We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unknown Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlegarth

Castlegarth
90 Burnstown Road, White Lake, Ontario, Canada
613/623-3472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in White Lake
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unknown Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Can't say enough about the quality of the natural ingredients used in the preparation of the meals.
Basically all locally sourced for some amazing meals.
If you're in the mood for something different and wonderful this is the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    14
    1
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rural gem close to Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've eaten at Castlegarth a few times now and our most recent visit was for their Spring Foraging dinner. The meals are always simple, yet very creative and delicious. Matthew and Jennifer deal with local suppliers as much as possible. The ingredients are as close as their garden. The staff are knowledgable about the food and the wine and beer selections. For a gourmet meal in this village setting, less than 1 hour from Ottawa, Castlegarth is worth the trip. Full disclosure: Castlegarth was the setting for our wedding luncheon last year. Working with Jennifer was a delight and everyone, from vegans to beef-lovers, enjoyed the food. We would highly recommend Castlegarth for a special occasion as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

we received a warm welcome upon arrival. all the items on the menu sounded so good, we had difficulty deciding what to order. i finally decided on crab-stuffed chicken breast with fingerling potatotes and ginger-cauliflower. it was absolutely delicious. the skin on the chicken was crispy, the meat was tender and moist. the portion was larger than i thought it would be. i cut off several pieces for others to try and there was still more than enough for me. definitely would recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Delicious Valentine's Day Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have been trying to get out to Castlegarth since last summer and we finally did it. The set dinner offered 3 courses with 3 options for each. My husband started with the Seared Scallops, followed by the whole trout and ending with a trio of tasting desserts -a pot de creme, coffe bean brittle and walnut drop cookies. I enjoyed the beet soup, wine poached bison sirloin and a donut plate. A lovely merlot complimented our meals. We tried the lemonade as we saw the lemon concentrate in the food shop and I adore nothing more to drink than a good lemonade. The servers were lovely and so friendly and helpful. My one and only complaint was that my tea wasn't hot enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“simple elegence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

this restaurant situated in an old house on the main street has an ambience of simplicity yet elegence.
the owners pride themselves in servingonly fresh meats and produce hand picked each week
we always call ahead to hear what the selection is for the upcoming weekend and there is always something we want to try.
the wine always compliments the meal and of course homemade deserts cap everything off.
(they even have a selection of treats that you can purchase for home)
try it you will not be disappointed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castlegarth also viewed

White Lake, Ontario
White Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Castlegarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlegarth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.