We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation, staff made the difference.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Park Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Winter Park Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81699 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs renovation, staff made the difference.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel location was great, basically across from the ski resort. A shuttle bus runs every 20 shuttle bus drivers are very friendly and helpful. I noticed people were not tipping these guys. Not nice because they are so helpful. Don't be cheap.
The hotel is basic, but very clean, kudos to housekeeping. Beds were comfortable enough but could have used a nice down comforter, (blankets were thin and old) as the heater in our room only worked for 30 minutes at a time and then blew cold air. We reported this everyday without remedy. In the end they gave us a space heater and comped us our last day.
Kyle, the hotel Manager was professional and accommodating, he tried his best to make up for the no heat situation.
The hot tubs need more detail to cleanliness and an anti foaming agent. The ceiling was covered in fuzz and needs cleaning. Don't look up and go early while the kids are at dinner.

Would also like to acknowledge Jack our server for breakfast and Mike our bartender in the pub. Jack was super friendly and helpful with things to do in the area and Mike was very receptive when I asked him to make us a "Broken Leg" cocktail, I gave him the secret recipe. Ask him.
This hotel needs work and needs to keep their staff and compensate them more for their excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Definitely get the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    91
    49
    51
See reviews for
73
120
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, FL, Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our room was basic and clean. The walls were quite thin so you can hear everything going on in the rooms next to you. The hot tub was nice but the pool was freezing and the sauna wasn't working.
There is a "brewery" in the hotel but it didn't seem like the staff knew what they were doing with the taps. We ordered Colorado Native and it didn't taste right. In fact it tasted pretty bad. I even saw other people noticing the same thing. We decided to go to another brew pub.
It was fine for a one night stay and the shuttle took us back and forth to the resort for skiing. The front desk staff were friendly. We booked through a discount sight and got a good deal. One thing I thought strange was they advertise that they offer a continental breakfast so we assumed it came with the room. It doesn't, it's $8.99. Not to say our stay was bad but if we ever go back I would try out another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wife and I stayed for one night this past weekend (Feb 16-17). We had stayed here before and really the only reason why we booked here again was so that we could be close to the resort and enjoy the on-site restaurant. Otherwise, we actually do prefer a hotel that is actually in the town of Winter Park.

When I booked, I requested a deluxe room like we had before (suite-style, mini-fridge, microwave, fireplace, much larger space). Apparently they changed their definitions of deluxe room in the past couple years and we ended up with a standard room, which they do call "deluxe". My wife is a breast-feeding mom (kids were not with us) and was needing to use her breast-pump. There was no way to keep the milk cold without a mini-fridge. We called the front desk to ask for one and they had already loaned out all the ones they had. I did ask about the room and was told that the standard rooms are called "deluxe rooms" and the bigger rooms are called suites. All rooms were sold out so we could not move into a bigger room. We did make the most of it and used a lot of ice from the ice machine.

My other big beef with the place is the outrageously expensive breakfast! They charge, get this $14 per person for breakfast! Definitely not worth it! This hotel has yet to come into the 21st century when it comes to hotels offering free breakfasts. Even the ones that don't offer free breakfast only charge $5-8 per person. It is much more worth it to go into town to find breakfast for a reasonable price.

Otherwise, the room we did have was nice, clean, everything worked just fine and even though I got answers that I didn't want to hear from the hotel staff, they all were very ready and willing to help with a good positive attitude.

We really do like the pool area. The pool itself is a tad on the chilly side, but who goes to a swimming pool after a day of skiing? They have two really nice hot tubs available and both were in excellent working order when we were there. There are no restrooms in or near the pool area so make sure to go before leaving your room or be prepared to "get creative".

So if you're looking for location as a major deciding factor in your accommodations in Winter Park, WPML is a great option. Just be aware that if you book a "deluxe room" don't expect much more than an overpriced standard hotel room. Really ask whoever you are booking a room through exactly what comes with the room as "deluxe" may be quite an exaggeration as it was with us.

