We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable ski-in/ski out alternative at Winter Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Iron Horse Resort to your Saves list
Iron Horse Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   101 Iron Horse Way, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Affordable ski-in/ski out alternative at Winter Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Iron Horse Resort this summer and would return as it offered us what we needed at a affordable price. However, know what you're getting before you book:

1. The resort condos are individually owned so each unit may be different. Some owners rent condos directly through vrbo.com, others use a local booking agency while many use the resort's main booking agency. You can search around but would recommend looking at photos of the exact individual unit to know what you're getting.
2. The standard 1 BR unit typically has a king or queen bed in the BR and a queen murphy bed in the living room. My unit also had a pull out sofa so fit 6. But not all units have the same furnishings.
3. Entry is via codes. So make sure you remember the code or write it down. You need the code to enter the garage, the health club, the pool, and your room.
4. Health club had older machines. But it has a nice clean steam room in the restrooms.
5. Loved the hot tubs. The pool has an indoor and outdoor section and was well maintained. Gas grill is available in the patio for use.
6. Landscaping was impressive. There was a gazebo and a small brook running through the property. Lots of flowers in the summer when we were there.
7. There is a short trail to the base of Winter Park (about 10 minutes walk). Also, a short drive or walk to the gondola that brings you to the base of Winter park. You save $$ by being a short walk away.
8. The property is older but is well maintained. Again -- it depends on how the owner has kept the individual unit up to date.
9. Nice lobby with sofas and chairs and fireplace but no TV in the lobby so it's quiet. They do have some puzzles and games available for use.
10. Laundry facilities are available ($1.50 for wash)

All in all, it doesn't compare with the luxury condos they have built around the base of Winter Park. But the amenities (hot tubs, steam room, ski in/out access, full kitchen, etc) make it a very affordable choice (e.g. I paid $50/night plus $50 cleaning fee for my 1 BR midweek summer).

Room Tip: Ask booking agencies for photos of the actual unit itself as each unit can be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I lived in the area at one point and have been coming to WP for 30 years. I knew about it but never even visited Iron Horse before this week (March, 2012). Last weekend my teenage son and I made a quick trip, so I was calling around trying to find lodging at the last minute. We got a good value through Alderwood (management company, phone # on web site). They offered a better deal than VRBO or the other local property managers. I thought, "we can risk it for a few days."

I have to say I was surprised. The building is a little older, but it is well maintained and our studio unit was very nice. The murphy bed was comfy, and the fold-out couch was tolerable for the teenager. Fold them up, and we had plenty of space and a nice balcony. Our unit even had HBO, though it was a tube TV. The indoor/outdoor pool was great, and the hot tubs (2) awesome, with a great view. Staff were real friendly and helpful. Even though it appeared pretty full, it was quiet. We never waited more than a minute for an elevator. Parking was easy (the garage is a bit dark, so bring a flashlight). They let us leave our car there for the last day while we skied after checking out. There's a small ski shop right there that gives you a good deal on rentals. The walk across the little bridge to the Corridor ski run is not long, you ski down to the Zephyr lift (probably poling or skating for a short ways). Coming in is easy if you can ski an intermediate (blue) down the Jane side. When it was time to go, we skied down to the driveway, dropped the skis off, got in the car and left. No stress.

I've stayed all over the valley, and Iron Horse is not a new development and it's not walking distance to much night life (there is a bistro/bar with live music, but I did not visit it), but for me and my family, Alderwood will definitely get a call next time we're coming.

Room Tip: my guess is that the 5th (top) floor gets more traffic than the rest because that's the way you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My family recently took a ski trip to Winter Park, Colorado. We rented our room through (Alderwood) at the Iron Horse Resort. We were very amazed at how accommidating the Alderwood employees were. The cleanliness of our room went beyond our expectations and made for a very comfortable stay. We often come to Winter Park for our winter vacation and have never actually rented through (Alderwood) at the Iron Horse, but it will be our only choice now. We will be forwarding this information to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I had booked one nite here for feb 3rd 2012, at time of booking I specifically asked if bad weather prevented me from getting to Winterpark would I be allowed to cancel with no charge, the gal said sure no problem. Lo and behold heavy snow with over 600 flight cancellations into Denver occured on that day. My flight was not cancelled, I made the wise decision to cancel on my own. CDOT had highway closings and a warning to stay off the roads and I was not about to get stranded in a rental car in the mountains. Called and talked to Kristin, she refused to refund me and charged my credit card the full amount. Bottom line, they could care less about anyones safety and I doubt if they care about your experience if you do make it there. STAY AWAY, FAR AWAY. Mike in St. Louis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderwood_Management, Manager at Iron Horse Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
I am sorry to hear of your cancellation to Winter Park and the Iron Horse Resort. Typically if adverse weather has closed the roads to Winter Park then yes, we refund the full amount of your stay. However, your flight was not cancelled to Denver and the roads were not closed, usually resulting in full forfeiture of your reservation cost. The goal of our reservation staff is guest satisfaction. Whatever the reason a guest wishes to cancel, we try to work with them to minimize their cancellation fees. As your reservation was cancelled within 24 hours of arrival, our staff offered a courtesy transfer of the reservation to different dates, which you decided not to accept. In that situation we did also refund 50% of your reservation cost on the day of your cancellation. While adverse weather conditions can arise at any time during the winter months at a ski resort we are certainly concerned about guest safety. We want our guests to have a great experience and to come back time and again. The Iron Horse Resort is professionally managed by Alderwood Colorado Management, a division of the Alderwood Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

