We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Hi Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Hi Motel to your Saves list
Valley Hi Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   79025 US 40, P.O. Box 947, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Tamahere RD3 Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Arrived from Denver International after a long trip from New Zealand. The motel building is a bit dated but clean with spacious rooms. Very friendly and helpful manager quickly had us all relaxed. Comfortable beds, reasonably quiet for the main road position and certainly handy to retaurants and ski shops. Orange juice and croissants outside the door in the morning. We stayed for a couple of nights and found it very good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
35
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our room was very spacious, 2 queen beds and space for a roll away bed since we have 3 kids. Bathroom/kitchen was separate with a door so mom could get up and shower without waking everyone. Clean, comfortable. Beds were ok, a bit bouncy for my taste, but overall comfortable. People above us were noisy - sounded like kids jumping off the bed and running across the room until very late, so soundproofing could be better. Next to main road into winter park, the snow plows woke me at 5:00am. Got some earplugs the 2nd night. Continental breakfast was limited, but my kids loved it. Hot tub was outside and a bit too cold to go out there.

Room Tip: Might get a room on the 2nd floor to avoid noise from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We drove around Winter Park looking for a place to stay and settled on the Valley Hi. So happy we did! We have a large room, cozily furnished. The property is a bit older but the owners have done a lot to make it comfortable. The staff is really friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Winter park seems to be very quiet during the off-season. So I guess there were just a few guests. The hotel might be a good place during a skiing vacation. If you stay there longer than one day, you should think about a more comfortable place. Breakfast consisted of a croissant and orange juice. The reception area of the hotel was just a small room reminding of a camping cabin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a great motel to stay in...the owner is very kind and the rooms are very clean. For the summer months you need to know that the rooms don't have air conditioning so the rooms can get a little warm. I imagine that in the winter months the room would be very comfortable. The rooms are very large & spacious and they have microwaves & and small fridge for all of your needs. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were really impressed with the motel, it's location, the cleanliness and the staff. I stayed with a friend in a spacious two queen bed room that seemed to have been recently refurbished.

I thought the value for money was great - for the price it definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Retro furnishings yet clean and well-kept. Good value alternative when skiing Winter Park.

Room Tip: The room on the end of the upper hall has a full kitchen and living area in addition to two queen be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Valley Hi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hi Motel

Address: 79025 US 40, P.O. Box 947, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Hi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Hi Motel is in a central location, right in the middle of beautiful Winter Park, Colorado. The best skiing is right down the road. The best mountain biking is also right outside our door. There are all sorts of activities, entertainment, restaurants and shopping just a few steps away. Summer or winter check into the Valley Hi Motel and experience all Winter Park has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Valley Hi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hi Hotel Winter Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Hi Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.