Room Tip: A deluxe room is only a standard room! Be careful what you are booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the Winter Park Mountain Lodge for 3 nights - the best thing I can say is that the hotel is very average. The rooms are outdated - the bathrooms are a little old, the beds are comfy and soft, and the drapes and carpets are old. The pool and jacuzzi were the most disappointing. After a day of snowboarding all you want to do is jump in the hot tub but neither of the 2 were working. We were told one was broken (it wasn't even filled with water) and the other one's bubbles were not working - very frustrating!!!!
The location and convenience of getting to the mountain is the best thing about this hotel - you are just across the street/highway from Winter Park Resort and there is a school bus shuttle that picks up and drops off at the ski area from the Mountain Lodge every 20 minutes. The staff is another great thing about this hotel - they were very friendly and helpful, gave us some good recommendations.

Overall, I would probably not stay here again, but it was not the worst place I have ever stayed in. It's cheap considering the prices in the area, so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is in need of some upgrade but the staff, without exception, are truly so very friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 10 nights and found it fine. There could be more choice in the restaurant but there was a reasonable choice. Again, nothing is too much trouble for the staff in the bar/restaurant. The brewery served up one of it's celebration beers, which was just wonderful. If some money could be spent on replacing the old and battered furniture in the rooms and the carpets in the main walkway, then this hotel would shoot up in price. For us it was clean and fine. It's a ski hotel so understandably, things get abused unfortunately by having to carry wet and cumbersome equipment through the main areas.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor overlooking the mountain. Stunning views but a little noise from the road d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed 3 days for a brief trip to Winter Park for skiing. The hotel staff were very nice. The place is clean with comfortable beds and quality linens. We found the rooms big enough for a family of four and our ski gear. Pool and hot tub area could you some freshening but the area was clean and stocked with towels. The jets in one tub weren't working. Abundant parking. We were 6 minutes to MJ base area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

While not perfect this place met our needs and the price was right at $110 a night before taxes.

Things we liked:
-Good location with views of the mountain
-In room fridge and coffee maker (wish they had a microwave too)
-Restaurant/bar onsite
-Easy bus transport to the mountain
-Good size pool and hot tubs (One hot tub was so hot it was scalding people, a health risk they need to address.)

Things that need improvement:
-Calling a room with animal hair a "pet free room". I have allergies, and we even moved from our first room on the first floor to one on the 5th floor because we were told that only the first floor was "pet friendly"
-Allowing dogs on all floors (you could hear the dog in the room next door bark all the way down the other end of the hall, and if he hadn't stopped in 5 minutes each time I entered or left my room, I would have called the front desk).
-Beds were a bit lumpy and too soft (lacked support) and I like a soft bed.
-No humidifier in the room (and we are used to dry denver air)
-Breakfast buffet was too expensive and coffee was watered down pretty badly
-Poor grooming habits of most of the male staff, particularly in the bar and restaurant. The worst was a guy who appeared to be cooking the food came out looking like he hadn't showered in a week with his greasy long hair that was hanging all over and he had clearly wiped his hands multiple times on his white jacket. Not appetizing. They need to lay out more clear expectations about workplace grooming including beard and hair grooming.

Things we loved:
-Free appetizers during half time on superbowl sunday
-Friendly female wait staff in the bar
-Going out of their way to mail us some things we left in the room (at our cost of course).

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
6.2 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
4.6 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Valley Hi Motel
Valley Hi Motel
#2 of 15 in Winter Park
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
5.9 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#7 of 26 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Park Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Park Mountain Lodge

Address: 81699 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Winter Park Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across the street from Winter Park Ski Resort, with free access to the Resort & Town Shuttle! Full service restaurant & microbrewery on site. Largest Banquet & Meeting space options in Winter Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Winter Park Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Park Mountain Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Park Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.