, the pub does good enough beer and food to want to stay in more than once, I wanted to bring the breakfast staff home with me they made me laugh that much, and it comes with some of the things you don't expect with budget accommodation (satellite TV / swimming pool / hot tubs / large rooms / smellies in the bathroom). Yes reception smells a bit of chlorine

My advice would be to make sure you're booked into one of the rooms in the main part of the hotel before you travel (we had two double beds in ours - one for us and one for the boards!), eat in the bar not the restaurant, and let's all just relax a little and not be so hard on these guys! Oh, and don't bother going into Frazer on the bus for a night out, unless you're desperate to see Safeways and KFC (that's really all there is there).

If you want to come to winter park and stay in a posh hotel, go to the Zephyr, or one of the others right at the bottom of the lift. If you don't want to pay a fortune and don't mind not having your shoes shined for free every day, then the Mountain Lodge really is fine.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    60
    35
    40
See reviews for
51
81
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

There are two sides to this hotel: the old side that allows pets, and the new side that doesn't. The old side appeared very run down and they allowed pets, which by itself will make a place stink. We stayed in a Mountain View room, which is a bit more expensive, so it also separated us from the college groups. The college groups that were in Winter Park that weekend could have turned every experience on the trip upside down. I hope I wasn't that obnoxious and irresponsible in my college days...but we maintained a positive attitude and didn't let that aspect bother us.

Our room had a window from floor to ceiling that looked right on the mountain. It was a beautiful site to wake up to every day. The hotel is on the GREEN shuttle route, which means you hardly have to wait for a shuttle, and when you get on it, you are there in no time. Location cannot be beat without staying on the mountain.

There is a nice pub in the hotel that has pretty decent food. We didn't hang out there too much because the college groups that were there had turned it into a college bar, but it made us leave the hotel, so that worked out well.

If you are someone who wants to luxury in the mountains and plans on staying in the room alot, you probably don't want to stay here. If you are just looking for a basecamp, you really can't beat the deal here. However, you must book a Mountain View room. If you don't, you'll end up in the old part of the building and will probably have bad experiences with hot water, smelly surroundings, loud groups at night, etc.....

I will give this a recommend based on the Mountain View room part. Otherwise, I might not.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

This place was a dump. Don't believe the description on the web site. The place was in total disrepair, nothing I saw was "wonderfully renovated." The carpets were worn out and frayed. The hot tubs were rusty and the finish was half gone. The management failed to control a large group from Texas Tech students who partied, ran up and down the halls, slammed doors and got into fights. For what I paid, it was totally not worth it. I think I should get a refund and never book with Ski.com again. If you are over 25, don't book here!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Booked this hotel with friends before reading any of the comments, so it was with some trepidation that we went ahead with the holiday. Unfortunately, we were right to feel that way! We arrived at the hotel after a 10 hour flight, tired and somewhat disorientated. On arrival, the first thing that struck us was the strong odour of chlorine in the reception area, and following the adverse comments on this site, it was with some dread that we realised we'd been allocated a room in the old part of the hotel. Nonetheless, we decided to take a look. What we found was disgusting. On opening the door to our room, we were greeted with a smell that resembled that normally found in a residential care home (best left to the imagination!).
The room itself overlooked the back of the hotel, was dark and dingy, and contained old furnishings and a carpet that was totally threadbare in places. Suffice to say, we walked straight back downstairs to reception and asked - make that demanded - to be reallocated a room in the newer part of the building. We got lucky and were given the last one.
The food in the hotel restaurant was unappealing - overcooked and overpriced, so in the main we ate out at night. Breakfast was buffet-style and somewhat repetitive, but was easier to eat in that we didn't want to waste any time before hitting the slopes opposite.
And good points? Sadly, not very many. We found Kelsey on reception to be very helpful. She was kind enough to check our homeward flight online and printed off boarding cards, thus saving time at the airport.
Would I recommend this hotel? Not unless you want to play roulette with your standard of accommodation. If you must book, insist on a room in the newer build.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

I got this hotel in a late package deal from Crystal Ski. I may as well have had the hotel for free, the deal was that good. So I havent got many qualms about the place. The staff were friendly. There are hot tubs, swimming pool and sauna which were in good condition and clean. The room we had could have done with some more lighting but it was clean.
The bathroom could have done with a make over and underfloor heating, but we just used a bath towel on the floor.
Proximity to the slopes is very good. They are literally a 2 min drive across the highway.
The Wifi connection was tempramental.
Parking was free also.

Overall I was super pleased with the deal I got on this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Despite the bad reviews we read before we booked, we took a chance on the hotel and were well rewarded. The location was ok, being up the mountain from town across from the ski resort, but we used it as a base for travel throughout the area. We were close to Rocky Mt. National Park, Silverthorne and Dillon, the Black Hawk casinos, and even front range spots like Estes Park and Golden. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful and the rooms on the front side were spacious and clean. The restaurant was only a few feet from our room and the breakfast and dinner selections were more than adequate. For the money, it was great and sometimes you need to try a hotel despite the reviews. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Denver and got attacked by bed bugs earlier on the same trip, so you never know what your experience will be simply by following he ratings and/or names of the hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I think most people who have left good reviews on here must have been staying in a different hotel!

The minute you walk in the entrance you are hit in the face by steamy chlorine smells, not in a good way and there is no attempt to try and counter this, it isn't pleasant. Secondly to that we were met by very rude receptionists, one of which was a guy called Matt who I see someone else has given a good review on here....I don't get it!

The so called "mountain views" were non existent in our room, we had lovely view of a car park, well half of a view anyway as there was snow heaped half way up the window which didn't do anything for the temperature of our room. The heater in the room looked like a death trap, the clothes rack (that's right no wardrobe) was plonked right over the tv...genius! Bathroom ceiling looked like it was going to cave in any second, not to mention the mould. Walls in the room also looked like someone had beaten them up with their skis!

Our room was in the 'old wing' which may explain why other people had a good experience at this hotel as there is a 'new wing' which apparently is what the pictures in brochures are of. If you do stay here suggest when booking you make sure to ask for a room in the 'new wing'.

Frankly that wouldn't be enough for me or my husband, neither would all the money in the world to go back to this place, in all honesty I have stayed in far better youth hostels and the price of our holiday was definitely not cheap. We escaped over the road to another hotel only a couple of days in and it was a godsend otherwise would have gotten the first plane home!

Stay here IF you dare!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winter Park Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Park Mountain Lodge

Address: 81699 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winter Park Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across the street from Winter Park Ski Resort, with free access to the Resort & Town Shuttle! Full service restaurant & microbrewery on site. Largest Banquet & Meeting space options in Winter Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Winter Park Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Park Mountain Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Park Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.