... it may make a difference who you book through. We booked with priceline, who referred us (via a company called leisurelink) to alpine resort properties. That created some hassle:
-upon arrival (at 7:30pm, after our flight and 90 min drive from Denver, with 2 hungry and tired kids), the front desk told us told us that the management company we booked through is separate from the resort and that we have to check in - in person - with the above management company in the town of Winter park (the front desk first called for us and thought they would just phone in the code but they required us to drive the few miles to their office - I wonder what they would have done if we arrived by shuttle). That driving and the delay wasn't really necessary, only to get a 6 digit door code and a photocopied map that they had at the front desk as well. I also reread the check in procedure Email from leisurelink and it is really not at all clear whether the check in during winter is "on site" (or in the town of Winter Park as it is during summer).
-we asked this management company for a late (noon) checkout and they were so kind to do that ... but forgot to give us new codes as the locks apparently change code exactly at the preprogrammed check out time (which was 10 am, just came to the resort from the slopes at 10:05 am and was lucky to get into the building without walking 1/2 a mile to the main entrance because someone just happened to leave). Another call to alpine was needed in order to receive a new code. In any case, for any request, be it towels, blanket etc., the front desk will refer you to alpine if your booking connects you to them. They (alpine) seemed OK except for the above hassles already mentioned (and they have a 24 hour service) but it's obviously not the same thing as having someone at the resort front desk ready to help you.

The resort/condo hotel itself is well maintained and has nice facilities (nice indoor/outdoorpool, fitness center), the condo was not large but reasonable in size, well equipped and nicely renovated. As others pointed out, Ski in is for intermediate or better skiers only (ski out is an easy green catwalk). Would come here again any time (but probably try to avoid alpine).

Room Tip: ski in/out is on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed five days in a one-bedroom unit on one of the upper floors and enjoyed the convenient ski-in / ski-out. This room was nicely decorated and had a full kitchen. It seemed to be individually owned and rented out as part of the Iron Horse Resort, so I assume each unit might be different and therefore it's not possible to give a general rating for other units.
The pool area is nothing special, but the waiter from the nearby restaurant serves this area and brings the beverages right to the hot tube. Small gym only and no sauna, which would be nice during the winter time.
Despite the advantage of the slop side location, there is nothing close by other than the one restaurant of the property. However, a 10 minute walk along the ski track leads to the Winter Park Resort with shops, bars and entertainment. A free shuttle bus brings you to Downtown Winter Park with all required services, and runs until midnight during the season.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our first trip to Winter Park. There may be better options that the regulars know of, but based on our experience we liked the Iron Horse. Is it a luxury resort? No. Is it easy ski in-ski out for all levels? No. But for a last-minute get away to do some early season skiing with two snowboard-novice kids, it was perfect, and a great value.
Overall/room: We stayed 2 nights early the week of Thanksgiving in a 1-bed/1-bath and the price included 2 adult lift tickets. If you deduct the cost of the lift tickets, we spent about $70/per night. It was one of rooms owned by the resort, as opposed to a 3rd party owner. No issues at check in with the room, but we did have to go to the village to get our lift tickets. They have an on-site ski rental shop but we ended up just getting everything in the village. Be warned you can't walk to the village or the parking area (that has a gondola to the village). It is a 2 min drive to the parking lot, or they have shuttles. This wasn't a big deal for us as being early season the hotel and mountain wasn't packed. Might be an issue during the weekends later in the season. The room we were assigned had a small bedroom with one large bed, a full size Murphy bed, and a sofa sleeper. Worked great for us taking 2 kids along, as they both had their own bed. The main bed was comfortable, though the pillows were way too large. Plenty of blankets though for the three beds, and a nice gas fireplace for heat and ambiance. The room also had a kitchen with fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher, so very convenient for making dinner the night after we skied. We were also given a spot in the parking garage, so that was nice. Not sure how that would work when its busy though--the garage is tiny. There was a flatscreen TV in the main room, and a small one in the bedroom that wasn't hooked into cable. So plan on watching in the main room.
Amenities: Dinner at the onsite Bistro the first night was great. Food and service were exemplary, and the prices were not bad for a ski town. Nice, smallish indoor/outdoor pool the kids loved. And two large hot tubs as well (only one was open). Also has a nice work-out facility if you didn't get enough on the slopes. Our room was really far away from these, and to stay indoors you had to go up and around to access the skyway. Not the worst thing in the world, but made for a chilly walk back after the hot tub.
Etc.: Only real issue with the room was that it was next to the washer/dryer room, and someone was using it til about 10 at night. After a long day of skiing that noise next to the bedroom wasn't appreciated. So if you can, request a room away from that (we didn't know until we go to the room). I'd worry a bit that the thin walls would mean lots of noise if the hotel was fuller--there were not many people at the resort this time of year. I'd would imagine that the place could be a little cramped on weekends if they are full (the parking garage, small pool, small restaurant...)
Verdict: If you can get it for the right price and you don't mind not being right on the mountain this is good option in Winter Park, especially in the non-peak times when you are more likely to have the amenities to yourself.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms that the Iron Horse owns (as opposed to an outside owner). Based on ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iron Horse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Resort

Address: 101 Iron Horse Way, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iron Horse Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance to the ski lifts at Winter Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iron Horse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Winter Park
Iron Horse Resort Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.