We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Happy Hour and Margaritas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Bar and Grill

Coyote Bar and Grill
Hwy 89, Blairsden, Graeagle, CA 96103
(530) 836-2002
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Blairsden
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Go for the Happy Hour and Margaritas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went for a late lunch and by chance hit the happy hour-beer was 2 for one and the margaritas were a dollar off-I think that is what the special was! I always rate bar margaritas next to the one's my husband makes at home and these were pretty darn good!
We also shared an egg roll appetizer and a salad-wonderful!
We ate out on the patio, and had a great server who was very attentive, even though I think he was also tending the bar area!
This was our first restaurant experience in Graeagle, and we will definitely go back when we visit again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We have been here several times with our dog while camping nearby. The food is always excellent, from the hamburgers to the Mexican food, you cannot go wrong. Drinks and beer selection are excellent also. A must try if you have never been. Enjoy!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Went for dinner and had margeritas and tacos. Quite good. Outdoor seating

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?!?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

OMG the margarita was awesome and strong! I could only down one but I didn't need any more than that! That was the only good thing about this place.

We were so starved after a strenuous hike that we stayed for dinner even though there was nothing on the menu for vegetarians. NOTHING, NIL, ZERO, ZILCH!!!! No cheese enchiladas, no chile rellenos, no tostadas. Everything either had chicken, fish, seafood, beef or pork in it. The waitress suggested we go to their sister restaurant for pasta, no! She even said that this happens all of the time. We had mediocre pasta the last few nights. We wanted Mexican and we have never been to a Mexican restaurant that didn't have a number of vegetarian options. They did finally say they could make us cheese enchiladas and tostadas without the meat but it wasn't on the menu. Unfortunately those entrees weren't very good either.

I have to say that this place serves the worst "guacamole" I have ever had. I think they just cut an avocado in half and scooped out the good stuff and put it in a dish and brought it to our table. No salt, no lime, no tomatoes, no garlic and no jalapeno! Unbelievable.

Initally the service wasn't very good. We waited at the entrance with another party and we were all just ignored as three or four servers clearly pretended not to see us. Oh, and we did get the "do you have reservations" line too. At long last we were seated and our drink order was taken and delivered. Well my margarita was but hubby didn't water until well into the meal. We waited and waited for someone to come take our order Finally, a delightful waitress took pity on us and was quite attentive to our needs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“not Mexican you are used to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

if you are from a more urban area than this Mexican food is not going to cut it. they have good drinks but their food leaves a lot to be desired. granted in the area there are not a lot if options for food. they don't have anything on the menu that is vegetarian.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Bar and Grill also viewed

Graeagle, Plumas County
Graeagle, Plumas County
 
Graeagle, Plumas County
Blairsden, Graeagle
 

Been to Coyote Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.